We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay in the Dolomites”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rodella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rodella
Certificate of Excellence
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in the Dolomites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Rodella for five nights in early October and would definitely stay there again. The best part about the hotel is the lovely Planker family and the hotel staff. They are warm, welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Each day they gave us local hiking, sightseeing and dining tips. They lent me a jacket, as they had an unseasonably early snow storm while we were there.

The location is excellent. During the winter, it's a skiier's mecca - great for hiking in the summer and autumn. The hotel itself is very nice, clean and well kept up. We stayed in room 12, which was spacious with a lovely view. The beds were really comfortable and the bathroom nice.

We had dinner at the hotel each night and the food was good. There was a meat and vegetarian choice each night, so it was easy to get some variety and eat lighter when we wanted to.

Great place to stay in the Selva Val Gardena area.

Room Tip: Room 12 was great. Rooms on the back side (8 and 9) had beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    37
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
55
75
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed as part of a two centre package and found ourselves wishing we had stayed longer at the Rodella. The views of the Sella Group from our balcony, breakfast/dinner table and garden were absolutely stunning, with the ever changing light and clouds. The room was spacious, had everything we could want and used the natural wood decoration in evidence in the bar and dining areas, providing a modern yet, at the same time, traditional feel.

The meals were excellent. We quickly learnt to limit what we had from the extensive starter buffet so that we could fully enjoy the remaining three courses at dinner. Breakfast provided plenty of choice and ample scope to avoid the need for anything substantial at lunch.

All the family running the hotel and their staff were welcoming, helpful, and able to effortlessly change between whatever language was necessary talk to and joke with the guests. A particular example of their helpfulness was when we rather over-stretched ourselves on a walk in the mountains and, having realised we were unlikely to make it back in time for dinner, phoned George to tell him this. His response was to arrange for his father to collect us in the hotel mini-bus from as close as he could get to where we were. This not only saved us a long and, what for some of us would have been a painful, walk back down the valley in the rain but also got us to dinner at a time and in a state where we could enjoy it.

In terms of the area, Val Gardena provides an excellent location to either get out into the mountains and walk or simply enjoy them without the effort. The Dolomites manage to combine the rugged beauty of the Canadian Rockies with the accessibility of the Swiss Alps. We found the Val Gardena Card to be very good value. It allowed us to make use of all the major lifts in the valley and the frequent and convenient buses in the valley and down as far as Bolzano at no further cost.

Room Tip: The views of the Sella Group or Sassolungo are great from, so go for rooms that give these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IdrisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
132 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

This friendly hotel is in a quiet location, slightly out of town near to the Col Raiser lift.
The family are friendly and welcoming, providing advice and help if you need any.

There is plenty to do in the day, just a short walk from the hotel is the bus to Selva or down the valley to the other villages, where there is an extensive network of lifts and cable cars or you can set off on foot along the old railway track just as easily.

At the end of the day there's a "wellness centre" providing a great way to relax and unwind before dinner. Food was of an excellent standard with a choice of starters, mains & dessert...after the well stocked salad bar! A good range of wines are available, some from their own vineyard. Many people are regular visitors and are treated like part of the family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damselflyspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

The rooms are tight but are clean and ours was quiet. The evening meal was generally pretty good, the breakfast buffet is pretty disappointing - dry muesli, no bircher, nothing warm, very variable coffee quality.

Unless the whole valley is covered in snow you cannot ski-in/out. You certainly couldn't when we were there and waiting for the shuttle bus in the morning sometimes takes 30 minutes if you just miss one. There is one lift about 5 mins drive away where you can park, the rest are in the town.

George is a very friendly manager but was a bit dishonest with us. We specifically requested a twin room with 2 beds and only confirmed our booking when we got e-mail confirmation of this. When we arrived we had one double bed with two quilts. I complained to George and asked for another room. he just said 'No, we don't have any' and didn't even apologise. It was too late for us to move then so we had to live with it.

In my opinion it was not a mistake, it was dishonest.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank QQuietroomfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed at the hotel in mid June 2011 and have visited it twice before, each time at about the same time of year. We’ve always found it to be excellent service and very friendly.

The location is ideal for anyone who wants to use the ski lifts and cable cars to allow easy access to the higher slopes of the surrounding mountains, for longer walks and to enjoy the view without necessarily exerting themselves by walking all the way to the top of the lift stations. We’d recommend the Gardena cards if you are staying for the week, which give unlimited use of both the lifts/gondolas and the local buses to allow you to move between different villages and towns in the valley. It’s worth checking before you book as to when the lifts open – it’s mid June but obviously arriving a week too early will restrict those available to you.

As noted by some of the other reviewers, if you choose an operator who uses Verona, the transfer from Verona airport is fairly long – between 2 and 3.5 hours depending on the traffic, so be prepared for that after you’ve done the flight.

Selva itself is a fairly small town but there are a couple of supermarkets which are big enough to allow you to buy provisions for the day if you are intending to do all day walks. The hotel itself is about a 10-15 minute walk away from the main town, but if you are a walker then this is unlikely to present any difficulties for you.

The Hotel Rodella has always provided great service, with helpful friendly staff, nicely decorated rooms and excellent meals – a wide range breakfast options to get you started for a days walking and an equally substantial quality three course dinner in the evening, once you’ve been out all day.

There’s also a sun terrace with loungers and an awesome view of the mountains for sunny days, and a health spa (Wellness Centre) in the basement of the hotel. This is open in the late afternoon, through to the early evening and includes a hot tub and three saunas (at different temperatures), which you can use to ease your aching muscles at the end of a days walking.

For context, we were an extended family party ranging in age from about a year, through mid forties and up to late seventies.

Overall thoroughly recommended and we expect to be going back there next year.

Room Tip: Buy a Gardena Card if you intend to use the lifts/Gondolas and buses most days of the week
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank edandsarahengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N E Lincs
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed here with friends, having booked the hotel through Inghams. If we come back to Selva we would certainly want to stay again and would consider booking directly with the owners.
Our welcome was great. All the family were very friendly. We would have to single out Andreas as being particularly helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and he always had a smile on his face!
The food was excellent. Dinner consisted of four courses and was always perfectly cooked and quite delicious. Vegetarians were well catered for here.
Our room (no 7) was very pleasant. We did have a bath as well as the shower and the view from the balcony was stunning.
If there is a drawback it is that the hotel is 1k out of Selva but hey we're walkers so we shouldn't grumble about that! Transport options right to the hotel didn't always work for us but it was barely a 10 minute walk to the road where a main bus route out of Selva operated.
We had one Italian evening during our two week stay and that was particularly enjoyable with wonderful food and live music.
Overall it was a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NElincsrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

transfer is too long at 2.5 to 3hours from verona and owners will do own transfer from innsbruck for parties of 4 plus.
it is a family run hotel and you are made very welcome by all ,especially george,who has so much info about the region.
the roads are full of hair pins so if you are not a good traveller i would avoid some of the longer day trips ie cortina and 5 towers. we found 1st world war trenches tour was not as good as advertised and lacked detailed info.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jagerheim
Hotel Jagerheim
#25 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Armin
Hotel Armin
#26 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Linder
Hotel Linder
#34 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Romantic & Family Hotel Gardenia
Romantic & Family Hotel Gardenia
#18 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fanes
Hotel Fanes
#15 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Giardin Boutique B&B
Giardin Boutique B&B
#12 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rodella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rodella

Property: Hotel Rodella
Address: Stradella la Poza 75, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#26 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#32 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rodella 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family run hotel in perfect position - panoramic and very close to ski slopes and lifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rodella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rodella Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing