We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
182
77
11
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
77
11
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent hotellast minute dealheated towel rackfree minibuswalking holidayhalf boardplenty of wardrobe spacehotel shuttleski roompublic areasviews of the mountainssalad buffetcourse dinnerpacked lunchski buswaiting staffsingle room
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 277 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2017

This hotel is probably in the best location for access to the town facilities (buses and shops). It is large and well maitained and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant was really nicely presented, great quality, and plentiful.

Our room, on the 3rd floor, a was very spacious with a well appointed bathroom, settee and chairs, comforable European double bed, plenty of wardrobe space, seperate toilet within the bathroom, and a balcony overlooking the town centre with great views of the mountains. The room was warm when it needed to be. There was a free safe and TV with a good variety of channels, including SKY News and BBC World.

There is a spacious bar area and plenty of seats around the place for resting. There is also free wifi with a reasonable speed. There is a sundeck on the 2nd floor.

The is free use of the Spa area between 4-8pm, although you could generally get in by 2:30pm. Free dressing gown and slippers are provided in your room. You are not allowed to wear swimsuits in the sauna but you could for the Turkish/Cold room etc. Be prepared to see naked bodies. The jakuzzi is lovely and there are rest beds and some water/fruit tea to help you relax.

The drinks prices seemed a little high but the Euro rate is not the best at the moment so it may improve with time. As a guide, coffee is 3 Euros and a small beer (0.33l) is 4 Euros. A small glass of house wine is 4 Euros. That seems to be pretty much the same around the town.

Breakfast is buffet style, On the hot side you will find scrambled/boil your own eggs. The reast is continental style meats/cheese/cakes/fruit etc. Dinner can be a drawn out affair if you are on Half Board. The are normally 4-7 courses and the quality if very high. The sweets are to die for.

Local amenities are good. There are a couple of supermarkets and plenty of places to eat and drink. There is a free mini bus to the Ski Lift and the local buses (we had a Val Gardena Pass) run pretty frequently up and down the valley. We were on a walking holiday and found it very east to get about to all the local lifts and villages. I should mention that the buses can be very crowded at peak times, after breakfast and returning for dinner. The paths into the hills and mountains are pretty good generally. I found it easy to navigate the number system although the local map was not very helpful for the congested areas of towns.

The weather we experienced (September) was very changeable. We had everything from solid sunshine to heavy rain and snow. Go prepared.

Lots of events at night in the town. We watched music in the hall and went to see the local Ice Hockey team for free with a entry card provided by the hotel. Great sport.

It's a lovely hotel and a beatiful place to visit.

Room Tip: A front room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mixreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloswald, Direttore at Hotel Oswald, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Dear Mr. Mixreview,
thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your experience in Selva at the Hotel Oswald! We are really delighted to hear that you especially enjoyed our central location and your room. I really hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back again. Best wishes, Maria Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017

Great hotel amidst wonderful mountain scenery of the Dolomites . Large very clean rooms , wonderful dining room with extensive evening meals of a minimum of 4 courses (+salad buffet) and sometimes running to 6 or 7 (very generous) courses with excellent choice . Waiting staff were amongst the best we've ever encountered , friendly and wonderfully efficient . It is on a busy road , but that means the bus stop is right outside and a free bus pass is issued by the hotel .
Only minor criticism is thet the breakfast doesn't quite match the standard of the evening meals - although quality is excellent , it is slightly repetitive .

Room Tip: As it's situated on a busy road , the quietest rooms are at the back - also larger , but consequently more expensive .
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloswald, Direttore at Hotel Oswald, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Dear Garnon,
thank you for taking time in sharing your experience at the Hotel Oswald on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your valued feedback and comment about our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the heart of Selva Val Gardena.
With our best regards, Maria Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

Hi My wife and I stayed at this Hotel for two weeks as part of an Inghams package Holiday. The hotel is at a central location in Selva with bus stops outside. The staff are wonderful and so helpful. Our room was on the side of the hotel and we had nice views from the balcony . The breakfast was continental style and there was plenty of choice. As we were holidaying with Inghams we had a packed lunch every day which was very useful. The evening meal was wonderful with the amount of courses that were available.
I would have no problem in returning to this hotel in the future.

Trevor Crook

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloswald, Direttore at Hotel Oswald, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Dear Mr. Trevor,
thank you very much for giving us such a kind and positive feedback. Your kind words only motivate us to keep up our work ethic and continuously improve and fulfill our gest's wishes.
Best regards,
Maria Pia and Vincenzo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

This was without doubt the best single room I have stayed in. Plenty of room and at least a 4 foot 6 bed. The bathroom with its Corian top and shower was spotless and the view from the balcony of my room (no 317) looked out on to a stream and I had a great view of a mountain range from the side of the balcony. The location was very good with all the main buses parking right outside the hotel and the supermarket and tourist information were only a short walk away. The staff were wonderful and welcoming and the meals fantastic. My best course being smoked salmon with dill on pear mustard and toasted brioche which was absolutely delicious. Definitely make time for the coffin lifts which are great fun (take bus 471) and invest in a lift pass (85 euros) which covers the majority of the lifts in the Selva region. Travelling with Inghams also means a packed lunch awaits you every morning. Great choice of food at breakfast and dinner. Wonderful all round experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lbw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloswald, Direttore at Hotel Oswald, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2017

Dear guest,
thank you very much for giving us such a kind and positive feedback. Your kind words only motivate us to keep up our work ethic and continuously improve and fulfill our guest’s wishes. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Oswald in Selva in the not too distant future. Best regards, Maria Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017

We stayed for 3 nights here during the recent Giro di Dolomiti cycle tour and had a wonderful time. The staff were most helpful, we were cycling and had use of a bike store and were able to store luggage in the hotel when we rode to Cortina and back. We will definitely come back here should we visit the area again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a great view but the traffic noise at 6am can wake you if you leave the windows open.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloswald, Direttore at Hotel Oswald, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2017

Dear Ben,
thank you very much for your stay and for this wonderful rating. It would be a great pleasure for us to welcoming you back again - hopefully in the not too distant future!
Kind regards, Maria Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews