We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berghotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Berghotel
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Sesto
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have visited this hotel several years now. The hotel is well built, the rooms are spicy and comfortable. The staff is very friendly, the management is done by members of the Holzer family that owns the place itself, and this is most likely the reason for the excellent atmosphere and client friendliness.
The food is also excellent, a luxurious breakfast buffet that leaves little to be desired, a diner that is almost always excellent. Almost, because the system is that - after a salad buffet that is great and lovely soups - one has to make a choice from 3 dishes. If one of them is to your liking, then everything is wonderful, if not one would like to have a wider choice in a la carte options.
The location is a pure dream - alpine skiers can step in their skis on the premises and ski to the pistes, and step out of the skis again on the premises. More comfort is hardly thinkable.
The wellness area is also great, also great pedicure, massage, nice pool with entry to an open air outside hot (+30 degrees centigrade) pool. Feeling the snow in your face while your body is in this hot water is miraculous, with the rugged Dolomites as background.
Not good is the digital life in the hotel: it is a constant nuisance to try to get online. Bad connection, having to log on every time, slow, sometimes no access. This is not up to date and by far not on the same level as the other qualities if the hotel. It surprised me two years ago and I was atonished to fidn out that this had not been improved this year. If one has to connect professionally this level of connectivity is unacceptable. Be warned. If connectivity is not of the essence, then it is no problem of course - and for a holiday is may well be better that way. But if something need improvement, it is this.
Overall this is a place where you will be thoroughly happy, almost nothing left to be desired. But digitally stone age.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view on the valley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVR2732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    97
    20
    1
    1
See reviews for
214
212
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This what a hotel should be. Prime location, fine views, not too big, quiet area, skilift at hand, efficient staff, hospitable and welcoming owners, good rooms (small bathroom however), fantastic wellness area (swimming pools, saunas, rest rooms), nice childrens facilities with animation and supervision, cosy lobby with all kind of niches and corners to sit back or talk with other guests, roomy dining rooms with enough privacy for families or couples to savour the excellent food and enjoy the mountsin views, a kitchen that works like clockwork and presents its abundant delicacies in a fresh and stimulating way, private garage with guaranteed parking space.
Interior decorating of the building oozes the mountain and Tirolean history and culture, and reminds you everywhere of what you as a tourist are up to: enjoying the Alps.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meijerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferney-Voltaire, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I confirm all the good recommendations on the berghotel. We just came back from a 5 days stay during the chrismas holiday. My husband and my elder daughter enjoyed very well skiing on the station two steps from the hotel, but there is not piste for the beginner! My younger daughter and I enjoyed the outdoor swimming pool just for us two the morning and played the social game in the cosy tearoom of the hotel. The scenery of the mountain is differen of the alps, take a walk near the Tre Cime, you can find the dolomite is grogious!
For this Berghotel, I recommend you, ladies, have a massage with Karls at the spa of the hotel, it was awesome. And do a peeling with Desiree , your skin will like the silk!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korbeek-Dijle, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent two weeks in the Berghotel in Sexten-Moos in July 2012 and where very happy with our stay, we would certainly recommend this hotel.

The family and staff running the hotel are really friendly and customer oriented, friendly and clear mails are sent upfront, even supplying us with route suggestions and traffic information without having asked for it. Everyone in the hotel speaks both German and Italian, which was handy as our Italian is limited to ciao and a few other classics, they even remembered which language to address us in throughout the stay.

The promise to offer an indoor parking space to all guests was delivered, a brand new indoor garage just across the street offers sufficient space for all cars of guests to get parked in a secure way.

We stayed in a studio in the residence. The 65 square meter studio was really spacious with two nice bedrooms, one on the ground floor and one upstairs which was well appreciated by our 15 year old son, a kitchenette where we only used the fridge but which allows to do your own cooking if you wish, a dining table with 4 chairs and a small couch, two nice balconies perfect to dry walking clothes at the end of the day. The residence is connected with the main building through an indoor corridor which is nice when the weather is rainy and chill.

We booked a half board formula during our stay and highly appreciated it. The food is excellent. Breakfast offers a great choice in juices, cereals, bread, coffee and tea, several fresh fruits (strawberries, cherries, melon, pineapple, ...), cheese, yoghourt, ... At least 5 choices of honey are offered which was a party for our honey addicted son. A warm buffet also offers eggs in several shapes and a cook is present to prepare your omelet exactly as you prefer it.

Diner was also excellent with 5 courses and for each one either a buffet choice or a choice of three to choose from the day before. A lovely mixture of the best of both worlds, the Austrian and the Italian cuisine. Only minus was that when a buffet was offered the choice was sometimes quite limited if you’d arrive rather late for dinner as we usually did and most guests had already passed by the buffet.

Wellness facilities are great, a nice indoor and a small outdoor pool, both heated. Several sauna’s are available and most of the time there weren’t too many people present so that was nice and quiet as it is supposed to be. There is also a large whirlpool available outside which offers a great view, it would be even nicer if a hedge or something would hide this a bit from the view of all the hotel room balconies ...

WI-FI is available for free which is great, only unfortunately the signal is weak in lots of positions. We only received a good signal in our studio in the ground floor bedroom and on the 7th step of the stairs (-: . It would be nice if the signal could easily be received everywhere on the site, there appear to be lots of routers available but something makes the signal to come out to weak.

Also the location is practical, really quiet area, not a lot of traffic passing by, a bakery and a small supermarket are available at a 5 min walk distance, perfect to get picnic supplies. A lot of walks can be started from the hotel so the car doesn’t need to be used every single day. Lots of walks and other activities are also organized by the hotel but we did not participate in these as it was our first visit in this region.

To conclude, one of the better hotels we have stayed in with great studios and excellent food. Highly recommended for a wonderful summer holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

This is a magnificent area of the Dolomites and not so overrun so you can hike on trails and only run into a few people. The hotel is set up for hikers so supplies you with hiking poles free of charge and lots of good trail advice. A very nice staff.

This hotel is beautifully situated. It's worth paying for a room with a view. We had a suite for our family of 4 which was great. We had a kitchen which we never used as we had half-board.

The food was overall very good. Some things were excelllent and there was a very good winelist of the regional wines. There is a great variety of food so even picky kids find things to eat.

The pool is small but has a magnificent view. The hot tub is not very hot but I found that was the case in most of Italy.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umbria, italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

While we are long-time guests of Berghotel, this Christmas was our very first winter stay. The perfection we always admired during the summer was no less in the winter. The refined Christmas decorations, the extra special dinner menus on Christmas Eve and Day, the warm, family feeling of these holidays were exceptional. The word which most comes to mind is "BEYOND" - beyond ones expectations and hopes. The attention to detail, the variety of the buffets and served menus, the common room decorations, the perfect but unstuffy service, the efficiency of the Reception staff, the BEAUTY of the location, the outdoor hot tubs as well as the lovely spa are all well BEYOND what one can expect and hope for.

Berghotel is a winner - it has never disappointed. To the contrary it seems to continually improve somehow on excellence - which is quite a feat! The magic of the many summers was equalled by the magic of the winter holiday/Christmas season.

The Holzer family is truly dedicated to guests' well-being, enjoyment, pleasure. In every way they go ABOVE and BEYOND to offer an unforgettable stay, a memorable time in their corner of paradise. There is no better location in the area...and there is no finer hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geniuslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at the Berg Hotel for 3 nights in June, as our son and daughter-in-law had stayed there previously and recommended it to us so we all went together
To say we were not disappointed would be the understatement of the year. It truly must be the best hotel we have ever encountered.
Firstly the scenery - nothing I could say could do it justice. You really would have to see it to believe it. You feel you could reach out and touch the Dolomites, they are so close.
The facilities are second to none, with a beautiful spa area, and outdoor and indoor swimming pools. This really amazed me, as you enter the indoor pool, which has panoramic windows to the Dolomites, and swim through a small opening to the outdoor pool, which is heated and is really more or less at the foot of the Dolomites. We stayed in the summer, however, my son and daughter-in-law have photos of their previous stay during the winter, where they are happily swimming in the outdoor pool, surrounded by snow,
The staff all wear typical tyrolean dress, and are so helpful and courteous.
The food is something truly special, with an abundance of local delicacies. There was a speciality 'sweet' evening during our visit, and there were three large tables all decorated with the most amazing sweets.
The rooms are bright and spacious and the cupboard / wardrobe space is abundant.
The smallest details are taken care of, like for example we even had a courtesy rucksack in our rooms.
We are hoping to return to the Berg Hotel in the near future and would highly recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: South facing rooms are said to have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LimboAlpini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sesto hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monika
Hotel Monika
#1 of 26 in Sesto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.8 mi away
BAD MOOS - Dolomites Spa Resort
1.9 mi away
Hotel Dolomitenhof & Chalet Alte Post
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#9 of 26 in Sesto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#4 of 26 in Sesto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Biovita Hotel Alpi
Biovita Hotel Alpi
#11 of 26 in Sesto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel

Property: Berghotel
Address: Via Monte Elmo 10, 39030 Sesto, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Sesto
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sesto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sesto
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Sesto
#4 Family Hotel in Sesto
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Berghotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a classical hotel in the mountains, everything is possible directly from the Berghotel - hiking, mountain biking, mountaineering. In summer, skiing, crosscountry skiing, snow shoeing ... in winter! And the Berghotel is waiting with a exceptional sauna area (8 different saunas) and 3 (heated) pools, a wonderful and warm atmosphere and a wonderful cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Berghotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghotel Hotel Sesto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing