We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay ever”
Review of Hotel Monika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Monika
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Sesto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Most beautifful surroundings one can imagine, great food, nice rooms, and very very helpfull staff.
We stayed 3 nights August 12 to 15 2013. Wish it was closer from where we leave we would come several times a year.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a view on both sides!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Frederic,
we love to read words like yours: Best stay … several times a year… This proves that we are on the right way and that our guests appreciate our efforts and our engagement. Kind regards also to your wife and kid
Yours sincerely
Egarter family and the Monika team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,175)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monika
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

All the enthusiastic description I read here are justified .I only found the mattress very, very hard.
Every time I moved in sleep I awake because of this. Also the bed sheets are like impregnated,
they do not feel like cotton, giving a feeling of sleeping on a plastic sheet. I missed also the internet connection in the evening , and I think the reception should inform the guests about the
limits of the internet line, so that one can organise himself accordingly.

Room Tip: On the back side of the hotel ,the room was quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vimu2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear guest,
we are delighted that you holidayed with us and appreciated our attention to detail. We would have happily provided you with a softer mattress topper and other bed linen if you had notified us of your wishes during your stay. Regarding the Internet, however, we do suffer from restrictions in Sesto. We offer the maximum capacity possible and also WLAN throughout the house, from this summer even in the wellness area.
We look forward to your next visit and send you our very best regards
Egarter family and the Monika team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

as a professional tourism consultant I always find plenty of suggestions and observations to give to hotels and businesses. It is instead hard to find anything i would like to ask & suggest to the Monika management. A delightful hotel, with contemporary design, clean and symmetric. branching into the outdoor at every corner and opportunity, like a living organism.
The excellence points : location, amazing food, quality of water, including the swimming pool water, (it's like swimming in source water). A special word must be said for Alex, the owner, and his wonderful team : Bibi, Ida, Priscilla, Simon, Nicola. All lovely people and highly professionals. They go the extra mile, and they do so with their hearts.
Thank you for beautiful 2 weeks - can't wait for 2014.

Room Tip: all rooms are spacious, beautiful and well exposed.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vittoriaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Vittoria,
THANK YOU for describing our hotel as a paradise and that you felt so very welcome with us. When even an experience and competent tourism advisor cannot find fault and praises us for our commitment and our offer, then we really are getting it right! Thank you for 14 days of your pleasant company and your reservation for 2014.
With very kind regards to Ireland,
Family Egarter and the Monika team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very stylish rooms and building in a wonderfull loacation by the breathtaking Dolomites. Quiet- Good bed. The included 5 course dinner was a treat and the breakfast was really good. Very helfpfull in the reception, free proseco in the garden as a welcome. Free parking just outside. OK WiFi.

One drawback: Our group had 3 rooms and one were placed very far away from the others, even tough we ordered months ahead.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norwaycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for having selected our Hotel Monika for your holiday in the Dolomites. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities of our hotel. We are very sorry that you were unhappy that one of your rooms was in the annexe and not in the main hotel. Unfortunately, the main building only has one single room and we therefore had no option but to reserve a single room in the annexe for you. We hope that this did not reduce your enjoyment of your holidays too much.
We look forward to be able to welcome you again in the future and we send very kind regards to beautiful Norway!
Yours sincerely
Egarter family and the Monika team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This would have to be the best all round hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. It appears to have been owned and run by the Egarter family for generations, and there is an ingrained culture of service, hospitality and aesthetic perfection. The decor of the hotel is delightful and chic, and all kept spotlessly clean.

Our room was full of thoughtful details. There is a basket with slippers and pool towels complete with your room number on it, so when you go to the pool all your needs are at hand. There is even a post it note on the bathroom mirror where you can write down anything your room is lacking.

We were there for a week, and there was always something to do. Everyday they have free activities such as guided snow shoe walks or ski tours. The pool is warm and inviting, with lots of comfortable loungers to sit in and watch the snow falling outside the window. The outdoor spa is delightful to sit in while snow falls on your head (but it is a rather chilly dash to get out there!). Twice a week they had afternoon tea and cookies by the fire accompanied by live piano music. There is a kids room in the basement with table tennis and table football.

We had the 3/4 pension, which includes a full buffet breakfast (with freshly cooked eggs or waffles to order). There is then a mid afternoon snack of soup, bread and various cold cuts. Dinner is a 5 course gourmet experience. You select what courses you want at breakfast time. Dinner starts a bit late for my personal taste (7 pm) but I guess that is a European thing. It would be nice if they offered an earlier start for us early-to-bed, early-to-rise types.

The predominant languages throughout the hotel are German and Italian. Key staff (eg reception, the head waiter, the manager) speak enough English to be helpful, but most of the written material such as the weekly schedule, notices in the elevators etc is not in English, so it is very useful to have a translation ap readily available. The manager, Alexander is particularly friendly and helpful and made a point of coming around at mealtimes to make sure we were happy with everything.

There was one thing which needs, improving, however, and that is the wifi. It does not seem to cope with the demand, and everytime you log on you have to enter all your details and date of birth. Then half the time you would be denied access with a 'too many concurrent users' message. At one point nobody in our room could log on for over half a day. These days every man, woman and child has a device that needs internet, so this aspect should be upgraded.

Overall it was a most relaxing and refreshing week. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sasha199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Owner at Hotel Monika, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Sasha,
many thanks for your visit and your nice comment. We are very pleased that you chose our hotel for your holiday and that you felt well taken care of with us. For us each guest is a particular person, but guest who come from far away are even more special and fill us with pride.
We are sorry about the problems you had with internet: in Sesto unfortunately there still is no fibre optic cable but only ADSL. Last summer we invested a larger sum to offer our guests the absolutely best internet service possible. Regrettably at the time it is technically impossible to do more. Up to 50 persons can be online at a time. The login with name and date of birth is requested by law…
We wish you all the best, a good time in Europe, and a safe journey back. And if you should long to see us again… board a flight, the Dolomites are waiting for you!
Yours, the Egarter family and the Monika staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from spending 10 fantastic days at the Hotel Monika in Sesto. We love walking and wanted somewhere in the Dolomites that had fantastic scenery, plenty of walking opportunities and a lovely hotel to pamper ourselves in and the Hotel Monika provided all of this.

The hotel is based in Sesto/Sexten in South Tyrol which is a small town/village which is a ski resort in the winter but a great place to base yourself for walking and cycling in the summer. The hotel is a 5 minute walk into Sesto. There is a gondola/cable car up into the mountains virtually opposite the hotel. We hired a car for 10 days to get out and about but there are plenty of buses that can take you around. Also, as you'd expext with the Dolomites, loads of walks you can do right from the hotel door.

The hotel itself is fantastic. It is family run and is very welcoming. Most of the staff only speak german or italian but a few can speak some english. We stayed in the Alpine Suite which was really spacious with great views from the balcony. The food is fantastic. A really good choice every night with between 5 and 6 courses not including cheese!. They also provide an afternoon snack every day between 3-5pm as part of the HB option which is great when coming back from a walk and you are hungry and can't wait for dinner!. The hotel has a spa and the massages and mud treatment are recommended! There is also a gym and an indoor swimming pool.

Overall I would rate the Hotel Monika extremely highly for its welcome and friendliness, helpfulness, food quality, quality of ameneties, location and value for money. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: If you have loads of walking gear like us it's worth paying a bit more for the suite or a bigger...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMcFlurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear guests, many thanks for your fantastic review. We are delighted to welcome guests who travel a long way to experience the Dolomites and our hotel. And we are obviously very happy when they leave satisfied and immediately think of coming again. Satisfied guests and regular guests are the basis of a successful hotel. And therefor, our team is engaged in offering a perfect service and creating an unforgettable holiday. To reach this goal, in the last years we whipped into shape the hardware and worked on the software, upgrading it constantly. For the next winter we also plan some building works and new services.
We would be glad, if you would not only recommend us on Tripadvisor, but also enthuse about your holiday with us in your professional and social environment. Social networks not only work online, and – as we all know – the opinion of a friend is much stronger than any advertising. We thank you for your support, and send you our best regards,
Your Egarter family and the Monika team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights to meet up with some friends.

The rooms are very nice. Nice beds. The bathroom had a huge shower, two basins, with a rather odd strip of glass when if your kids are sharing a room they try and cover.

The communal rooms of the hotel are excellent, again very clean. The spa is lovely. The pool is a really decent size, and very recently refurbed. Breakfast was perhaps the best we had all holiday..and if you like tea there are about 25 to choose from.

The food was very good, if a little overwhelming.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, beware the recommendation of an easy five hour walk however!

Lots of walks and the scenery is stunning.

Downsides. The sunbeds at the front are right on the road, which feels a little odd with people tramping by the other side of the very thin hedge. The room was very hot so we slept with window open. However, the cars are all parked at the front of the hotel so if someone's car alarm goes off, that can be irritating. Also there was some river party the first night with music til 1am, so not really the relaxing stay we had planned.

I had tried to book direct with the hotel and never once got a response from the five emails I sent. In the end I booked with booking.com.

They wouldn't put our tables together in the restaurant with the other family we knew.

But overall very good, if a little pricey.

Room Tip: ONe at the back of the hotel, away from the car park.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review. We read that you didn’t get a response on your mails… it must be a technical problem, maybe the spam filter: we will check it immediately. Thank you for telling us. It is annoying for our guests, when they don’t get a response, and bad for us, if we do not receive all requests. Once a year nearby there is a Lake Festival – we are sorry that you felt bothered by it. On the other hand it is good that events are organized in town. We would be delighted to welcome you and your friends again with us.
Your Egarter family and the Monika team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesto
0.9 mi away
BAD MOOS - Dolomites Spa Resort
0.5 mi away
Berghotel
Berghotel
#1 of 26 in Sesto
543 reviews
20.4 mi away
Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hotel Quelle Nature Spa Resort
Hotel Quelle Nature Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Valle di Casies
1,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#8 of 26 in Sesto
331 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Dolomitenhof & Chalet Alte Post
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monika

Address: Parkweg 2, 39030 Sesto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Sesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Sesto
Price Range: $274 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Monika 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday at a higher level at the Monika in Sesto, in the heart of the Dolomites UNESCO World Heritage The rooms and suites are modern and with quality furniture. All rooms with comfortable bed, sofa, TV, WiFi, safe, minibar, telephone, make up mirror, hair dryer, bathroom scales. Most rooms with balcony or patio, some rooms with separate toilet and with bidet. The wellness area benefits from a sky infinity outdoor pool, an indoor pool with underwater music, an outdoor whirlpool, an event sauna, 2 Finnish saunas, biosauna, steam bath, infrared cabin and resting rooms. A fitness room, a yoga room and a beauty and massage centre are also available. The restaurant offers true culinary delights, the wine cellar offers over 250 different fine wines. There is a sumptuous breakfast buffet, the 3/4 board package also includes small meals at lunchtime, an afternoon snack and gourmet dinner in the evening. The hotel is situated immediately next to the hiking trail to Val Fiscalina, to the cross country ski track and 300 m from the pistes of the skiing mountains Monte Elmo/Croda Rossa (free bus shuttle to the lower cable car station). There is free outside parking and, for an extra charge, an underground car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing