We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't do enough for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finis Africae Country House
Ranked #49 of 63 Hotels in Senigallia
Essex England
1 review
“Couldn't do enough for us”
Reviewed December 29, 2009

This hotel was a haven of good food, good service and great relaxation. Whenever we wanted to go anywhere the staff were on hand to drive us about, whether it was to the town for shopping, to the beach or even the local supermarket. A bit of minor redecoration was needed when we were there but the new management had this well in hand. The food was high class regional and general Italian fayre, if anything the chef always did too much both at lunch and in the evenings. Good job the pool was a good size as we needed the exercise to keep the weight down.

We arrived as guests and felt we left as friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalyRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    50
    31
    16
    19
See reviews for
36
54
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Hotel is in the middle of no where but this was fine with me. However, the hotel was desert, the staff looks at you like they have something they know that you don't and you soon discover why. The hotel is noisy with equipement like a compressor, the breakfast is not good, renovations were under way but they try to hide from the visitors...so overall a rather exepnsive hotel where there is no soul and a sense of deceit in the service promise. I would recommend this hotel for a wedding if you bring your own caterer but othewise, it is not a convenient and pleasant business hotel in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZOOPING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2006

With this hotel listed as 'second best' on trip advisor we booked, and ended up disappointed.
The place was deserted and therefore completely lacking in atmosphere day or night, it felt like an abandoned hotel. Staff were present but really took no interest in us and they seemed to be the only ones demonstrating the ‘peace and well being’ as mentioned in the brochure, with their laid back attitude.
The pool was nice (apart from the drilling and banging going on) but the hotel seemed to let locals (including unsupervised children) for the day/afternoon and this removed any sign of tranquillity and added more to the feeling that we were trespassing in an abandoned hotel.
Didn’t see anyone eat lunch or dinner the whole time we were they, the dinning room was all laid up but remained untouched by all.
Whilst is it 1km from the beach it is not up to the ‘13 km of velvet sands’ promised, you can’t see the sand for all the thousands of sun loungers and beach huts, sea is also a horrid brown colour. My recommendation would be that if you want to visit the coast in Italy go to the Tuscan coast, much better all round.

  • Liked — nice bathroom
  • Disliked — staff, no atmosphere
  • Tips/Secrets — go to Tuscan coast instead!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Senigallia hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Liskeard
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2006

I dont know where to start with the awful experience we had at this hotel.

First the location - a 45 minute route march to the centre, further to the beach. The road is a main road for about the first mile with no pavement. You even have to walk under the Autostrada.

Secondly, we booked through Expedia who confirmed we had breakfast included - when we checked in the hotels response was "expedia always do that, our rate does not include breakfast and we have told expedia time and time again about this"

To be fair to the hotel, when I produced evidence of booking with breakfast they relented and agreed it was ok. When we saw the breakfast we wish we hadn't bothered. Cereals and cake aplenty, but no fresh fruit, no cheese or cold meats.

The website said the beach was 1 kn (half a mile) from the private Beach. As previously stated it was nearly 1 hour walk or (so we were told)12 to 15 euro in a taxi. When we got there we had to use the Bora Bora Beach, costing 18 euros per day. There was no private beach, ideal for strolling along the shore!

The hotel offered use of bycycles - with no brakes! Our German friends tried them but found them too dangerous to use.

The room was ok. Portable TV with poor picture quality. But the room was ok. Of the 4 hotels we booked for our trip to Italy it was easily the worst, but ok. Nice bathroom though.

In all we could not get away quick enough. I tried to call Expedia to see if we could change as we had paid well in advance, but spent 2 hours on hold. The Sales Line we got through straight away. We were promised calls back, but they never came. We ended up not completing our stay, even though we had paid and moving on.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Travel with a car
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2006

Having been back a week now from our two week stay in Senigallia, all I can say is how much my wife and I want to go back.... if you wish for a nice relaxing holiday then this is the place to be, everyone in the hotel were both friendly and helpful and nothing was too much for them. We seriously could not praise the hotel staff enough and we thank them for making our stay a memorable one.
The pool was great, the view was out of this world and the food was something else ( in a good way that is ).
The hotel is not far by taxi or foot from the beach/shops but far enough to be away from the hussle and bussle on a weekend although it is worth venturing to the front to see how youth and bars can work ( gee, I sound old ) and also to test out the restaurants where, again, everyone seemed so friendly and the food was, again, something else.

  • Liked — Swimming pool, food, friendliness..... the list goes on
  • Disliked — taxis were a bit overpriced
  • Tips/Secrets — go before the school holidays start
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2005

Great and peaceful place to stay. The room was large and smartly decorated. Very clean.
The hotel is situated within the campaign, but only 1km from touristic attractions and commercial center.
The food in the restaurant (inside with clim or on terrace) is definitely excellent, don't hesitate to book at least for the half board.
Excellent Breakfast is served in or outside next to the pool ! Lovely !
The pool is beautiful and accessible 24h with garden and terrace around.
Nice places to visit around. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LaurentMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Senigallia hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mastai
Hotel Mastai
#38 of 63 in Senigallia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Duchi della Rovere
Hotel Duchi della Rovere
#23 of 63 in Senigallia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#29 of 63 in Senigallia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Terrazza Marconi Hotel & SpaMarine
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ritz
Hotel Ritz
#25 of 63 in Senigallia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#19 of 63 in Senigallia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finis Africae Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finis Africae Country House

Property: Finis Africae Country House
Address: S.P. Sant' Angelo 155, 60019, Senigallia, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Ancona > Senigallia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Senigallia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Finis Africae Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the hills of the Marches Region, Finis Africae is an hotel in Senigallia. Is just a kilometre from the city-centre and the beach of Senigallia (Ancona). Finis Africæ fullfils all the requests for a quiet stay yet is close to the city. The resort has not been conceived uniquely for vacation purposes and is also addressed to business and sporting activities. It offers a very high quality restaurant which serves typical local dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Finis Africae Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finis Africae Country Hotel
Finis Africae Country Senigallia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing