We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great food”
Review of Hotel Rodella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rodella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Have just returned from a weeks skiing in the Dolomites, chose the Rodella as it had good reviews and was a small family run hotel.Usually we like to be closer to the slopes but we had no need to worry as the transfer provided by the hotel minibus was perfect and in fact was a lot easier than having to walk to a hotel after a days skiing. The food in the hotel is excellent,I especially loved the salad buffet every night but make sure you leave enough space for the other courses as everything is good, the breakfast buffet also has plenty to chose from. As everyone has said George and the rest of the family are all friendly and helpful, they really do go the extra mile to make sure your stay is perfect. The rooms are comfortable with plenty space and spotlessly clean as is the rest of the hotel. The Spa facilities were also great after a day on the slopes. We highly recommend a stay here and will return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alta-Monza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 201 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed in Rodella for a week in the end of January - beginning of February 2012. We would like to say a very big thank you to George and his parents for the wonderful time we had in Selva! Excellent room, excellent food, wonderful spa area and unique people made our holiday unforgettable! The hotel is very conveniently located for both downhill and cross-country skiing. A shuttle bus takes you to the slopes and back - according to the schedule, several times in the morning (around 8:30-10:00 am) and several times in the afternoon (around 4:00-5:30 pm). The center of Selva is around 15-20 minutes walk, and the center of St. Christina - around 7-10 minutes. We can say for sure that we will return to Rodella as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GiuliaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We recently stayed at the Rodella as a base for a weeks skiing in the Dolomites, the hotel is about what you would expect from a 3* + establishment with one major exception - the owner. George Planker could not have been more helpful, he was always on hand to serve, to advise, to chat etc and his knowledge of the area and it's runs and eateries served as a fantastic reliable guide. George's family, from mum and dad to sons and daughter were an unintrusive ever present and always ready with a smile. the hotel is slightly remote but well served by ski bus stops right outside and more usefully a morning and afternoon free hotel shuttle to Selva's lifts. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and ours (8) had exceptional views of the mountains. Food was good and plentiful and the Thursday evenings Tyrolean night was a blast. We would recommend this hotel and we ourselves will be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We recently returned from a week's skiing holiday. We chose the Rodella as it was virtually the only hotel in Selva prepared to offer us single room occupancy even in a low season week, (brothers in middle-age are past sharing if we don't have to!). The rooms are bright, clean, well kitted out and cosy with good en-suite facilities. The restaurant is cheerful and the food plentiful with a good choice of evening meals. What really makes this hotel is the service and staff however. George and his family run it almost as a family home treating everyone as "guests" rather than "customers"! Everyone has a smile on their face and a kind word and nothing is too much trouble. Any minor request is met with enthusiasm which is such a refreshing change in this world of corporate anonymity! The bar/reception area is small, but cosy, with a well stocked bar (a good place to get to know your grappas!). While the hotel location is a little isolated, mid-way between Selva and Santa Christina, they run a regular minibus service to the lift base-stations or wherever you want to go! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barnesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We spent Xmas 2011 at the Hotel Rodella , we were a large group from 4 years old to 64 years old. We could not have had a better place to stay! The Planker family are so warm and friendly and helpful and they made our time in Selva very special. The hotel was exceptionally comfortable and clean and the food was without a doubt the best I have experienced on a skiing holiday! The buffet breakfast and the 4 course evening meal were the perfect start and end to a day on the slopes! Overall outstanding....I want to go back now!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Rodella for five nights in early October and would definitely stay there again. The best part about the hotel is the lovely Planker family and the hotel staff. They are warm, welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Each day they gave us local hiking, sightseeing and dining tips. They lent me a jacket, as they had an unseasonably early snow storm while we were there.

The location is excellent. During the winter, it's a skiier's mecca - great for hiking in the summer and autumn. The hotel itself is very nice, clean and well kept up. We stayed in room 12, which was spacious with a lovely view. The beds were really comfortable and the bathroom nice.

We had dinner at the hotel each night and the food was good. There was a meat and vegetarian choice each night, so it was easy to get some variety and eat lighter when we wanted to.

Great place to stay in the Selva Val Gardena area.

Room Tip: Room 12 was great. Rooms on the back side (8 and 9) had beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed as part of a two centre package and found ourselves wishing we had stayed longer at the Rodella. The views of the Sella Group from our balcony, breakfast/dinner table and garden were absolutely stunning, with the ever changing light and clouds. The room was spacious, had everything we could want and used the natural wood decoration in evidence in the bar and dining areas, providing a modern yet, at the same time, traditional feel.

The meals were excellent. We quickly learnt to limit what we had from the extensive starter buffet so that we could fully enjoy the remaining three courses at dinner. Breakfast provided plenty of choice and ample scope to avoid the need for anything substantial at lunch.

All the family running the hotel and their staff were welcoming, helpful, and able to effortlessly change between whatever language was necessary talk to and joke with the guests. A particular example of their helpfulness was when we rather over-stretched ourselves on a walk in the mountains and, having realised we were unlikely to make it back in time for dinner, phoned George to tell him this. His response was to arrange for his father to collect us in the hotel mini-bus from as close as he could get to where we were. This not only saved us a long and, what for some of us would have been a painful, walk back down the valley in the rain but also got us to dinner at a time and in a state where we could enjoy it.

In terms of the area, Val Gardena provides an excellent location to either get out into the mountains and walk or simply enjoy them without the effort. The Dolomites manage to combine the rugged beauty of the Canadian Rockies with the accessibility of the Swiss Alps. We found the Val Gardena Card to be very good value. It allowed us to make use of all the major lifts in the valley and the frequent and convenient buses in the valley and down as far as Bolzano at no further cost.

Room Tip: The views of the Sella Group or Sassolungo are great from, so go for rooms that give these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IdrisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fanes
Hotel Fanes
#14 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantic & Family Hotel Gardenia
Romantic & Family Hotel Gardenia
#19 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Garni Hotel Concordia
Garni Hotel Concordia
#59 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kristiania Small Dolomites Hotel
Kristiania Small Dolomites Hotel
#47 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
93 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Meisules
Hotel Meisules
#32 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
169 reviews
1.3 mi away
Giardin Boutique B&B
Giardin Boutique B&B
#28 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rodella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rodella

Address: Stradella la Poza 75, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#26 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#28 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: $214 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rodella 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family run hotel in perfect position - panoramic and very close to ski slopes and lifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rodella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rodella Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing