We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid Second Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Splendid Second Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

My second visit to this charming & friendly hotel. Many of the staff remembered me from last year with Marco anticipating my choice of cocktail or beer almost the moment I set foot in the bar. Lovely clean spacious rooms. Fabulous spa & pool facilities. The food is astoundingly good and they take great care in getting everything "just so". Extensive wine list showing off local wines as well as some of Italy's best known. If I had a small complaint, I would ask the hotel to improve their wifi. The signal is only accessible in parts of the lobby and bar and often drops out completely. You cannot access wifi in the bedrooms
The village is really pretty and although the hotel is little off the main road, they run a minibus shuttle service to the lifts. The skiing is extensive and caters for most levels although I think it might be difficult for beginners to navigate.
We had a couple of issues with boots that got mistakenly swapped during transport and a back pack that one of my party left in a mountain restaurant. The hotel sorted out both of these problems (not of their making) efficiently, effectively and with a smile. Some of the staff members seemed to be there both early morning and late night and always keen to please.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    55
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
182
155
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
290 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Last year, we enjoyed our stay at Selva so much that we decided to come back. We didn't think twice about the hotel we were going to stay in. Gran Baita is such a great place that you are really looking forward to getting there again, perhaps as much as you want to put on your skis and do the famous Sellaronda... Everything we loved last year is intact : comfortable rooms, a cosy bar, live music almost every evening, a top notch restaurant, smiling people. The list could go on and on. Special thanks to Benjamin, the sommelier who knows his stuff, Marco the cocktail master and Dolores the nicest waitress I have ever met.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HedonisteModerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Five of us spent a luxurious seven days at the Gran Baita last week and had just a perfect ski holiday. The rooms are delightful, the food excellent, the staff lovely the facilities superb.
What can be better that a long day on the piste of Val Gardena and returning to a relaxing snooze by the pool, a swim in the pool and, for the younger members of the family, swimming through the doors into the warm outside pool - and jumping out and rolling in the snow. This is a ski in ski out sort of place, a short walk to the slope - but the ever present hotel bus zips you to the more central lifts at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: We had a spacious junior suite - the children's rooms were lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boatman100754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

So pleased with our first stay two years back we took the dangerous decision for the first time ever to go back to a ski hotel and risk disappointment!
Food of outstanding quality and if you don't fancy the daily menu choice, eat from the extensive a la carte menu at no extra charge!Leisure facilities and spa for everyones taste. Our room (Junior suite) spacious and very well appointed.On demand Shuttle service to lifts and ski back to within 200 meters.So disappointed we'd not discovered the Dolomites earlier in our skiing history. Beautiful mountains with snow guaranteed, no queues, and wonderful mountain restaurants at sensible prices.(don't tell anyone of the secret).
The best feature of the Hotel ? The staff to a man/women wanted only to please and always with a smile.
We'll be back again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in GranBaita at the peak of the winter skiing season. The hotel is a family run luxury hotel. Food, service and ambiance are outstanding. The spa is a real treat and the indoor/outdoor swimming pool is gorgeous. While not directly on the ski slopes, the shuttle service was impeccable. Our room, a luxury suite, was spacious and comfortable, with a big balcony and two bathrooms - ideal for a family of four. The evening entertainment was great and the playing rooms kept our kids busy while we were enjoying the music and the drinks. Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 340michelel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Gran Baita is a hotel I know for centuries! ;-)
Saw it grow to the luxury hotel it is now, without losing the warm welcome!
Great food with emphasis on the outstanding antipasti and the superb breakfast.
Special mention for the beautiful in- outdoor swimming pool.
Gran Baita is the ideal starting point for exploring (winter and summer) the spectacular Dolomite region.
Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbluesbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in Gran Baita late June/early July, just before the hay meadows were cut and the wild flowers were in full bloom. This holiday ticked every box. The hotel is wonderful, with courteous staff, and fabulous food. The indoor pool opens to an outdoor area, and I enjoyed the poolside steam room. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a small balcony.The SPA is a hidden world of wonders. Try the salt therapy pool, or treat yourself to a massage with heady scented oils. We borrowed the hotel mountain bikes, and signed up for the historical walks and activities laid on by the local town tourist office. Try the 'easy' mountain bike trip for yourself. It starts with a beautiful if somewhat bumpy ride through the woods to a cable car which whisks you up to heady heights. Our guide asked if any of us were suffering from altitude sickness - I said I thought it was just my age. Any excuse for being last haha. Walking in the mountains was also delightful, with cattle on the slopes wearing collars with bells, and you may spot a marmot on the high slopes. For those who like a little night life the hotel laid on entertainment one evening, there were a couple of events at the town hall. I particularly enjoyed the Tyrolean night. Walking into Selva after dinner for a coffee or hot chocolate at Cafe Mozart is also recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laharnalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#2 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#9 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel

Property: Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Address: Strada Nives 11, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#3 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#5 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#9 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innovation in harmony with nature - that's the goal at the Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel****s. We've put a lot of effort and thought into creating the special atmosphere at the leading mountain resort hotel in Wolkenstein in Groden / Selva di Val Gardena. Situated in the village center, but with an extensive park-like garden, the Sport Hotel Gran Baita invites you to enjoy the legendary panoramic view of the Dolomites (which UNESCO has declared to be a World Heritage Site). Mild mountain air together with a wide range of wellness activities, sports, and culinary specialties - it's an experience for all the senses! The wellness facilities at the Gran Baita allow you to experience a new dimension of spaciousness and comfort, of warmth, light, and water. Throughout our hotel complex, you'll encounter a casual atmosphere characterized by unobtrusive luxury and harmonious design. And the philosophy of our 4-Star Superior Hotel is based upon carefully prepared culinary specialties and a truly remarkable assortment of wines. The Gran Baita in Wolkenstein / Selva was constructed in the early 1960s by the parents of Carmen Puntscher. It's a family-operated hotel where we've devoted a lot of attention to the smallest details. We and our team are looking forward to providing you with a maximum of comfort and service so that you can enjoy the best vacation of your life. Yours truly, The Puntscher Perathoner Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing