We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for Italian seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Polpo Mario

Polpo Mario
Ranked #11 of 166 Restaurants in Sestri Levante
Price range: $27 - $67
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oslo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent for Italian seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went four times during an eight day stay. Maybe we are a bit lazy, but the food was simply very nice. In particular, if they have the cuttlefish carpaccio for starters, go for it! Also the pasta and the main courses we had were very good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    400
    127
    61
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“50 minutes for grilled fish plate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Went to this restaurant and found the menu with very poor options. Waiters were kind but had no clue what the restaurant had to offer, if you asked: do you have shrimps? They said one minute, disappeared for five minutes and then came back saying no. Do you have melon? I need to ask, they replied. We lastly ordered some very basic plates and a fish griliata for 2. After 50 minutes of waiting for the griliata I decided to stand up and ask what the problem was. The owner came back to our table yelling at us saying that the bill was on them ??! She gave no explanation whatsoever why we never got served and kicked us out of this place. I would say there is definitely better elsewhere. Plus they do not have recipes with octopus, only one or two. Very bad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cancun201174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CantinadelPolpo, Proprietario at Polpo Mario, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello,

First sorry for my bad English knowledge, I hope to explain correctly our point of view:

We bag your perdon for the delay in serving you our mixed grilled, but we'd like to inform that we have a fixed menù with 8 proposal for each courses (total of 24 dishes) plus a daily menu composed of other 9 proposals... so you can choose between 33 proposals (except desserts) and at least 4 are with octopus... always! The same is for the shrimps... we always have them and in many ways!

Finally the waiter trying to satisfying you ask in the kitchen of other our restaurant some product like melon that is not usually in our menù... I think that It was a friendly action nothing else...

We hope to have you again with us trying to change your opinion

Best wishes

Andrea, Massimo, Federico, Katia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
128 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“There is better in Sestri”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

After returning to Sestri for several summers, we finally tried Polpo Mario. The service was good and the server was able to speak English, which was quite helpful. The trofie al pesto was delicious, but the spaghetti brezza (with clams and mussels) was lacking. Lots of empty shells and the dish was too oily. My husband had tuna with porcini mushroom and found it ok but nothing more. The dessert with strawberries and cream on a puffed pastry was good. The bill was our most expensive in Sestri. Cover charge is 3 euros per person, even for the little ones.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
828 reviews
613 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,420 helpful votes
“They try hard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a restaurant I really wanted to try, as the chef wrote a book titled "I lived on love and octopus" which includes something like 130 recipes for cooking octopus. NB: those are typical old style recipes, not the creative spread of the chef. The base cooking style is indeed typical ligurian, which has its moments - I am from there - but can be boring after a while as it is very, very simple. So at Polpo Mario they try hard to be not-that-boring, by being innovative and liven up the presentation and plating. Well, something they got it right, something they don't, particularly in matching food and sauces / condiments. Service is very kind, and professional. Prices OK for what you get.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank apalmero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“RESTING ON LAURELS”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The reputation of the restaurant brings in lots of diners, but we found the limited menu, small portions, fried food served cold and greasy were poor and the place was not up to the standard of several other less well-known seafood restaurants in the town. The food was just not very tasty.
The waiter had great trouble taking a simple order either in English or Italian. However, the manager apologised and deducted a fair amount from the bill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victoria202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polpo Mario also viewed

Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
 
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
 
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Polpo Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing