We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Tyrol - A great vacation spot!”
Review of Hotel Tyrol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tyrol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Absolutely amazing hospitality (owners are always on site), food , service and spa. A few minutes walk to the ski lift and very close to all the shopping. The meals were 5 star and the service was great in every way. Giuseppe was our server for the 8 days. Couldn't ask for better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 250 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just back from spending a week in Selva. This was my first visit both to Selva and to the Hotel Tyrol and a very happy experience it has been. The hotel is about 5 mins walk from the centre of the town but away from most of the traffic passing through. Both our rooms were extremely comfortable, one being in the main hotel and the other in the annexe, which was reached either by crossing the garden or by an underground passage past the swimming pool and sauna area. The rooms were kept spotless, to the extent that the bathroom was tidied up - i.e towels folded and put away by the maids while we were at dinner. The hotel also accommodated very efficiently my sister's request for food which did not contain onions or garlic. Here special thanks must go to our waiter Tomas who took great care each morning to go through the dinner menu explaining which dishes were or were not suitable. Thank you Tomas!! All in all a superb week - wonderful food and equally wonderful weather. I hope to return one day.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Ex-skiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our 4th visit to this wonderful hotel. The staff are really friendly and helpful throughout the hotel which feels more like home with lots of lovely decorations and pictures, particularly in the public rooms. The food is lovely with a wide choice and a splendid breakfast buffet.
The Spa facility is very welcome after a day's walking with a lovely swimming pool, whirlpools and various saunas and steam rooms all included plus massage facilities as an extra.
The hotel is convenient to the centre of the village but is set in a quiet spot just a little up the hill. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but views are restricted at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeoDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Excellent welcome by Reception staff and easy check in followed by offer of a drink of our choice. Lift to room 205 on first floor which was very clean with a large balcony. The space between the end of the bed and dressing table was a little cramped. However, it did not pose much of a problem. A bit on the dark side as the roof came out over the balcony and no sun could reach into the room. Very quiet as it was on the corner of the rear of the hotel and no-one was next to it there being storage cupboards alongside. Food was first class with 5 courses for dinner and served by very pleasant waiters whose English was not too bad. There were three evenings where the hotel offered pre-dinner aperitifs and canapés which were more than sufficient for an evening meal in themselves. The actual area was glorious and with a recent fall of snow - not known before at this time of year - the mountains looked superb. The town of Selva itself was very pleasant with a weekly market. Quite expensive shops but if you were on Bed and Breakfast a very good choice of restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to ask to change rooms if there is anything you do not like as the owner is more tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scooter402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I recently stayed here with family/friends for a week whilst skiing in Selva and the surrounding area. The hotel has everything you would expect from a top-quality alpine hotel (and I have stayed in a large number over the years!) - great spa, good location, lovely views, well maintained and comfortable bedrooms etc. All of this is done without fault. However, there are a couple of specific "highlights" I would like to mention.
1) Food - We eat out a lot. We have a wide experience of restaurants and fine dining. When eating half-board we expect good quality but did not anticipate the extrordinarily high standards at the Hotel Tyrol. The ingredients were of a fabulous quality and the chateaubriand was one of the best bits of beef I have ever had! Some in our group had particular dietary requirements/dislikes. This was never a problem and there was always a delicious range of alternatives available should the recommended menu not be to taste.
2) Service - I needed my skis servicing.... Not a problem... they sorted a local company to pick them up from the boot room and have them back with me for the following morning..... One of our party left their boots on the bus from the airpoirt...... Not a problem.... they contacted the bus company and the night porter went to the bus-stop in the village at 01:30 in the morning to collect them when the next bus was due to come through.
3) Generosity - Many hotels have a "gala dinner" and some include a free glass of wine or bubbly. Never have I been somewhere where they not only provide a great buffet of canapes and provide you with a glass of delicious prosecco, but they then continued to circulate with the bottle to keep everyone topped up. As a result, their takings on wine for the evening in the restaurant must have been significantly down - very generous. There were nibbles always on the bar. There are chocolates at reception. They gave one of our party (a 4 year old) a little toy dog as a present. A wonderful spirit of kindness and generosity.
4) Overall standards - Nothing is chipped. Nothing is worn. Nothing is flaky. Nothing is creased. The bathrooms are immaculate. Even the boot room ski lockers have "cutting edge" electronic locks that work from your room key-card. They clearly have an eye for detail and a zero-tolerance policy on anything less than the highest standards.
So..... overall - a lovely time. I could go on and on about various details - all good. This was our first visit but we will definitely be back... possibly even this summer!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor in the main hotel. Excellent. They have an annex next door to the main ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bourgeois_Hedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My partner & I stayed at the Tyrol in February 2013, and really loved it. The facilities are superb - we loved the outdoor hot tub amidst the snow, and we used the free health spa every day. The food was fantastic, and they catered well for one of us being vegetarian, with a special meal being worked out each day. The room was comfortable and the bathroom spacious and had bath and separate shower. Best of all was the hotel's generous spirit, there were lots of freebies (chocolates, glass of champagne, extra buffets of starters, soups or desserts). The skiing is just excellent, and the Tyrol's ski room is very cool (in the right sense!), and there's lots to do for non-skiers too, my partner was out every day snow shoeing, walking, exploring nearby villages etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 634Richardd634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Dinner started with a coctail party as it is their custom on Sundays. Although we were not residence of the hotel we were invited to join in the free canapies, sparking wine and othe drinks. Elaborate dinner served at the table by very friendly staff. Price at 40Euro was very low for the best meal we had in Italy on this trip, even better than the Michelin starred restaurant in Milan.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Imalivest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
6.3 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#6 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
464 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
520 reviews
6 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
572 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#2 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
536 reviews
6.8 mi away
Savoy Dolomites Luxury Spa Hotel
Savoy Dolomites Luxury Spa Hotel
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tyrol

Address: Strada Puez 12, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#5 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#10 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#10 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: $334 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Style: The Tyrol Hotel is an experience in itself The idyllic scene impresses. A life amidst the impressive surroundings of the Gardena Dolomites, the green pastures, the dazzling mountain lakes and shady forests at the foot of the Sella and Sassolungo ... all this is reflected in the nature of its inhabitants. It is this uniqueness that we would like to share with our guests. After its opening in1996 the Tyrol Hotel set new standards for the valley - in comfort, in aesthetics and in elegance. The hotel was built in the traditional Gardena style in which wood, being a natural and traditional building material and design element, plays a main role. The custom-made 50 rooms in elegant, cozy Gardena style were inspired by the fluctuations within the wonderful nature that surrounds us. Untreated wood becomes a design product. Elaborate floor plans, warm colors, luxurious fabrics are combined with modern, contemporary furnishings. The large windows and balconies bring the splendor of the landscape into the bright rooms. All this for your precious holiday. We want you to feel extremely comfortable at the Tyrol Hotel. Elegance, warmth, finesse in all rooms: elaborately decorated solid wood at the entrance, in the halls and lounges, precious stones and mosaics in the spa area, elegantly designed outdoor patios and surrounding grounds. Lots of space for body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tyrol Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing