We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Linder(Selva di Val Gardena)
$154
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$258
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Miravalle(Selva di Val Gardena)
$177
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$372
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Antares(Selva di Val Gardena)(Great Value!)
$133
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Cir(Selva di Val Gardena)
$418
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Acadia(Selva di Val Gardena)
$114
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ArtHotel Anterleghes(Selva di Val Gardena)
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tyrol(Selva di Val Gardena)
$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garni Kostner(Selva di Val Gardena)(Great Value!)
$86
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
178
75
11
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
75
11
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent hotellast minute dealheated towel rackfree minibuswalking holidayski triphalf boardplenty of wardrobe spacehotel shuttleski roompublic areasviews of the mountainssalad buffetcourse dinnerpacked lunchski buswaiting staff
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 271 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2009

Hotel Oswald is a good hotel with nice decor and location. Rooms are spasious and very clean. The food in the restaurant is delicious, so HalfBoard is a good choise. Oswald is offering all that you expect from one good SKI trip, and even more. One remark: we felt like we were missing a swiming pool....

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We made a last-minute booking through the excellent Val Gardena website (www.valgardena.it), which provides up-to-date information on hotel availability. The hotel was first-rate. Our rooms were well-appointed. The Junior Suite Ciampinoi was spacious with two basins, a shower AND a bath, and an additional, separate WC. The single room for our daughter was also well-appointed, but quite small. The food was outstanding. At dinner there were always at least four courses, plus a salad buffet that changed each night. A vegetarian would not go hungry, but often there was not a vegetarian option in the menu. Breakfasts were good, with the best scrambled eggs we have had in a hotel breakfast buffet. There was always a choice of cakes, as well as breads, croissants, etc. plus a breakfast wine. Coffee was good, but the fruit juices were not. Service was very efficient, from the initial booking to the check out. Very good housekeeping. Friendly and competent waiters, who knew about the local wines (good list reasonably-priced, with the Endrizzi Lagrein and Cornell Lagrein both delicious). If there was something you didn't like on the menu, they were very accommodating about finding you an alternative.
There was a hotel shuttle to take you the ski-lift of your choice in the mornings, and the hotel was also right at the ski-bus. Not too far to walk to the main Ciampinoi lift, either.
The "wellness" centre was pleasant after a day on the slopes. It had a sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, relaxing room with ambient music, etc. Massage and beauty treatments were also available. Unlike some other big hotels in the area, there was no swimming pool.
Of course, the main winter attraction of Val Gardena is skiing, and we were very lucky with the weather - lots of fresh snow, sunshine, and cold. We weren't so lucky with the ski-rental shop recommended by the hotel, Dolomiti Adventures. The equipment we hired was of poor quality - the boots were so poor that after changing them, we decided we had to buy our daughter new boots (from another shop). They also failed to fit the new boots into the skis properly, which meant that they were hard to control. We didn't realise what the problem was until we took them to another ski rental shop to be checked. This failure may reflect slackness or general lack of care, but the standard of equipment suggests a deeper problem. Anyway, we would recommend that skiers wishing to rent go elsewhere.
Overall, we thought that we got excellent value for money at this hotel - and last week, we could take advantage of the "Supersun" deal, which offered 7 days for the price of 6, which extended to lift passes and ski rental.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Brian_de_Kilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Hotel Oswald has been completely refurbished to a very high standard. We stayed in a Junior Suite, which was extremely comfortable and very clean. Room serviced twice a day to a high standard.

The main downside to the hotel is the evening meal. Main complaints being:

1) Very limited choice especially for vegetarians, one evening only main course was a Grilled Beefsteak. Not much use if you do not eat red meat. I requested an omelette which was adequate - if a little on the small side.

2) Food that had obviously been cooked well in advance and let to be kept warm. Mushroom omlettes that looked and tasted like rubber, apple fritters which were not crisps and fresh.

For non-residents cost of the evening meal was 30 Euros - one would have thought it could have been of a higher standard.

Unfortunely, in Selva there is very limited choice of alternative restaurants, so it is not possible to dine elsewhere.

It is a pity that a hotel of this standard cannot prepare a menu with a greater choice and which is more edible.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jemakinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2007

The Oswald is a very historic hotel which has undergone remodelling in most public areas in recent times and is due to undergo a major refurbishment of the bedrooms in 2007 according to plans on display. To enable this it will apparently close its doors between March 07 - August 07 (approx). In the meantime it's still a very nice place.

Our room was on the third floor at the corner of the building and had a spectacular view of the mountains and towards the main street which runs through the village. Although furnishings, etc were dated they were well maintained and the room was spotless & very spacious. Large bathroom had small shower & twin handbasins (but these will be subject to the changes which, from plans on display, appear to include installation of baths).

TV only had CNN & BBC World News and lots of Italian & German channels so it would be wiser to stroll through the village instead to walk off the cuisine.

We found staff to be very helpful and friendly - from reception to restaurant and housemaids. English was spoken by most.

The food was Italian and (as could be expected) of a very high standard. Most nights this consisted of 4 or 5 courses with a varied choice, although appeared limited for vegetarians. We had no trouble finding very nice wines to accompany our food and for those who enjoy a cheese there was an excellent local selection on the Gala dinner evening.

We didn't try the health & fitness centre which appears modern and well frequented by the less inhibited guests (a "natural" approach is compulsory).

Ski lockers and a large drying area are provided in the basement (lift to all floors).

In general Selva is busy for passing trade skiing the Sella Ronda however we found it very quiet in the evenings during our visit. The main street had a few nice shops (e.g. ski wear and wooden carvings which are a speciality of the area), some cafes and bars but it's all low key. It's a place where the visitors are more likely to be Italian, Austrian, German or Russian than British in our experience.

The main lift (Campinoi gondola) is in the main street too but leads apparently to 3 difficult red runs. For leisurely cruising we opted to go from the Dantercepies gondola slightly further away (a free shuttle bus operates from the hotel) or took a taxi to Plan de Gralba (12 Euros) or local "orange" ski bus (5 Euros for unlimited one week pass) to Alpe di Siusi, by Ortisei.

All in all we had a good experience at the hotel and the resort and would recommend both.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews