We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommendable”
Review of The Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gate Hotel
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here as part of tour group.
Ours was supposed to be a triple room, but it was just 1 bed added in a double room. Hardly any space after that.
Basic rooms with no carpets and ordinary looking extras - shampoos and soaps.
Air conditioner was hardly effective due to reduced fan speed. After this remark was made, they send a so called technician to rectify it. What he did was simply moving the air conditioner flaps from outside, and then it is "repaired".
They charge 2 euros for wifi. we did not take it. In morning, we heard other members in our group mentioning that even after payment, they couldn`t get wifi. When they questioned, they were scolded and money thrown at them.
Two plug outlets in the room.
Breakfast area was crowded - may be too many tour groups staying there, Boiled egg and fresh pepper bottle were there for a change, in comparison to other hotels giving scrambled egg.
Italy in particular, known for thefts. So, care for your belongings all the time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akbar sheik h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 408 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed in this hotel as a part of our Europe Group Tour.
The Hotel is an old property, with not much fancy decor.
Our room was extremely small with not enough space to even put the luggage.
Bathroom was also cramped.
Continental Breakfast was just about ok.
WiFi is charged at 2 Euro per day, and the speed is decent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Brijesh1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direzionetgh, Manager at The Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Sirs,

thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your stay.

We are glad to see that you have had a positive impression of our Hotel and , mainly, a good stay. Please note that the cost odf the wi-fi connection is estabilished in the contract between the hotel and the agency you booked with. We are glad to know that the service encountered your expectations.

Hoping to welcome you here again someday, please accept our best regards.

Simona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I am amazed that this is a 4 star hotel. The rooms very extremely basic, clean, but basic! Bathroom is an accident waiting to happen -- no bar rails or non-stick coating on the bath tub floor. Plastic seems to be the key to this room ... hangers, phones, chair, etc. No carpeting. Beds were comfortable, but pillows were extremely poor quality. Breakfast, we'll not go there since they have two different standards for groups and privates. Not much of a difference; but for those on a diet and those who like bread... There is no free WiFi. It costs 2 euros a day. I would not recommend this hotel. The hotel seems to cater more to groups. Those in and out. I was in a group but unfortunately there 3 nights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rockNrobin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direzionetgh, Direttore at The Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear guest,
We thank you very much for having stayed at our Hotel and for having taken the time to leave a comment on your stay. Our costumer’s feedback is very important to us as we try to improve our service constantly.
We sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with your stay and will take all feedback in consideration. Hoping to be able to welcome you here again in the future we send our best regards,

Simona Ronca - Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The room was poorly cleaned and the bed sheets had strange white spots on them.The room was spacious but was really outdated and the bathtub was broken where the water exits,the result was a flooded bath and when we asked for another room they answered that they would send a technician to fix it.the wifi was not free of charge the breakfast was poor and the dinner was bearable but not something special.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Harrys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direzionetgh, Direttore at The Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear guest,
We thank you very much for having stayed at our Hotel and for having taken the time to leave a comment on your stay. Our costumer’s feedback is very important to us as we try to improve our service constantly.
We sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with your stay and will take all feedback in consideration. Hoping to be able to welcome you here again in the future we send our best regards,

Simona Ronca - Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Although the rooms were slightly dated but the beds were very comfortable.
Wifi is not free of charge. It costs 2 euros per user but for the price you pay, the internet is considerably fast!
The floors were not carpeted which kinda makes it slightly dusty at times but its bearable.
As for breakfast, there wasn't much to choose from as its all bread.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lc96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Rooms are quite spacious but look very dated. Hotel offer free Wifi and the password can be collcted from the reception. We had to try multiple passwords to login. Since its located on the highway getting into Florence or moving out is much easy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4on4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you are visting Florence and dont want to stay in the center of the town this is a good option. The staff is very friendly and makes exceptions for every one. The restaurent has a nice open design and is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mustang13071978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesto Fiorentino
0.6 mi away
Hotel 500 Firenze
Hotel 500 Firenze
#2 of 10 in Campi Bisenzio
468 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
#1 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
1,235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Miro
Hotel Miro
#4 of 8 in Calenzano
112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Centro - Campi Bisenzio
Hotel Centro - Campi Bisenzio
#9 of 10 in Campi Bisenzio
122 reviews
1.8 mi away
West Florence Hotel
West Florence Hotel
#7 of 10 in Campi Bisenzio
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gate Hotel

Address: Localita Area di Servizio Autostrada SNC, 50019 Sesto Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Sesto Fiorentino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sesto Fiorentino
Price Range: $74 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gate Hotel Province Of Florence/Sesto Fiorentino, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing