We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner and room, inn staff need some polish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Millcroft Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner and room, inn staff need some polish”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I booked a croft room to celebrate our anniversary. The room was lovely, very quiet and comfortable. It was a little hot all night, and I had to leave the window open beside the bed, but otherwise we really enjoyed the room. It's a townhouse arrangement with the bathroom on the first floor and the bed in a loft above, but still very comfortable. Spotless and thoughtful touches, too (lots of firewood, corkscrew, wine glasses). Unfortunately, the pool was drained and is only open in the warmer weather, but the sauna was available. We didn't have any spa treatments, but did a little hiking. The grounds of the inn are very pleasant, the sound of the river and waterfall really wonderful. Dinner was excellent, and the wait staff in the restaurant and bar were great. Very friendly and attentive.

Our only complaint would be the dumb check in, and snarky attitude of some of the staff in the main part of the inn. We arrived just before 4pm, but were told we couldn't check in until 4. It seemed silly, and the check in clerk had no suggestion as to what we were supposed to do while waiting. We ended up sitting in the cramped waiting area by the service bar and purchasing two pricey glasses of wine we didn't really want, and then having to line up to check in with everyone else at the stroke of 4.

When we asked about dinner, we learned that we needed a reservation (even though we had a purchased a package). The maitre' d was a rude, self-important woman at a podium in the completely empty restaurant. She made a face and told us she had no tables available until " at least 7:30." I was aggravated, and let her know that we would prefer to eat earlier. She changed her tune on a dime - it was totally weird, "Well what time do you want? I can put you in at 6, 6:30..." It made absolutely no sense. When we arrived for our table at 6:30 there were only one or two other tables occupied in the whole restaurant, and over the next hour or so people drifted in. She had plenty of space before 7:30. It was some dumb ruse to keep the dining room busy later, I guess. I heard her giving another couple this same stupid treatment when we were checking in.

In spite of this fluff up, we had a good time, and I would go back to this place in the warmer weather so I could use the pool. Breakfast was buffet style, but nice enough, and we were able to get one of the few coveted tables that overlook the river. That was especially nice.

Room Tip: Bring hiking shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebelDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    169
    82
    42
    28
See reviews for
72
392
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Me and my husband had a wonderful time at the Millcroft Inn. Beautiful hotel and grounds. We really enjoyed the fireplace in our room, it made our weekend very special. We stayed at the perfect time to enjoy the leaves change. The hiking was wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdsiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here 3 times and have enjoyed each visit. We stayed in the croft room and have been very pleased with the accomodations. The room is warm and comforting and the bed is very comfortable. The only issue I had was the menu. Our visit was in October, yet the food did not reflect the season. Serving asparagus and peas should be on the spring menu not fall. Any chef worth their money would change their menu items each season. There is great produce to be had this time of the year however the kitchen didn't utilize it which surprises me considering the prices that are charged. Also the service was mixed. The first night we ate there our waiter seemed disinterested in serving us. On the second night our server was very pleasant and helpful. The Inn certainly deserves a better rating than the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I recently received a gift certificate to the Millcroft Inn for an overnight stay.

We are a mature couple and throughly enjoyed the the Millcroft Inn.

The food was excellent. Excellent chef. Staff very friendly and attentive. Rooms spotless.
We took advantage of all the facitlities they have and we enjoyed it all.

We do not hestitate in recommending this lovely place and will definitely go back.

We would rate this place a 10.
Thank you Millcroft for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the loft room. It had a fireplace and was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My father booked this weekend vacation for my birthday at the Millcroft Inn he had requested when he booked the room if we would be able to check inn early the response was" of course no problem!"
So when i got there the girl at the front desk said they were full and we would have to wait till 4:00 and we arrived ther at 1:00 seeing the dissappointment in my face the girl at the front desk pretented to care just to shut me up because i was complaining and asked for our cell number if the room was ready any earlier of course she did not call and we waited three hours for our crappy room, i will get to that later! So my husband and myself decided to kill time in there over priced resturant the service was nice but the food did not justify the price! The lunch menu only had four selections and nothing under $22.00 and the was not creative they seem to like sweet corn and asparagus on every dish they have no complements to the chef for creativety! So after we had our $114.00 doaller lunch we went in there tiny bar area where there was no were to sit and you felt squashed it was pathetic. At this point im thinking the room better be wrth the wait but to no suprise the room looked like a motel room and had a musty smell . I was extremley dissappointed if i booked this place i would of asked for a full refund because it certianly did not justify the price at all! Seeing on how it was a gift from my father i had to stick throurgh. I had the worst and most uncomfortable sleep this place was not relaxing by far it was discouraging and depressing! It is a very glummy and stuffy place no creativity what so ever! I feel terrible that my father spent over $500.00 for one night at this crap hole! I felt like i was in a prison with crappy food and crappy discusting room ! I will never come back here again nor will i ever recommend this place to anyone! Please stick to the Pillar and Post people at least you will get what you paid for, this place is a dive i felt like i was in a prison!

Room Tip: no good rooms unless you like stayng in old musty hotels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 325ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My six girlfriends and I went away for a day at the spa and a night away from hectic family life. What an amazing place to do some pampering. The spa is beautiful and has recently been updated and redecorated. The staff are simply wonderful; helpful, attentive and very professional with their work. Everyone left with nothing but rave reviews of their treatments. We then gathered in the lounge for pre-dinner drinks. What a pretty place. The dining room is lovely but the food is even better. The staff are amazing, Robynn was so knowledgeable about our wine choices and it was fun to interact with her. We stayed in the Croft rooms and were very comfortable. The woodburning fireplace was a special feature. Everything was spot on. I would highly recommend this as a place to go with friends or spouses. In fact, I can't wait to go back with my husband.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3xskatemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We just had a wonderful girls trip to the Millcroft Inn ... a very full day at the spa, and then a wonderful dinner with a menu set specially for us by the chef. Service at both spa and dinner was outstanding, and the food, simply divine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ankem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
8.5 mi away
Hockley Valley Resort
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Orangeville Inn & Suites
18.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Bolton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Best Western Halton Hills
Best Western Halton Hills
#1 of 1 in Georgetown
125 reviews
18.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Fergus Hotel
3.5 mi away
Forks of the Credit Inn
Forks of the Credit Inn
#1 of 6 in Caledon
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millcroft Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millcroft Inn & Spa

Property: Millcroft Inn & Spa
Address: 55 John St, Alton, Caledon, Ontario L7K 0C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Caledon > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millcroft Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Definitive Country Inn Retreat. Experience tranquility, comfort and heritage charm at The Millcroft Inn & Spa in Caledon, Ontario. The inn’s refreshing blend of rural serenity and sophisticated hospitality is less than an hour northwest of Toronto in Alton near Caledon, Ontario.Our 100 acre estate is nestled in the rolling countryside of Southern Ontario's Hills of Headwaters, a region which is rich with cultural, artistic and rural activities.Enjoy award winning spa services or a tasty delight in the Headwaters Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Millcroft Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millcroft Inn And Spa
Millcroft Hotel Alton
Millcroft Hotel Ontario
Millcroft Inn & Spa Ontario/Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing