We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
182
77
11
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
77
11
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent hotel heated towel rack free minibus walking holiday half board plenty of wardrobe space ski room views of the mountains salad buffet course dinner packed lunch ski bus single room local buses ski holiday shuttle service boot warmers
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 277 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We have just returned from a week's skiing in Selva and the Hotel Oswald really contributed to making it a fantastic week.

It's beautifully decorated inside in quite a traditional style and the rooms are spotless and well looked after. I think it has been renovated in recent years. Our room had a shower rather than a bath but there is a very nice wellness area where you can go to rest your tired legs in the jacuzzi or sauna. They also have resident masseurs - I had an excellent massage one evening and the staff were very professional.

However, the main thing to say about this hotel is the quality of the food - it is much better than you would expect from a skiing type if holiday. Dinner is quite a formal 4 course affair which includes a pasta course each evening. The service and presentation both involved real attention to detail and they also really took the trouble to look after my brother who has coeliac disease. One evening they had a beautiful dessert buffet - we had the best tiramisu I've ever had. They even gave us a free bottle of prosecco on my Mum's birthday.

Overall, I was very impressed and cannot really think of a bad thing to say about this hotel.

The food is exce

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Really enjoyed our weeks walking holiday in July, the hotel is enrolled in the selva active program which means guided walks, mountain bike tours and yoga classes were all free and were very good. Our room was beautiful - comfortable king size bed, full settee and large flat screen TV. The double basin in the bathroom was a welcome bonus too. The evening meals here were lovely with a wide selection of 4/5 courses every night. The staff were also really friendly and their english was good.
The hotel is well placed in the centre of town and 5 minute (uphill) walk to the main champinoi lift. Would definately come back again
My one niggle was the breakfasts, although adequate the quality really didn't match the evening meal

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emskilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I didn't stay at this hotel by seven of my holiday companions did, and I joined them for the 4 course dinner each evening (which they got as part of their half board arrangement).

When you think of half board, you tend to think of uninspiring food but the choice here is very good and changes every day. I would thoroughly recommend it. The serving staff are also very good - and fun.

If you're staying at the hotel, I suggest you get a room at the back as it's noisy mornings and evenings.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nickswlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2009

Hotel Oswald is a good hotel with nice decor and location. Rooms are spasious and very clean. The food in the restaurant is delicious, so HalfBoard is a good choise. Oswald is offering all that you expect from one good SKI trip, and even more. One remark: we felt like we were missing a swiming pool....

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We made a last-minute booking through the excellent Val Gardena website (www.valgardena.it), which provides up-to-date information on hotel availability. The hotel was first-rate. Our rooms were well-appointed. The Junior Suite Ciampinoi was spacious with two basins, a shower AND a bath, and an additional, separate WC. The single room for our daughter was also well-appointed, but quite small. The food was outstanding. At dinner there were always at least four courses, plus a salad buffet that changed each night. A vegetarian would not go hungry, but often there was not a vegetarian option in the menu. Breakfasts were good, with the best scrambled eggs we have had in a hotel breakfast buffet. There was always a choice of cakes, as well as breads, croissants, etc. plus a breakfast wine. Coffee was good, but the fruit juices were not. Service was very efficient, from the initial booking to the check out. Very good housekeeping. Friendly and competent waiters, who knew about the local wines (good list reasonably-priced, with the Endrizzi Lagrein and Cornell Lagrein both delicious). If there was something you didn't like on the menu, they were very accommodating about finding you an alternative.
There was a hotel shuttle to take you the ski-lift of your choice in the mornings, and the hotel was also right at the ski-bus. Not too far to walk to the main Ciampinoi lift, either.
The "wellness" centre was pleasant after a day on the slopes. It had a sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, relaxing room with ambient music, etc. Massage and beauty treatments were also available. Unlike some other big hotels in the area, there was no swimming pool.
Of course, the main winter attraction of Val Gardena is skiing, and we were very lucky with the weather - lots of fresh snow, sunshine, and cold. We weren't so lucky with the ski-rental shop recommended by the hotel, Dolomiti Adventures. The equipment we hired was of poor quality - the boots were so poor that after changing them, we decided we had to buy our daughter new boots (from another shop). They also failed to fit the new boots into the skis properly, which meant that they were hard to control. We didn't realise what the problem was until we took them to another ski rental shop to be checked. This failure may reflect slackness or general lack of care, but the standard of equipment suggests a deeper problem. Anyway, we would recommend that skiers wishing to rent go elsewhere.
Overall, we thought that we got excellent value for money at this hotel - and last week, we could take advantage of the "Supersun" deal, which offered 7 days for the price of 6, which extended to lift passes and ski rental.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Brian_de_Kilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews