We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely homestay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandipur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Ridge Bandipur
Ranked #4 of 9 Bandipur B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed with Piers in his former homestay in Udaipur (Rajasthan, India) and visited him when he moved to the new place in Bandipur (Nepal). He did another great job with the building and the whole community around the new place. He has got an excellent taste and a good sense for service (and humor too). The homestay was built in the old and typical nepalese architecture: bricks and dark wooden windows and colums. Each room has a different topic and is furnitured tastefully. Each room has a balcony facing the majestic mountains (if they show up). Each room has a nice bathroom with hot shower coming from the solar panels. There is a dining room where Piers sometimes shows movies via beamer. You can sit outside as well. Its still improving and a bit of building work around, which makes you realise how all this happens. Piers has a lot of plans for creating an environmentally and sustainable community - its fascinating to see this energy of one person and his power to make his dream come true. Will definetely go back. Thank you all for your kind hospitality and hope to see you all again in good health.

Room Tip: Ask for the floral room as it has 2 balconies, one facing north (the Annapurna range) and one facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 45 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

We are a family of four with two young children. We had stayed at Mountain Ridge in Udaipur, India, where we met the delightful owner and family running the homestay. We'd learned they were opening a guesthouse in Nepal. When we found ourselves in Nepal, we planned an overnight in Bandipur on the way to Pokhara just to stay with them once again. Our two kids could not have been more excited.

This was the best thing we did in Nepal. Bandipur is simply a magical place. The drive up from Dumre is fantastically memorable: terraced fields of rice and corn, vistas of the valley and mountains beyond.

Mountain Ridge is still under construction, which we fully expected, but despite that we were welcomed like a family returning home. We stayed in the Tibetan Room. The room itself is the nicest we've had in Nepal: new, spotlessly clean, and beautifully decorated with character, unique lighting and local art. They brought in an extra bed so we were comfortable as a family.

We spent the day exploring the remarkable village. There are hikes and trails running off in every direction, and we wished we'd had more time to go off exploring. Prakash, who works at the inn, will lead a hike if you ask. The village is kept remarkably clean, and if you wander beyond the main bazaar, you're quickly and atmospherically taken back in time. Mountain Ridge itself is off in a section of the village slightly removed from the hustle of shops and other guest houses, but a five minute walk past goats and chickens to the heart of town.

But the owners are what we'll remember most. Our children loved playing with the kids and extended family. We ate together (wonderful home cooked meals by Amrit and Indira) and laughed late into the evening.

Our only mistake: not spending a number of days here. Our kids begged us to extend our stay. Don't make the same mistake we did. This is an experience we'll treasure.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRBandipur, Owner at Mountain Ridge Bandipur, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Someone mentioned that we received reviews from friends. On the face of it, that sounds as though our ratings have been boosted through less than fair means, but the truth is a little different: a number of our guests are people who have stayed with us previously when we ran a homestay in Rajasthan and with whom we have enjoyed a good rapport.

The wonderful thing about having a homestay is that it does give us the chance to meet fascinating people with interesting lives and stories and kindly natures. Sometimes we part sadly and lose touch; sometimes we retain a link and meet again, and this way some of these people do indeed become friends.

People sometimes suggest I might like to expand into a fully-fledged hotel with many rooms, but I feel that this could jeopardise the intimate quality of the homestay, so growing big is not attractive to me.

Thanks for your kindly review, Michelle, Robert and kids; it was a great pleasure to meet you all again, albeit briefly, but certainly after your second visit, I do look upon you as friends so keep in touch and return whenever possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed for three nights in march at this immensely friendly and atmospheric place. Situated just 2 min from the main bazaar on a ridge overlooking the himalayas, mountain ridge is the ideal place to take it easy and explore authentic bandipur and rural life in Nepal in general. The rooms are very attractively decorated and all have a balcony where you can read a book, sip some tea and quietly watch rural life pass by. The matress is thick and comfortable and the shower hot and powerful (although i was in the lowest room). Piers, the British owner, and his Nepali family are a happy and friendly bunch who are in for a laugh and a talk. Would recommend to stay here at least 2-3 nights to be able to fully soak up the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRBandipur, Owner at Mountain Ridge Bandipur, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thanks Rob and Ank for your kind review and for the photographs. It was a pleasure to have you in our throng but then I always enjoy having Dutch guests ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Had a fantastic time here, was only there for a few days but felt part of the family instantly, Piers and his crew made me feel very welcame and playing games and chatting with the kids was great. The place is going to be amazing when it's finished but is already a very comfortable and unique place to stay, a short walk into the most beautiful towns in the hills of Nepal. Highly recommend a break here away from the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu. Thanks again guys!

Room Tip: Any room is good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRBandipur, Owner at Mountain Ridge Bandipur, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Aw shucks! That's so generous of you, especially considering the scarcity of water and teething troubles with the solar water-heating system PLUS the work going on here and there. However your words are very encouraging and spur us on to achieve the best we can. Many Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed a couple of night with Piers recently and had a wonderful time! The rooms are tastefully decorated and the balconies have awesome views. Once all the work is finished, it will be such a beautiful place with a great ethos! Piers is a fantastic host and Bandipur is a great little place to visit. There are many walks around Mountain Ridge for those keen to work up an appetite for the excellent food that is served up!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloo-piarch, Owner at Mountain Ridge Bandipur, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thank you for your kind and encouraging words. We still have a little way to go, to get Mountain Ridge Bandipur the way we want it, but the work is moving on fast and we'll be able to open the homestay formally within the next few weeks. I am planning the website, we need to put up a sign and get brochures printed. Perhaps we can start planting out a garden before the monsoon. So far it has been very difficult for anybody to contact us, but the email address is udai99@hotmail.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Mountain Ridge Bandipur is one of those wonderful places that leaves you with lifetime memories. Piers is in the process of creating something very special in Bandipur. The unique homestay supports a number of good causes in the local area and further afield through a local Nepalese NGO that Piers works with. The homestay itself is a work of art. Comfy, fashionable, clean rooms with private verandas and views to die for. Nepali tea and good coffee as the sun goes down on the mountains - nothing like it! Scrumptious international meals (with great conversation) prepared by Indira, one of the NGO's founders, and served in the stylish dining room. Bandipur and the surrounding area allow for plenty of interesting walks to work off the calories. Piers and his extended family welcome you with warmth and kindness. We stayed in pretty cold weather and they provided a small electric heater and lots of extra quilts to keep our room cozy before bed. We were there for 5 days and were very sad to leave. We would go back in a heart beat if we were in Nepal again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RheaGray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloo-piarch, Owner at Mountain Ridge Bandipur, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Thanks so much for your kind review. I should say that it was a great pleasure having such pleasant, easy-going folk and interesting conversations. I know you live so far away but I really hope you will return so that we can 'spoil' you even more :-D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Bandipur is a magical place and Mountain Ridge is one of its gems.
It was the best place I visited on my trip to Nepal. No pollution, no traffic, just beautiful and peaceful little sleepy town where the time stood nearly still......with historic, well looked after main square, and fantastic views of the Himalayas as well as incredibly green rice paddies.
Mountain ridge is definitely a home stay, not a hotel, and one feels like a member of the family from the moment of arrival. The rooms are large and comfortable with balconies to sit and watch the world go by. So relaxing! I had to force myself to leave it and go to explore all the other delights; walks to hidden waterfalls, caves, and exploring the life in this amazing place. Home cooked food was delicious, as was the laughter of the children around.
Piers is one of the rare people who will go to incredible length to inform and help in every way. His knowledge of the area, its history and its people is quite exceptional.
A happy place and happy time. Thank you Piers and family. Will be back...........

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stormberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Gaun Ghar Hotel
Gaun Ghar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bandipur
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Inn
The Old Inn
#1 of 9 in Bandipur
288 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bandipur Samira Homestay
Bandipur Samira Homestay
#2 of 9 in Bandipur
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.7 mi away
Bandipur Kaushi Inn
Bandipur Kaushi Inn
#3 of 9 in Bandipur
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milan Guest House
Milan Guest House
#7 of 9 in Bandipur
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Depche
Hotel Depche
#4 of 7 in Bandipur
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Ridge Bandipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Ridge Bandipur

Address: Depchedara, Bandipur Ward 4, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Bandipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bandipur
Price Range: $33 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, well-appointed and comfortable homestay hotel, five minutes' walk from Bandipur's Main Bazaar, with incredible Himalayan views (in clear weather). All rooms are very spacious and en-suite, with balconies. The rooms can be double or twin. The beds have quality mattresses and duvets and all rooms are fitted with a fan, heater (in cold weather) and bedside lights. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing