We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Heaven in the Italian Dolomites”
Review of Hotel Solaia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Selva di Val Gardena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Solaia
Reviewed January 23, 2008

Hotel Solaia in Selva, Italy (in the Val Gardena of the Dolomites) is an amazingly perfect family operated hotel. The views from every room are stunning. My husband & I stayed in a double room with a balcony, but they also have singles and suites. In addition to our amazing room, there is also an indoor pool, workout area, HUGE ski storage facility, ping-pong, sauna, and you can ski directly into and out of the back door in winter.

The dining room served excellent meals (our breakfast was included in the cost of our room). They offer half-pensione if you prefer to have your breakfast and dinner at the hotel every day (we had dinner there twice, and it was delicious!). The breakfast is a buffet style with everything we love, eggs, yogurt, granola, breads, cereals, fruit, and I am sure I am forgetting things. The dinners were served with five full courses. New Year's Eve was amazing with the fireworks on the slopes directly across from the hotel balconies.

The hotel is operated by Egon who is a wonderful resource for local information (ski lessons, rentals, history, etc) or just a lively conversation over a cup of tea, beer or Gluewein. I don't ski, but my husband does, so he took advanced ski lessons while I read, walked the trail to St. Cristina, and explored the towns on foot. After ski, we met up for drinks downstairs in the bar area of Hotel Solaia every day and chatted with Egon and Josef, the bartender, before heading off for our evening of fun.

Everyone at Hotel Solaia made us feel comfortable and welcome for our entire stay. So much that we extended our time there from three to five nights. Every guest there seemed to have the same opinion. We enjoyed it immensely and hope to return in the summertime for hiking in the Dolomites.
I hope to add photos soon!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Undrwtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 68 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olympichotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ultimo piano
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank N5946WAfrancescac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Duccio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Siv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Rom 401 har plass til 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Discover0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank milano49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selva di Val Gardena
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Nives
Boutique Hotel Nives
#30 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#6 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oswald
Hotel Oswald
#17 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Comploj
Hotel Comploj
#35 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
145 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Solaia
Hotel Solaia
#52 of 59 in Castelrotto
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solaia

Address: Strada Nives 33 | P. O. Box 71, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 97 Hotels in Selva di Val Gardena
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solaia 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Hotel Solaia Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing