We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Rodella
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Romantic & Family Hotel Gardenia(Selva di Val Gardena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ArtHotel Anterleghes(Selva di Val Gardena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel(Selva di Val Gardena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pra Tlusel(Selva di Val Gardena)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Kristiania Small Dolomites Hotel(Selva di Val Gardena)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jagerheim(Selva di Val Gardena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Chalet Dlaces(Selva di Val Gardena)
View Hotel
Villa Martha - Adults only Hotel(Santa Cristina Valgardena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Montanina(Selva di Val Gardena)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hotel Belaval(Selva di Val Gardena)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
159
39
2
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
39
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms were very clean and comfortablewalking routesno liftminibus servicebreakfast buffetmain coursefabulous locationtravelled with inghamssun terracefamily run hotelwelcoming hotelskiing holidayski busfantastic weekviews of the mountainsevery eveningexcellent food
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 205 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We recently stayed at the Rodella as a base for a weeks skiing in the Dolomites, the hotel is about what you would expect from a 3* + establishment with one major exception - the owner. George Planker could not have been more helpful, he was always on hand to serve, to advise, to chat etc and his knowledge of the area and it's runs and eateries served as a fantastic reliable guide. George's family, from mum and dad to sons and daughter were an unintrusive ever present and always ready with a smile. the hotel is slightly remote but well served by ski bus stops right outside and more usefully a morning and afternoon free hotel shuttle to Selva's lifts. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and ours (8) had exceptional views of the mountains. Food was good and plentiful and the Thursday evenings Tyrolean night was a blast. We would recommend this hotel and we ourselves will be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We recently returned from a week's skiing holiday. We chose the Rodella as it was virtually the only hotel in Selva prepared to offer us single room occupancy even in a low season week, (brothers in middle-age are past sharing if we don't have to!). The rooms are bright, clean, well kitted out and cosy with good en-suite facilities. The restaurant is cheerful and the food plentiful with a good choice of evening meals. What really makes this hotel is the service and staff however. George and his family run it almost as a family home treating everyone as "guests" rather than "customers"! Everyone has a smile on their face and a kind word and nothing is too much trouble. Any minor request is met with enthusiasm which is such a refreshing change in this world of corporate anonymity! The bar/reception area is small, but cosy, with a well stocked bar (a good place to get to know your grappas!). While the hotel location is a little isolated, mid-way between Selva and Santa Christina, they run a regular minibus service to the lift base-stations or wherever you want to go! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barnesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We spent Xmas 2011 at the Hotel Rodella , we were a large group from 4 years old to 64 years old. We could not have had a better place to stay! The Planker family are so warm and friendly and helpful and they made our time in Selva very special. The hotel was exceptionally comfortable and clean and the food was without a doubt the best I have experienced on a skiing holiday! The buffet breakfast and the 4 course evening meal were the perfect start and end to a day on the slopes! Overall outstanding....I want to go back now!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Rodella for five nights in early October and would definitely stay there again. The best part about the hotel is the lovely Planker family and the hotel staff. They are warm, welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Each day they gave us local hiking, sightseeing and dining tips. They lent me a jacket, as they had an unseasonably early snow storm while we were there.

The location is excellent. During the winter, it's a skiier's mecca - great for hiking in the summer and autumn. The hotel itself is very nice, clean and well kept up. We stayed in room 12, which was spacious with a lovely view. The beds were really comfortable and the bathroom nice.

We had dinner at the hotel each night and the food was good. There was a meat and vegetarian choice each night, so it was easy to get some variety and eat lighter when we wanted to.

Great place to stay in the Selva Val Gardena area.

Room Tip: Room 12 was great. Rooms on the back side (8 and 9) had beautiful views.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed as part of a two centre package and found ourselves wishing we had stayed longer at the Rodella. The views of the Sella Group from our balcony, breakfast/dinner table and garden were absolutely stunning, with the ever changing light and clouds. The room was spacious, had everything we could want and used the natural wood decoration in evidence in the bar and dining areas, providing a modern yet, at the same time, traditional feel.

The meals were excellent. We quickly learnt to limit what we had from the extensive starter buffet so that we could fully enjoy the remaining three courses at dinner. Breakfast provided plenty of choice and ample scope to avoid the need for anything substantial at lunch.

All the family running the hotel and their staff were welcoming, helpful, and able to effortlessly change between whatever language was necessary talk to and joke with the guests. A particular example of their helpfulness was when we rather over-stretched ourselves on a walk in the mountains and, having realised we were unlikely to make it back in time for dinner, phoned George to tell him this. His response was to arrange for his father to collect us in the hotel mini-bus from as close as he could get to where we were. This not only saved us a long and, what for some of us would have been a painful, walk back down the valley in the rain but also got us to dinner at a time and in a state where we could enjoy it.

In terms of the area, Val Gardena provides an excellent location to either get out into the mountains and walk or simply enjoy them without the effort. The Dolomites manage to combine the rugged beauty of the Canadian Rockies with the accessibility of the Swiss Alps. We found the Val Gardena Card to be very good value. It allowed us to make use of all the major lifts in the valley and the frequent and convenient buses in the valley and down as far as Bolzano at no further cost.

Room Tip: The views of the Sella Group or Sassolungo are great from, so go for rooms that give these.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IdrisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews