We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for a Fall getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Millcroft Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The weather was fantastic. We took our bikes to ride in Caledon on the trails, and stayed at the Inn two nights. We had room 305 in the main mill, and it was lovely ....right down to the beautiful rose on the pillow at night. We ate a gourmet dinner two nights and had the breakfast buffet one morning. Everything was great. The young people who were waiting tables were so professional and catered to our every request. One night my dinner was not up to par ....they not only brought me something else, but it was "on the house". We would recommend this for a fall getaway. We did not use the pool or the spa, but they looked very nice.

Room Tip: Staying in the main mill was very convenient, as that is the location of the restaurant where breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEBBIE51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 669 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at Millcroft Inn. Last Thanksgiving (2012) was an enjoyable one night stay, but I did complain that there was no heat in the Croft Room the evening of my stay. It was a cold weekend, so was not that enjoyable. Nothing could be done for me that evening, but I was later given a promise of an upgrade for my next visit. I tried to use this upgrade this past weekend, but they were completely booked, so I will try to redeem it another time (the manager assured me it has no expiry). Upon check-in, I was told I could choose between two rooms, 207 or 210 in the main Mill building. Room 207 had a view of the waterfall, but the room and bathroom are very small and bedroom was rather average looking. I chose Room 210, which had a larger bathroom and 4 poster double bed (not a Queen). This was a mistake, as the room must be located over the dining room and/or kitchen; there was a substantial amount of dull banging and thumping off and on all night long. It was also situated near the main entrance, so guests can be overheard coming and going. In the early hours of the morning, rain began dripping on a tin roof near-by, also making it difficult to sleep. The upper wiindow was also broken so could not be shut...once again,another rather chilly evening this year. The amenities in the room are sufficient, but nothing too out of the ordinary compared to other Ontario Finest Inns that I have visited. The TV is so small and looked out of place in a room with such high ceilings. The oversize fluffy towels are a welcome change, I might add. All resort staff, including the dining room staff are very pleasant and helpful. Dinner was very good at the Headwaters Dining Room, although there were a few blunders; my friend ordered beef tenderloin, medium-well done, but arrived less cooked than expected; our waiter apologized and admitted to making a mistake when placing the order with the Chef. it was taken back to the kitchen to be cooked properly. Meanwhile, my dinner (halibut) was nearly finished, by the time my friend's dinner arrived back on the table. Service was a little slow and tedious, as we had to ask for such things as condiments and water, the waiter offered no explaination of the menu selections, I had to ask what some fancy descriptive terms were. Special after dinner coffee (gran marnier) came with salt on the rim instead of sugar. Once again, waiter apologized for a mistake behind the bar. We were given another proper one and were not charged for the first one. Breakfast selection was great, although we were left to find a vacant table on our own, having seemingly been forgotten by the waitress upon our arrival. Overall, the grounds are peaceful and serene, rooms acceptable and dining is very good; however, I was just a "little disappointed" with my overall stay again this year and hoping my review will bring about some easy improvements to make future stays for myself and others much more enjoyable. It is an expensive resort, so one would expect above average accommodations and service. I would recommend it to others, albeit with some reservations and helpful tips to guide them.

Room Tip: Try to get a croft room away from the spa and laundry area. Do not book Rm 210 or any room in the N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lgreswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent a weekend at the resort and spa with the hope of relaxing and reconnecting. We figured the quaint setting would be what we needed. Boy were we wrong! The room we had barely held the queen size bed, the washroom was so small that after a shower I had to dry myself off in the main room. The hair drier kept overheating and shutting off. The toilet flush took did not work, I had to wiggle the handle to make it stop.

As fir the grounds; the mill wheel is fun to sit, if there was a place to sit, and watch the water flow. This area needs to be cleaned up and promoted more. A couple days earlier canoeists got caught up in the current and went of the edge. They were seriously injured and hospitalized. Safety needs to be stepped up.

My wife had facial in the spa. The experience was more of a mechanical and factory experience and needs to improve. The facial did put my wife in the mood to sleep all day. That was ok, since there us nothing else to do there.

The hidden gem in the resort are the gardens near the resort's entrance. They were surprisingly well maintained and worth a visit.

We had the breakfast buffet one morning and it was satisfying. Lots of variety and the hot food was hot. Take your time and eat as much as you can then go back to the room to sleep as there is nothing else to do at the resort.

Would I return...naw! There are better places to go with more to do.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Kungboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Well, we went for a wedding.Friday. Very difficult signage coming into the place.Felt lucky to arrive. stayed over. Beautiful place.Room was overlooking the waterfall.
A musty smell wouldn;t go away. No ice machine on our floor. or anywhere I could find. Bathroom was clean and nice, Bed was fine. Old ,quaint look.Went to the gym, sparse but had a couple of machines. Pool was covered. Nice grounds , not much to do except enjoy nature. It was priced at the very top end of the scale.Lovely weeding, lovely day. Wouldn't return for a weekend though.

Room Tip: Look for balcony overlooking the waterfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My daughter and I have just spent a night at this fine Inn. We truly enjoyed the setting and the atmosphere. When we arrived our room was ready to start enjoying the beautiful surroundings of the grounds. We stayed in the original house that had a large veranda off of our room where we enjoyed watching a wedding party having a great time. The room was very well appointed. We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant which was excellent. The next day we walked a short path and realized we did not have the proper shoes to do any of the other hiking paths...we will know better next time. The spa treatments were exceptional we both felt like Queens. I would recommend this Inn to anyone who likes quiet and elegant surroundings.

Room Tip: The room we had was great, but we could hear the people above us. Next time we will try the Croft s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had the pleasure to spend two amazing days at the Millcroft Inn & Spa with my girlfriend. The experience was simply spectacular. Unlike other places, the pictures you see on their website is exactly what you get from the Inn grounds to the dining to the accommodations. Staff was very friendly and courteous. The food was delicious and the servers were very attentive and professional. The full breakfast buffet is one of the best and certainly you wont need lunch afterwards. I had booked a spa session for my girlfriend and she absolutely loved it. In fact, it was so relaxing that she almost fell asleep on the massage bed. Overall, a very relaxing and peaceful experience. There are certainly places that are less expensive but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satchmo0575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My mother, sister and I stayed at the Millcroft Inn and Spa. We stayed in the Crofts which was a short alking distance to the Spa where we spent much of our time. I loved the setting, dinner at the restaurant was tasty and unique. We all enjoyed our stay and wish we could have had more time to spend walking the trails etc. I could see how this Inn and Spa would be lovely all year round! Thank you for such pleasant and professional service.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnicB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
8.5 mi away
Hockley Valley Resort
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Orangeville Inn & Suites
18.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Bolton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Forks of the Credit Inn
Forks of the Credit Inn
#1 of 6 in Caledon
25 reviews
6.6 mi away
Molly's Retreat B and B
6.2 mi away
Devonshire Guest House & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millcroft Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millcroft Inn & Spa

Address: 55 John St, Alton, Caledon, Ontario L7K 0C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Caledon > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alton
Price Range: $219 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Millcroft Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Definitive Country Inn Retreat. Experience tranquility, comfort and heritage charm at The Millcroft Inn & Spa in Caledon, Ontario. The inn’s refreshing blend of rural serenity and sophisticated hospitality is less than an hour northwest of Toronto in Alton near Caledon, Ontario.Our 100 acre estate is nestled in the rolling countryside of Southern Ontario's Hills of Headwaters, a region which is rich with cultural, artistic and rural activities.Enjoy award winning spa services or a tasty delight in the Headwaters Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Millcroft Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millcroft Inn And Spa
Millcroft Hotel Alton
Millcroft Hotel Ontario
Millcroft Inn & Spa Ontario/Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing