We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position for the lifts”
Review of Hotel Alaska

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alaska
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect position for the lifts”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Hotel Alaska is a comfortable family run hotel with large clean rooms excelent food and wine list and a perfect position for both the main lifts out of Selva. At the top of the nursery slope you ski down to the ski school meeting place and Champanoi gondola and across the road are 2 drags that enable you to ski to the Dantecepes gondola or its only a short walk. We have been twice and would be very happy to go again. If you want to be out in the bars every night then this isnt the place for you as its quite a walk up the hill from the town but for everyone else this hotel is a great base for a weeks skiing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TurboRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    48
    18
    11
    12
See reviews for
66
53
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed at the Alaska from January 14th with a varied group of 2 experienced skiers, 2 experienced snowboarders and a beginner skier.
Alaska is perfectly positioned at the top of the nursery slopes, a great position for the beginner and just as great for the experienced as we could cross the road behind the hotel and go up for serious skiing or ski down through the town to pick up more serious skiing on the other side.
If you want to do the SellaRonda then this is about as good as it gets and you can even get that last apres-ski drink at the top of the mountain behind the hotel and ski back home when the lifts are closed.
The hotel itself was comfortable, clean and well organised. Wine at dinner and bar prices are not a rip-off.
Sure, it's a 3 star so don't expect oodles of space and room service but the food is good, the rooms OK, the facilities what you would expect and everything is just great for a ski week.
Best overall recommendation I can make is that we will be going back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmadduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Hotel Alaska offers a great location, fantastic food, clean and beautifully decorated rooms and a warm family welcome. My husband and I stayed for a weeks skiing and will look forward to returning!
The hotel is just across the road from the slopes (5 metres and your on the slopes) on one side and the back of the hotel is just about on the nursery slopes! The ski area is vast and the whole area is worth exploring from the local slopes to the Marmolada glacier, the beautiful Hidden Valley (Passo Falzarego), the Alpe di Siusi area and lots more.
The bedroom was a good size with a 6ft bed, sofa and balcony overlooking the slopes. The en suite had a large bath and shower, double sink, bidet and toilet - plenty of hot water & clean towels. Room and bathroom spotless. The 5 course evening meal was really excellent - salad buffet, homemade soups and rolls,pasta dishes, fish / meat dishes followed by locally made ice cream or glorious pudding! Breakfast was also a very high standard with fruit salad, yogurts , meats, cheeses, rolls, cakes,scrambled egg, boiled eggs etc. The waiting and bar staff were very helpful and efficient.
Lots of extras are offered with a ski and ski boot room with heated boot racks. Guided ski tours can be arranged free of charge, we also had the chance of free tickets for a local ice hockey match kindly organised through the hotel reception. On one evening we had a local folk band playing during our meal which gave a great atmosphere! The Sauna and hot tub are great for relaxing after a days skiing.
The family were always available for advise and help and their welcome was excellent.
We think this hotel is under rated at 3 star and should be 4 star.This place is a skiers paradise!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tregaddra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We came back to Selva again this year for a second week on the next to last week of the season, we have stayed close by before and have passed the Alaska on every day over the last ten years of coming here, but this year was the first year that it has appeared in any of the British tour operators brochures.

There are only about three hotels in this resort that have slope access as good as this, it is situated in an ideal location for those coming in a mixed ability group, from beginners to those like ourselves who have skied all over the alps over during the last 25 years.

Below it are a selection of easy beginners slopes, above is a steeper beginners slope which links with the Danterceppes gondola, or you can make the approx 150 yard walk to it instead.

We think that the Danterceppes lift is the best way out into the Sella Ronda, even at this time of year we walked no more than 30 yards off snow, in or out.

On entering the Alaska it is immediately obvious that this is a family run concern, with evidence of children’s toys around reception. We were warmly greeted by the Mussner family, the warmth did not falter over our week there.

Although it is three star rated we stayed one of the refurbished rooms which was traditionally decorated, comfortable and we would reckon to be four stars standard. Not all the rooms have been refurbished, and from the outside it looks like it could do with a lick of paint, but look beyond this, the location is ‘prima’.

We would not describe the food as ‘fancy’, but it was wholesome, plentiful (I’m sure had we asked for more we would not have been refused) and although it does not does not have quite the choice of a four star, we still thought the pasta dishes were as good as any we’ve eaten in four star Hotels.

We had a great week there and would have no qualms about going back., the overall rating given by us is viewing the Alaska as a three star Hotel.

In summary this is a homely 3-4 star Family run Hotel that should have been available to British skiers for years now, during the day, adjacent to one the busiest pistes of the Sella Ronda about 50 yards from the outside bar, at night this a quiet location. If your holiday is simply “all about the skiing”, then this is for you.

If the tour operator involved were to remove this new inclusion from their brochure they need to have their bumps felt!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nathan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Our party of three couples stayed at the Alaska in February 2011 and had a pleasant week. The hotel is in an excellent position for the slopes and ski school although the walk back from town is hard work. The family and staff made us most welcome and the food and wine was of a high standard and varied.
The rooms are a good size although a little dark and too warm. I did not use the sauna so cannot comment on its quality. We all had an enjoyable week and will happily return to the Alaska.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fozzy035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We were 7 families with the kids of different ages from 4 to 19. There are many different things that I'd like to say about the hotel:
1. First of all absolutely home feeling, because of enormous affords of Martha and her family. The owners family is always there: during the morning hours, in the afternoon, at dinner they are eating right next to you. You really feel yourself like a family guest and it's quite unusual. It's little bit more, than just a good service, provided by management.
2. Location. From one side it's one of the best as it's right near the lift, 50m from school and on the hill that provide you excellent view. From another side it's bit far away from the village center and if on the way there you can enjoy easy downhill walk, on the back it's unpleasant icy uphill "movement".
3. Hotel. The rooms are very big, but most of them needs renovation not because of bad condition, rooms and bathrooms are kept very well and clean, but because of "darkness". Furniture, colors are quite dark and the lamps are not so bright, it gives the feeling of "lack of light". There are no hooks in the bathrooms and storage of towels is quite a problem.
I was told that the renovations will be on 2012 and I'm sure that it'll give absolute new look for the hotel.
4. Restaurant. The food was very good, provide a variety of different types of cuisines, wine list is rich. Marcello made all the affords to make our group satisfied and he definitely managed. It was not easy to feed the group of 25, especially when you don't want to spend 2 hours for the dinner, when you are with kids. The only suggestion for the restaurant is to reduce the heat, as temperature at the dinning room was extremely high.
5. SPA. This was the only disappointed thing. The SPA area is not organized at all. Everything is too small for the 4 floors hotel. Sauna is for maximum 4 people at a time, rest area is with only 3 (!) lounge beds and except this, there is absolutely no place to sit. Jacuzzi has nice size, but quite cold water. It occupies the largest room, where space is unused. Only 2 showers, no water to drink, only tea outside the room where clean glasses disappeared within 10 minutes as well as clean towels. I think that SPA area needs a biggest renovation, to use the existing space, but to provide more comfort and more style.

generally we were very happy at the hotel and we'll be glad to come back again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank romantic9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Great location, very close to the lifts, spectacular view of the Dolomits right from the room window. Very good for families with children, especially those, who need a ski school. The staff is nice and friendly, and always willing to help. The rooms are spacious.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank anechka020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#37 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#44 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sella
Hotel Sella
#63 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alpino Plan
Hotel Alpino Plan
#70 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oswald
Hotel Oswald
#29 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alaska

Property: Hotel Alaska
Address: Strada Dantercepies 65, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alaska 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Hotel Selva
Hotel Alaska Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing