We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!!”
Review of Hotel Rodella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rodella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a small friendly hotel where nothing is too much trouble for the owner George and his staff. The food is excellent especially the breakfast buffet and the starter salad buffet at dinner is very varied and caters for all tastes. This is our fourth visit and we are always welcomed like old friends. The rooms are clean and comfortable with fabulous views. Highly recommended!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 201 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had stayed in Selva Gardena before at another location but this stay at the Rodella was fantastic. The Planker family has done a great job in making this a welcoming, comfortable and enjoyable retreat. It is amazing how they make you feel special to be there and the food was very good.
I would come back and stay without any hesitation. The biggest question would be how many extra days can we squeeze into our vacation!
Kevin and Kim C.
Tulsa, Oklahoma

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at the Rodella, and the 6th time for my husband. We brought 2 couples with us this time to share the experience. The experience began when we stepped out of the car. We were late for dinner, but the staff came out to the car to help carry our luggage. The attention never let up. We love the smaller environment and everyone at the hotel knowing our names and what we were doing. The boys all rode bikes and George's father (owner's of the hotel) walked thru all the maps with them and gave his suggestions. In the meantime, the girls hiked, so George and Andrea gave us hiking suggestions. Every evening we were greeted with smiles and lots of attention.
We loved the food, especially not having to think about it. To have a great breakfast and a wonderful 4 course dinner every night is crucial when you are expending many calories on exercise each day.
I would return in a heartbeat. Thanks to George and his wonderful family for a great place to stay.

Room Tip: They will combine rooms if you have a large family!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAURA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We recently returned from two weeks walking in Selva, staying at the Rodella.
The hotel was outstandingly clean, the four course dinner superb and the breakfast excellent especially considering our need for a substantial meal before a full days walking. The staff are really friendly and extremely helpful. Located between St Cristina and Selva and on two bus routes it made a brilliant base for some world class walking. Both my wife and I cannot recommend it highly enough. This being our fifth holiday in the Alps/Dolomites.
S Taylor

Room Tip: Very quiet location with lovely views from all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just back from a fantastic week at Hotel Rodella.
It was an excellent holiday in every way, all the reviews are absolutely correct - George & his team work hard to ensure you will not go away 'wanting'!
The food was first class as was the service, the variety of the salad bar buffet was superb with something for everyone and the starters & main courses were delicious - not to mention the desserts! I would definitely rate the quality of the restaurant higher than 3star.
Monika deserves a special mention for the way she looked after us in the dining room even arriving at 5am on our last day to make sure we had breakfast before we left for our early flight home.
If you're going soon and want to know what the weather will be go to www.provinz.bz.it/wetter (click the English flag to translate)
This is the site used by the hotel and is very accurate. Wish we'd known about it beforehand.
We looked at the forecast for Selva on several sites before we went and got very downhearted but luckily put one pair of shorts in each and ended up wearing them for the whole week!
It was hot & sunny every day although on the rep's advice we never went out without a waterproof jacket in our rucksacks - luckily we never needed them.
The scenery is breathtaking and even if you're not a great walker there are so many chair-lifts & cable-cars that I'm sure it's possible to see it all without too much effort.
A truly beautiful place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a very welcome 3 week break at The Hotel Rodella in Selva, Italy, via Inghams. It was brilliant! The situation is stunning, the staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was out of this world. The main reason for going to Selva in the summer is the walking and this is outstanding at any grade. The staff were knowledgeable and went out of their way to suggest walks, check with contacts as to the condition of the routes (the higher routes still had a lot of snow) and generally ensured that everyone got the best out of their holiday. The friendliness of the staff rubbed off on the guests and everyone became friends. Inghams were efficient and Sara, the rep, was hard working, helpful and knowledgeable. Altogether probably the best holiday we could have wished for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Recently returned from a seven day twin centre holiday with Inghams with three days spent at the Rodella Hotel in Selva di val Gardena. The Rodella is situated in a quiet location with stunning views of the mountains and of the town of Selva which is a pleasant fifteen minute walk away. The owner George and his family and staff were outstanding from the minute we arrived and were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious comfortable and very clean. During the superb four course evening meal all the guests chatted and laughed together which says everything about the atmosphere at this hotel.
Thank you again George for a fantastic visit, we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jagerheim
Hotel Jagerheim
#12 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pra Tlusel
Hotel Pra Tlusel
#58 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kristiania Small Dolomites Hotel
Kristiania Small Dolomites Hotel
#44 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Romantic & Family Hotel Gardenia
Romantic & Family Hotel Gardenia
#19 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Welponer
Hotel Welponer
#18 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fanes
Hotel Fanes
#13 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rodella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rodella

Address: Stradella la Poza 75, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#26 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#29 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: $217 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rodella 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family run hotel in perfect position - panoramic and very close to ski slopes and lifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rodella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rodella Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing