We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“visit in September 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tenuta Lonciano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tenuta Lonciano
Certificate of Excellence
Sesto Fiorentino, Italy
2 reviews
“visit in September 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

It was one of the most beautifull locations we have ever been, breakfust outstanding , every day the room was cleaned perfectly .....
We loved the spectacular views, the animals especially Oscar
The location is perfect to visit all the amasing towns such as Florence, Sienna, Lucca, San Gimignano etc
Weather also perfect so : a great vacation in a great place !!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    1
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
111
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Our family rented this property for a whole week in the beginning of July 2012 and it was just perfect. First of all, the owners and caretakers of this property, Danielle and Massimo, provided world class service! We lost our bags at Florence airport, and had a hard time getting our luggage to the Villa because of lousy service at the airport. Without being asked, Danielle drove to the airport early the next day and collected 9 suitcases and brought them to us, we couldn't belive it! Secondly, the Villa, located in the mountain above Sesto Fierentino and Florence, was perfect. An amazing view, nice and breezy during the hot days and with an incredible garden with a big swimming pool, which was cleaned every morning. Yes it is located quite a distance away from Florence, but you need a rental car anyway, and it takes about 15 min to drive to a big free parking lot in the outskirts of Florence, right next to a bus stop. After 10 min with the bus you are in the middle of the city. No big deal.
I could go on forever, but everything boils down to this: This is an amazing Villa, and I could recommend this to everyone. To those who complains, check in at a 5 star luxury resort, because this is probably the only thing who can please you guys. For those who want to enjoy their vacation in quiet beautiful surroundings, with world class service at a prize that is very affordable, this is the place to go!

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, but I think the "Limone" room is the best at mid summer, since th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here during a trip through Tuscany, visiting Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, and the Chianti region, upon the recommendation of an Italian colleague of mine.

I cannot say enough about the owner Daniele: this man does well beyond what you pay for to make your stay perfect: carries the bags, offers a supurb breakfast with designs painted into your excellent Latte, gives a briefing upon arrival (including giving a booklet on the place in your language - he checks the bookings in advance) which includes the best ways to approach Florence (and avoid any tourist-traps), and I even saw him sitting up fairly late in the evening with another couple to help them with booking train tickets to Venice! Where do you get service like that these days??! He even remembered to ask me about my hay fever - he had remembered my sniffling from breakfast!

The place is also gorgeous and a real gem of a find! We stayed in the "lemon" room - squeaky-clean with very comfortable bed, good space including a bedroom, kitchen area + big bathroom, bathrobe, slippers, TV, and even a few things in a minbar (minus overpricing - amazing!); the gardens are supurb and lovingly maintained, plus a jacuzzi is coming later this year! (Watch this space, says Daniele...!) The pool opens on 1 June, and has a gorgeous view over Florence. You can just see everywhere there is exceptional attention to detail, as there are also several places you can sit and sip your wine in the gardens.

The breakfast is encumbered with all the coffee (properly prepared, Italian-style) and juice you can drink, homemade cakes, excellent cheeses and cold cuts, toast (which is freshly topped up constantly - they keep a close eye on the table), and other bits and pieces, with a slightly different spread each day.

Another plus: free parking on-site. There are also sensor lights on the driveway if you arrive late. The driveway is a little windy and stoney, but our very-average sedan rental car handled it no worries. N.B. This place is also a great way to avoid the chaotic downtown Florence city traffic (train station is 10 mins driving away, with free parking + 12 mins journey into the central station).

I promised I'd pen a review after all my constant praise and delight at the place, and I hope this helps when people are thinking of accommodation for Florence - it's a personalised, thoughtful, delightful B&B experience. We're going back for sure!

Room Tip: "Lemon" room has cooking facilities (unsure if all do), fridge, and microwave - plus a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenna1070899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salfords, surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Danielle and Massimo were absolutely lovely people who couldn't do enough for you. The views were great and the grounds wonderful. We must admit to being disappointed with the apartment though (Uva). The bedroom was extremely cramped with little more than a few inches on either side to negotiate getting in and out - there was also a wierd wooden platform that you had to walk along to get out of bed. Taking this out from oneside made it slightly less hazardous but this released the cockroaches (Colin, Conan, Carl, & Cosimo) . Hint to owner, get rid of the wooden enclosures in the bedroom and the stone cupboard in the bathroom. The road down and unfortunately back up to the road is no better than tortuous, but it is having tarmac laid in late October 2011. The room was sparsely furnished and only had a really uncomfortable 3rd bed or a couple of wooden dining chairs to sit on, and unless you perched on the end of the main bed in the bedroom, the TV was unwatchable. The room was cleaned everyday, some days were better than others, but it's marked down because of the roaches. The pictures we saw really do not give the correct impression of the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelu1962, Proprietario at Tenuta Lonciano, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Daphne,
after reading your comments I would like to say your English humor
is nice, but I find It difficult to say so, because of your rudeness and
strange behavior. Being your accommodation so dirty and uncozy, why
did you stay a whole week without saying anything? We would have provided for your best staying and satisfaction; maybe you did not dare to say anything because you had something to hide (a burned blanket, laundry service and room-bar were not paid, and finally you checked out
at 4.00 pm instead of 10.00 am and NOTE that we did not charge you the extra day).
As for the “roaches”….they were not roaches but simple insects that are very common in our countryside; as we are located on a mountain and not in Piazza Duomo in Florence, it is likely that some of this small things may have entered your window or door, being your apartment located on the ground floor.
Anyway they are harmless and absolutely cannot be called “roaches” , which usually live in the rubbish or dirty rooms, (which is not our case).
As for the furniture: our location recreates a real country hill house
With some pieces of furniture coming from these real houses (such as the wooden board around your bed)...if you were looking for a chintzy room with carpeted bathroom (under which the roaches REALLY live, as I have
Seen in the usually dirty hotels all over England), maybe you should have found a more appropriate accommodation.
We hope that you will not come again in Italy leaving bills to pay and
Then complaining about your accommodation because this is not a fair
Way to do here. First complain, than PAY (instead of NOT complaining and NOT paying).
Daniele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenport, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Firstly, Massimo & Daniele could not have been kinder or more gracious! They are both lovely men committed to bringing their guests great service. In everything they do you can see touches of beauty and taste. The gardens are well tended. The rooms are immaculately clean. The breakfast table is abundant. The coffee is delivered with a flourish. We stayed two nights and we were relaxed. This is a place to relax. The view is spectacular. We brought pizza up from the Ulivo Rosso restaurant at the bottom of the hill and just gazed out from the mountaintop where the hotel is perched. Lovely. And the guests were wonderful to share a table with.

Our room, the lemon room is built partially into the hillside and we had to leave the windows open to alleviate the musty smell that permeated the room. It wasn't from lack of cleaning, I think it's the nature of an 800 year old room.

For us, being so far away from the city of Florence, didn't work. You must drive to town on a very steep, gravel driveway and then it's at least 10 minutes to the train station. Then wait for the next train to town. The train is at least 30 minutes. Since we were on a road trip, we had a car with us which is expensive to park in the city. We thought staying outside of the city would be better, but then there's the cost of the train for two people everyday. It was an inconvenience for us, but I'm sure it wouldn't bother other folks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christineabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

The owners of this place are Italians and their hospitality, kindness, service mindness is really remarkable. It was a perfect place to get some rest, to look over the valley, to have a swim and sunbath. The animals (donkey, horse, chickens, rabbits, dogs, goats,...) made it a perfect scenery.

Room Tip: The Limoni room is very quiet. Best room with view is the Cherry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday, staying at an amazing place with the best views ever. We were welcomed by Daniele who made us feel at home immediately and gave us some really useful information. The rooms are exceptional, so clean and with a renaissance feel about them. The gardens are so peaceful and large, with some interesting animals (including a very friendly donkey called Oscar!)
The breakfasts were delicious and with the best cappacinos ever- made by Massimo! We cannot recommend the place highly enough and will certainly return.
Irene and Mick

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar187053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sesto Fiorentino hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Stanley
Hotel Villa Stanley
#3 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
#1 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Gate Hotel
The Gate Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Villoresi
Villa Villoresi
#4 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casavaliversi B&B
Casavaliversi B&B
#4 of 9 in Sesto Fiorentino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.5 mi away
Terrazza Ginori
Terrazza Ginori
#2 of 9 in Sesto Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta Lonciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Lonciano

Property: Tenuta Lonciano
Address: Via di Vara E Lanciano 3, 50019 Sesto Fiorentino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Sesto Fiorentino
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sesto Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Tenuta Lonciano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Lonciano Province Of Florence/Sesto Fiorentino, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing