We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, lovely owners and staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Serena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Serena
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, lovely owners and staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Assunta and Mario welcomed us back from the moment we arrived at the hotel. They, and their staff, again ensured we had a lovely stay and went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable in every way. The hotel itself is outstanding with impeccable service and they cannot do enough to make sure you are enjoying your holiday. Selva itself is an excellent ski destination. We are intermediate skiiers and enjoy the variety of runs available. No matter how far you ski there are always more runs, and ski lifts as far as the eye can see. At the end of the day to be able to ski right back to the hotel is a big bonus. This was our fourth time staying at Hotel Serena and we will certainly be returning next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    48
    12
    10
    4
See reviews for
72
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a charming, quaint family run establishment with meticulous attention to the satisfaction of its guests.

Mario and the team always make you feel very welcome and go that extra mile to ensure that you're happy.

The hotel is well equipped with fabulous spa facilities and heated boot rack ensuring no damp boots for following day.

The meal on an evening has a slightly closed window in terms of seating times (7 till 7:30) but this is to ensure that the extravaganza of the presentation of the food is enjoyed by all.

The food is a taste sensation and is wholesome. Not petite portions and four courses....

The rooms are very clean and comfortable.

The only thing I'd change is baring any children under 14 years of age from the spa. Can't relax with screaming kids sadly and the don't take notice of the "science please" signs....

Other than that, faultless!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Honestjohnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

An excellent time was had at the Serena. It is an intimate family run hotel which is really comfortable and welcoming to all.
Food is excellent with plenty to eat all the time to never be hungry.
The owner was up at 6am to ensure we had a light breakfast on our departure
Evening meal sittings are a little rigid, between 7 and 7:30 is best, but having said that we enjoyed it as everyone has just about finished mains at the same time to enjoy the spectacle of sweets being served. You also have the same table for your stay so strike up conversation with your neighbouring table. It works well.
Good ski locker with boot warmers and on slope access
We will definitely be back

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CMLDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Serena is an extremely friendly family run hotel. The staff, led by Mario and Assunta, could not have been more friendly and helpful. For a three star hotel the food was excellent, with a good variety provided every night; the buffet (both hot & cold) in particular was of a much higher standard than you could reasonably expect in a hotel of this class. My gluten free diet was well catered for, with Mario in particular checking that I was OK, and getting special options prepared for me. Congratulations to chef Valentino and his team for a great job.

All of the rooms have a view towards the mountains on one side or the other. Ours (326) looked across the town to the mountains opposite - from choice I would select a view looking to the other side, but either is fine. Our double room was a reasonable size, with enough storage for a skiing holiday. It was comfortable and warm enough, without being too hot. It also had a good size balcony.

The ski locker & boot room downstairs was excellent, with heated boot racks to dry out your boots and ensure that they were nice and warm to put on in the morning.

This is a hotel that we would not hesitate to return to.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swarf_the_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Our room was too small for three adults but more a fault with our holiday operator rather then the hotel itself. Our welcome was huge, our flight was delayed yet they saved our evening meal for us. Food was excellent, room warm, perfect location. Great. I would stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Hotel Serena hugs the side of the piste and the Apine charm of the exterior is carried through the reception, bar and dining areas. The staff are very welcoming and effortlessly put you at ease. (Mario whose lovely wife owns the hotel even got up at 3.30 in the morning to ensure guests left with a hot drink inside them on departure).

The room was spotlessly clean and spacious-though the wi-fi offered in the bar doesnt reach the rooms. Another small niggle was that as I am 6' 3" tall, the bed was too short! Did not detract from what was good value accommodation. The food was plentiful and to a high standard with different options each night. There has been some whinging on here from vegetarians about the lack of choice (though the first course offered at least 20 hot and cold vegetable and salad buffet options each night). I would recommend that if you have a specialist diet you check with the hotels as most ski resorts' menus tend to be very meat biased. Dinner was made all the more enjoyable by the staff, Val (who is VERY funny) and Angela, and the fact that a very good local Sauvignon Blanc was priced at only 20 euros. There is also a heated boot room and a hot tub and sauna in the basement.

A quiet location though only a few 100 metres from the bars and shops, I can't recommend Hotel Serena highly enough.

Room Tip: Its all good! There are rooms that faced the piste, but as we didnt spend that much time in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stejaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from great week in Serena. Hotel is ideally located next to main slopes literally 2 lifts from cable cars. Super food and extremely friendly staff. Hotel is warm and welcoming and cleaned to an exceptionally high standard. Only small criticism was lack of wifi in rooms but then again whole resort seemed to suffer from lack of good wifi. Would recommend and return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Gegster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#23 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Giardin Boutique B&B
Giardin Boutique B&B
#12 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armin
Hotel Armin
#26 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Linder
Hotel Linder
#34 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#33 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Freina
Hotel Freina
#24 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serena

Property: Hotel Serena
Address: Strada Puez 22, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#23 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#28 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#38 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Serena 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Serena Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing