We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Hotel Tyrol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tyrol
Certificate of Excellence
Logrono, Spain
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The owner family is one of the best assets of the hotel.
Hotel facilities are really good, large rooms, relaxing spa, nice cooking and friendly staff.
20 mts to the lifts (good to return back to the hotel; no so good when starting the day as you take the lift, walk, take another lift, walk and take the final chair lft).
Higly recommendable

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrgg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    19
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
95
75
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

a) perfect location, right in the village, practically ski in -sky out
b) great view on the most beautiful mountains on the planet
c) beautiful rooms, not massive but with everything you need
d) "at your service attitude"
e) TOP class SPA with swimming pool, sauna(s),steam baths
f) last but not least excellent restaurant. The dinner (included in the rate) was consinstently "Michelin guide" level (and indeed, the restaurant is listed there...)

All in all, great value for our money and great time there!

Room Tip: Get the ones with mountain view! A no-brainer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pisolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I was first introduced to the beauty of Val Gardena back in the late 60's when my Army ski club made ski trips to the area.I brought my twin daughters here when they were 8 and put them in the Selva Gardena ski school.Came back the following year and again their freshman year of college.My recent trip was the first leg of a Munich,Venice and Oberammergau 10 day trip and my first trip to this little piece of heaven when it wasn't covered in a blanket of snow.We chose the Hotel Tyrol because many years ago a local ski instructor told me the Tyrol had the best food in Selva.We made The Tyrol the first stop on our trip as they close in early October until the first week in December when the ski season begins.The hotel Tyrol didn't disappoint.The rooms were large,spotless with a balcony that offered fantastic views of this beautiful town.The food and service were impeccible with multi choice 5-6 course delicious dinners and more than adequte continental breakfasts as part of the half pension..I just can't rave enough about the quality,presentation and service the Tyrol staff offers it's guests.It's ashame Americans have never discovered this area both in winter and summer...as close as I'll get to paradise...a must visit!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiseoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This was an exceptional family run hotel in a delightful mountain village.
The bedrooms and public areas were tastefully decorated in the local style and spotless. The leisure facilities extensive comprising a large indoor pool, various steam rooms, saunas (Yes more than one of each) salt water jacussi and relaxation area all at no extra charge. The food was gourmet quality expertly served by staff who apparently had enjoyed long service with the hotel. The hotel was able to cater for a variety of dietry requirements including wheat free. My wife and I enjoyed our best ever holiday in this resort. We chose the resort for the hillwalking opportunities - all abilities catered for from valley walks to via ferrata. The hotel is a short uphill walk from the vilage centre.

Room Tip: We found north room ideal - morning and evening sun without heat of day South more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hillwalker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is a really lovely hotel, family run, superbly managed, and with delightful happy staff. The room was huge with lots of storage and a nice seating area to pour over the maps. The five course dinners were superb, and sometimes preceded by extra special starters. The breakfast buffet was wonderful and I would love to have the recipe for the fruit bread. The spa was great after a days walking, including free herbal teas, and a variety of saunas and hydrotherapy pools as well as a good sized pool. We felt so welcome that we shall certainly return. We met one couple from Milan who had been returning for 32 years. I'm not surprised!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maddox76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

There appear to be many fine hotels in Selva but the Hotel Tyrol must be among the best. The Tyrol has the advantage of not being on the busy main road which runs through Selva. Situated in a quiet road, a short but steep walk from the centre, the hotel does not suffer from traffic noise. We parked our car in the garage beneath the hotel and did not move it until we left!

We were we made wonderfully welcome and all the hotel staff did everything they could to make our stay memorable and enjoyable.

Our spotless room, on the shady side of the hotel, could not be faulted. Not only did the room have a huge and comfortable bed but there was also a lounge area and plenty of storage space. An ante-room led to the well-equipped and spacious bathroom with, among other things, bath, walk-in shower and bidet.

After a hard days walking we made good use of the almost-too-warm swimming pool and whirlpool.

We were extremely impressed by the food. Not only was an extensive buffet breakfast available but we were also offered a hot breakfast, cooked to order. The evening meals were no less impressive. Twice during our stay the meal was preceded by drinks and canapés. Most days we were asked to choose our evening meal at breakfast. With the salad bar and often five courses, the evening meals were invariably perfectly cooked, served and presented. Eating too much was a real problem!

Val Gardena offers a pass for use on the cable cars, funiculars, chairlifts and buses. Sold at the tourist office, our initial reaction was that €76 was expensive for 6 days. However, the bus pass is valid for 7 days and covers the whole of the Alto Adige region. Trips to Bolzano and Bressanone are possible. We did not regret buying the pass. We discovered that alighting from the bus at Ciampinoi Gondola lift instead of the village centre, gave us a short, level walk to the hotel. Skiers would no doubt appreciate that the Nives drag-lift, giving access to the whole system, is about 50 yards from the hotel.

We plan to return.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scarecrow04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We moved to Italy in January 2011 and we are still learning our new surroundings. This trip to the Alps was a first ski trip for my wife and kids so it was important to me (an avid skier) that it went well. A friend from Maserati recommended Val Gardena and we found the Hotel Tyrol highly recommended by others on Trip Advisor. We agree. Book now and enjoy your trip. One note - nearest lift is a beginner hill with a Poma lift. So the hill itself could use an upgrade but hotel, breakfast, dinner and pool were perfect!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rpdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
6.3 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#2 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
6.0 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tyrol

Property: Hotel Tyrol
Address: Strada Puez 12, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#6 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#10 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#10 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tyrol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Style: The Tyrol Hotel is an experience in itself The idyllic scene impresses. A life amidst the impressive surroundings of the Gardena Dolomites, the green pastures, the dazzling mountain lakes and shady forests at the foot of the Sella and Sassolungo ... all this is reflected in the nature of its inhabitants. It is this uniqueness that we would like to share with our guests. After its opening in1996 the Tyrol Hotel set new standards for the valley - in comfort, in aesthetics and in elegance. The hotel was built in the traditional Gardena style in which wood, being a natural and traditional building material and design element, plays a main role. The custom-made 50 rooms in elegant, cozy Gardena style were inspired by the fluctuations within the wonderful nature that surrounds us. Untreated wood becomes a design product. Elaborate floor plans, warm colors, luxurious fabrics are combined with modern, contemporary furnishings. The large windows and balconies bring the splendor of the landscape into the bright rooms. All this for your precious holiday. We want you to feel extremely comfortable at the Tyrol Hotel. Elegance, warmth, finesse in all rooms: elaborately decorated solid wood at the entrance, in the halls and lounges, precious stones and mosaics in the spa area, elegantly designed outdoor patios and surrounding grounds. Lots of space for body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tyrol Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing