We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our bike tip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zur Goldenen Rose - Rosa d'Oro
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Senales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We were touring Italy for 3 weeks by bicycle and made the effort to ride 10 km.up this side valley and were so glad we did ! From the moment you walk in the front door you are ensconced with a quality experience....pure hospitality, excellent food and friendly staff. Couldn't have been happier with our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinnamontoastkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenerose, Inhaber at Zur Goldenen Rose - Rosa d'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Thank you and greatings from Val Senales.

Stefania & Paul Grüner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 130 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed twice at Goldene Rose. Both times in a January. And we will come back. Its just the best place on earth. Beautiful location, very friendly service and excellent food. The owners Paul and Stefanie are just amazing. The family also owns a rewarded mountain hut. We combined our trips with some nights in that hut.
Just check-out their webpage. It is a rewarding stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Could hardly be any better.

We stayed here for one week with young children in one of their larger room. It was sparkling clean and spacious. Solid wood danish furniture. Balcony with a view on the village and surrounding mountains. The beds were comfortable but maybe a bit on the firm side. Quality linens made up for that small shortcoming.

Bathroom was also sparkling clean and spacious.

The entire hotel was cosy with a an interesting mix of modern and traditional.

The staff was truly outstanding. Every single one of them was courteous, friendly and helpful. The owners themselves were always around and ensuring everything is running smoothly, yet also often took the time to interact with guests.

Probably the best part of a stay at the Golden Rose are the meals. We took the full board which also included tea and cake in the afternoon. Breakfast was a simple affair but with excellent food, in particular a plate of excellent local cheeses every morning. Lunch consisted of pasta offered in the hut on the mountain. That pasta was excellent, much better than what can be had at the ski resort restaurants. Dinner consisted of five inspiring courses. Always excellent. Game meats were often on the offer. Great soups. Excellent wines, mostly from the Sudtyrol.

The whole valley has experienced limited development and remains fairly quiet, adding to the quality of the experience. This is no Verbier or Zermatt. Small farms are still dotting the landscape. Very calm and serene.

The hut is a great place to stop for your lunch. Cozy and comfortable. It is possible to stay overnight. We did not do it, but regret not having done so. Although more simple than the main hotel, the hut is still a wonderful place to be.

The Golden Rose also offered excellent quality for the money. Prices were more than reasonable.

On the down side, the internet connection was slow and only really useable near the reception.

Overall, just a great place worth returning to. We hope to do so in the summer where it would be a perfect base for hiking in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foubrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

This is a truly wonderful hotel in a little valley nestled in the Italian Tyrol. It even has its own mountain hut, but you don't need to visit during Winter - there's skiing all year round on the Senales glacier. We went for hikes around the valley, crossing mountain streams, visiting little hamlets and enjoying the beautiful scenery. At the very comfortable, well run hotel we had buffet breakfasts, 5 course dinners and even afternoon tea and cakes on half board, which was excellent value. The owners spoke to us personally and all the staff looked after us well. What a combination: Tyrolean efficiency and Italian food! We cannot recommend it highly enough. Dave & Sue Lee.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Independents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mieke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le camere sul giardino dispongono di uno spazio esterno attrezzato comodissimo in estate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mariadotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biriribi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Senales
7.1 mi away
Blu Hotels Senales
Blu Hotels Senales
#2 of 12 in Senales
568 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tonzhaus Hotel & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Oberraindlhof
Oberraindlhof
#4 of 12 in Senales
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aktiv & Familienhotel Adlernest
2.9 mi away
Berghotel Tyrol & Firn
Berghotel Tyrol & Firn
#8 of 12 in Senales
95 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
#1 of 8 in Silandro
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zur Goldenen Rose - Rosa d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur Goldenen Rose - Rosa d'Oro

Address: Via Certosa 29, 39020 Senales, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Senales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Senales
Price Range: $145 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zur Goldenen Rose - Rosa d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Rose: the surprise of a 4-star hotel as authentic as its valley The jewel of the Senales Valley: the Golden Rose is a 4-star hotel that has retained the flavor of an old-world inn. Managed by the Grüner family for three generations, the hotel has kept pace with the times without losing its strong historical roots. Here, the warmth of wood lifts the spirit, ancient fabrics come to life in new colors and shapes, tradition reigns yet is continually alive, in utter keeping with the modern world. Past and present in perfect harmony Juval Castle, the ancient fortification that is now home to mountain climbing legend Reinhold Messner, dominates the entrance to the precipitous Val Senales just 30 km west of Merano. The valley ascends towards the glaciers of the Ötztal Alps and the hamlet of Certosa, where the ancient Allerengelberg Cartusian Monastery was located. This is a valley with a strong character, dominated by Alpine landscapes as unique as they are varied. The gamut runs from the verdant pastures of the valley all the way up to Hochjochferner Glacier, from the charm of little villages to the landscapes of high mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Zur Goldenen Rose - Rosa d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing