We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation made easy”
Review of Hotel Solaia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Solaia
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Staying at Hotel Solaia was a delightful experience for my family and I. After a long day of skiing, the kids were able to enjoy swimming in the pool while my husband and I enjoyed healing our muscles in the sauna. We did the half board which made dinner and breakfast easy. I especially was glad for the secured ski room where we could store our skies and boots instead of having them in the room with us. The staff at the bar and the restaruant were all helpful and spoke English, Italain and German. I look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crzyllama71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Solaia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 66 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2011

Positives:
The hotel location is very good - virtually ski in, ski out - although the run back to the hotel is a bit awkward to get to and would be a challenge for beginners. The pool and sauna were good. Rooms were clean and comfortable, if a bit small.
Negatives:
The reception and bar areas are a bit basic. There is no receptionist as such, and getting information, etc. involves trying to track down Egon, the proprietor. Restaurant service was haphazard as some of the staff are poorly trained. Whilst the food is good and wholesome, it is very plain for a hotel in this price bracket. The same desserts were offered every night. The elderly 'matriarch' of the family sits in the reception area or bar and tells guests off for doing anything which doesn't meet her approval. There was no proper bar bill at the end of the week; Egon just came up with a figure on his laptop which we couldn't verify.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Headaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We travelled as a group of 14 (8 adults and 6 children) and when we booked we were a little concerned by the limited response from Egon and the request for no deposit. We were not sure if we would turn up to find any rooms available. Our worries were completely unnecessary and on arrival Egon greeted our coach with 'what rooms would you like' despite being fully booked! With a selection of rooms it was possible to accommodate our party exactly how we preferred and all rooms were lovely - clean, modern and very functional. The food was perfect - 5 courses at dinner (starter, salad buffet, first course - 2 choices pasta or soup, main course - 2 choices and dessert - 5 choices) and an extensive continental breakfast buffet with eggs to boil yourself. There is a large bar area with comfortable seating and a friendly, attentive barman! The swimming pool and sauna allowed us to relieve our aching muscles after a full day's skiing. There is also a large ski and boot room with heated boot warmers giving access directly to the slope into the village, where you need to remove your skis to access either the Costabella Chair to Danterceppies or the Ciampinoi Gondala. Neither are 2 far to walk. As long as you get back on to the slopes of the Danterceppies mountain then you can ski directly back to the hotel otherwise it is only a short walk from the bottom of the slopes on Ciampinoi. If we ended up finishing the day on Ciampinoi we tended to walk across the short road bridge back to the Costabella Chair and ski back down from there using the path through the trees back on to Danterceppies. The hotel is also within walking distance to the few shops, cafes and bars of Selva.

All in all a very enjoyable stay and somewhere we would like to visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HolsLoverNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

Hotel Solaia in Selva, Italy (in the Val Gardena of the Dolomites) is an amazingly perfect family operated hotel. The views from every room are stunning. My husband & I stayed in a double room with a balcony, but they also have singles and suites. In addition to our amazing room, there is also an indoor pool, workout area, HUGE ski storage facility, ping-pong, sauna, and you can ski directly into and out of the back door in winter.

The dining room served excellent meals (our breakfast was included in the cost of our room). They offer half-pensione if you prefer to have your breakfast and dinner at the hotel every day (we had dinner there twice, and it was delicious!). The breakfast is a buffet style with everything we love, eggs, yogurt, granola, breads, cereals, fruit, and I am sure I am forgetting things. The dinners were served with five full courses. New Year's Eve was amazing with the fireworks on the slopes directly across from the hotel balconies.

The hotel is operated by Egon who is a wonderful resource for local information (ski lessons, rentals, history, etc) or just a lively conversation over a cup of tea, beer or Gluewein. I don't ski, but my husband does, so he took advanced ski lessons while I read, walked the trail to St. Cristina, and explored the towns on foot. After ski, we met up for drinks downstairs in the bar area of Hotel Solaia every day and chatted with Egon and Josef, the bartender, before heading off for our evening of fun.

Everyone at Hotel Solaia made us feel comfortable and welcome for our entire stay. So much that we extended our time there from three to five nights. Every guest there seemed to have the same opinion. We enjoyed it immensely and hope to return in the summertime for hiking in the Dolomites.
I hope to add photos soon!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Undrwtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Duccio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Siv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Rom 401 har plass til 5
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Discover0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Linder
Hotel Linder
#33 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corona Krone
Hotel Corona Krone
#45 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garni Hotel Wildbach
Garni Hotel Wildbach
#76 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aaritz
Hotel Aaritz
#21 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garni Hotel La Tambra
Garni Hotel La Tambra
#73 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#10 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solaia

Address: Strada Nives 33 | P. O. BOX 71, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 97 Hotels in Selva di Val Gardena
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solaia 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Solaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Solaia Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing