We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Stanley
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Had a lovely overnight stay as part of a group tour. It was clean, comfy beds, elegant and very Tuscan. The chandeliers and decor was gorgeous! The dinner and breakfast were very good and the grounds quiet(after the crowds and bustle of Florence) and spacious. It was exactly what I was hoping all our hotel stays would be like- a true "taste" of the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 339 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

I am writing this from my room in Hotel Villa Stanley while I listen to a (bad) Italian disc jockey screaming along into the loudest microphone ever to an over-ampified version of the Village People's "YMCA." No, I did not come to Italy for a raucous Italian wedding, I am just being treated to the soundtrack. When we first arrived I could not believe that we were staying at this gorgeous 14th century villa with the beautiful grounds and the lovely pool for around 120 euros per night. My husband asked what the "fatal flaw" was. Now we know. And the wedding is just the tip of the iceberg. The hotel advertises that it has free shuttle service into Florence. Which it does. But it only goes to the train station. And not until 10 am, which means that if you have a tour scheduled you have to either walk a mile to the bus stop, wait for about half an hour, and get off at about the 20th stop, or take a 30 euro taxi ride into town. The rooms would be comfortable enough if not for the noise level, but you have to call the desk to change the temperature. The restaurant has limited hours, but that doesn't really matter, because you will only eat there once, as the food isn't very good at all. The place is fine, as long as you don't expect a quiet peaceful room or a convenient location.

Room Tip: Bring a copy of your booking receipt, as they will tell you your booking is wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wicwac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

The hotel had nice charm, very friendly staff, the meals were quite good, and it's easy to get into Florence within less than a half hour by Taxi (20E) or Bus (2E). I am here now (my last day) for business and there are a couple issues: 1. No air conditioning. I've been unable to get my room cooled down below 26C, 79F. If you open the windows, you are attacked my mosquitoes. This is the main issue of my stay. 2. Minor issue, no alarm clock. This wouldn't have been an issue, except that I broke my Blackberry while here, which normally would be my alarm.
The issue has been the air conditioning and the room being constantly uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Go during cooler months
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivoliber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel. Stayed there on a business trip and was not expecting much. I liked the ambiance of the hotel, its grounds and the cleanliness of the room. Staff was friendly and accommodating. I will keep this establishment in mind if and when I return to Florence on vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2006

Don't go there, the rooms are dirty, old and very used, and the pool is not heated. Because of heavy traffic it's 30-45 mins. away from Florence in car, they offer free shuttle bus but it's only once a day! There is often weddings in the beautiful garden, this means that you won't get any sleep before 2:00am because of loud music and guests. I don't know how Villa Stanley got 4 stars, the service and rooms would normally only be worth 2 stars. Be sure to get them to confirm rate and room size also when you check-in, otherwise they will cheat you.

3  Thank ole_nielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2005

Took a fabulous tour from Rome to Tuscany in Sept, 2005. Our group was booked at this Hotel for 5 days. Loved the ambiance and the old world preservation. Staff were very accomodating. We found the dining room service for our group dinners understaffed, lacking in attention to detail and the food average for Italian meals we were served elsewhere during the trip. The rooms varied in style and size, but each room had modern, complete baths. The sound from room to room carried due to the tile floors and proximity of the living quarters. Bar service was essentially non existent prior to meals and evening get-togethers. Grounds, pool, chapel and historic aspects of the Villa were delightful. Service and meals just need work......

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kagey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Santi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesto Fiorentino
0.7 mi away
Villa Villoresi
Villa Villoresi
#4 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
116 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
#1 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
1,199 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Gate Hotel
The Gate Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel First
Hotel First
#6 of 8 in Calenzano
550 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto
2.7 mi away
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#118 of 410 in Florence
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Stanley

Address: Viale Venti Settembre 200, 50019 Sesto Fiorentino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Sesto Fiorentino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sesto Fiorentino
Price Range: $83 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Stanley 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Stanley is a 4 stars rated hotel, built in the main Villa with its 25 bed rooms, reception area, bar, lounge-rooms and conference halls. Along side the Villa is the antique lemon nursery with 28 bed rooms and restaurant. Is only 20 minutes by car from the historical centre of Florence, easily accessible by the Hotel's free shuttle bus or by public transport. Hotel Villa Stanley offers meeting and conference room facilities for up to 90 participants, and spacious parking. The architectual beauty of the fourteenth century building set in a peaceful park, ensures a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere, perfect for either business or leisure visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villa Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel Sesto Fiorentino
Hotel Villa Stanley Province Of Florence/Sesto Fiorentino, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing