We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oswald

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oswald
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our weeks stay, the hotel is kept to a good standard, the food was delicious with plenty of choice, our room and the public areas were cleaned to a high standard, the staff were all friendly and made us very welcome, we had the convenience of bus stops right outside the hotel, we hope to visit Hotel oswald again in the future.

Room Tip: To have the sun on the balcony, choose a west facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathleen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloswald, Manager at Hotel Oswald, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Many thanks for Your kind review, we really appreciated! Hoping to see You again, in the mean time we wish You all the best for the future!

Your Hotel Oswald****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    64
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
77
70
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the Oswald for 7 nights on a recent walking holiday,the room was spacious,bright and immaculate with the balconey overlooking the main squre.
The staff were really friendly and helpful on all occasions,the food was great,the packed lunch proving useful whist walking.
Lastly Maria Pia and Vincenzo always made us feel valued guests rather than a source of income.highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikehh-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloswald, Manager at Hotel Oswald, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
A special thank You for Your nice review! Wish You all the best and see You again in the next summer!Your Hotel Oswald****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rieti
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent a great time over there. The location is beautiful and perfectly maintained. Every kind of services are available including underground parking, public transportation, restaurants and accommodation facilities at a wide range of prices.
The Dolomites range with the Odles and Sella group are breath taking and you never finish to admire their magnificent magnitude.
The food is also part of the local traditions which reflect a perfect blending of different cultures.

Room Tip: Hotel Oswald offers a total of 60 rooms (20 rooms on three floors) and you can select a "Comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlbertoRieti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloswald, Manager at Hotel Oswald, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank You so much for taking time to write this nice review! We really appreciated!
Special greetings from Selva,

Your Hotel Oswald****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

I never thought I'd write a review as its so time consuming but I dot think its right that staff can treat paying customers like crap and get away with it.

We were a group of 14 stayin at the hotel for three nights. Half of us have taken the Junior Suite at €260 a night for four nights. The food was mediocre but what is to be the first of many incidents was the cleanliness of the crockery during breakfasts (teaspoons with dried porridge-looking gunk on the back of them). What really upset me was that although they state that prices are half board, they charge for all bottles of water and we were given a blank look for asking for tap water.

Although our suite was spacious there was hair in our bath tubs and our shower room. We avoided the bathtub the first night and thought that housekeeping would've seen and cleaned it up the next morning - SURPRISE - still there the next day.

Three of our friends have also booked a suite with 3 beds and when arriving at night (even though we've already paid the deposit for three people 2 months ago) they have forgotten the third bed and she had to sleep on the sofa that first night as no one could arrange a bed for her as it was late.

When we brought the issue up and had to shuffle the rooms around so that the spaces matched the group's requirements, the managing lady at the reception was rude and short with us and remains so for the remainder of our stay.

On our last day checking out at before 11am, we decided to hit the slopes one last time before heading home but would obviously need a shower before we left for the airport. When asked if some of us could use the spa's showers we were told no, it was only available to guests who were still checked in?! Not what you want to hear when you've just paid them nearly €11,200 for three nights stay given the amount of wine (and water) we drank during dinner.

All in all horrid value for money. The only thing it's got going for it is its inarguably central location. Not recommended.

More points to note:
- Wifi Internet is painstakingly slow and NOT free... ?!
- The hotel seems to be a destination for an older age group which isn't a problem at all, of course, until we were told at the spa that the hotel holds a strictly nude policy (no bathing suits or bikinis). Not a very young adult and family friendly spa. So no spa for us. The shower rooms do not even have walls.
- The waiting staff forgot to bring main courses for 2 or 3 of us in the group on 2 separate occasions leaving them waiting for the dish to arrive after the rest of us have finished our dishes. Double check and when in doubt ask and ask again and again until someone brings it to you.
- No complimentary water in any of the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelchick678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteloswald, Front Office Manager at Hotel Oswald, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We are lost of words about this review published on March 4 2012, we believe that some urgent clarification from our part is absolutely necessary. We wonder why the guest did not express any complaint during the stay and wrote after, this extremely unpleasant review.

First of all, we would like to emphasize to have utmost respect for our guests and are always grateful to them to choose our Hotel Oswald for their vacation.

We have booked 3 Superior rooms and 3 Junior Suite Selva with the group leader, a very gentle man who assured to have spent a very pleasant holiday at our Hotel. At the beginning we didn't had enough rooms to accomodate 14 people, so since January we have kept in touch for any changes or cancellations. Happily we were able to get 6 rooms for the whole group, with a lot of commitment.

Each room was confirmed to be accomodate just by 2 people, so the third bed of course was not expected. That's why we decided to assign a Junior Suite Ciampinoi, even without supplement (175,00 per person per day). The room has a double bed and a single bed, so no one have slept on a couch. Unfortunately they have never told us their arrival time, even though we asked it specifically in the confirmation letters for several times.

On the last day, we kindly let them staying in the Junior Suite Ciampinoi until the late afternoon, in this case again without supplement (85,00€), we brought everything they needed for having a shower before departing, we remember that these were all ecceptions we made,in order to satisfie them at all. Everyone would understand, that on Saturdays and on Sundays the "late check out" is most of the the time not possible, because of the many arrivals.

Moreover, since our Hotel has not a all-inclusive approach, bottled water is charged as it is usual in the restaurants. The offers we submit to the guests do not indicate that the bottled water or Wifi is free of charge.

Kindness, quality, service and in particular cleanliness have always been praised by our guests and the questionnaires can prove this reality, still today.

However, if the author of this review really exceptionally discovered something wrong, we should have been notified in order to be able to solve the problem but this did not happened.

About the final amount they have paid, for sure we are not going to tell this in public, but we can assure that the amount written here does not correspond to the truth, rather we are still waiting the payment of some "Extras".

Hope we have been clear enough for the future readers of this review.

Your Hotel Oswald****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
media, pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

During our recent ski vacation (Jan 2012) we had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Oswald in Selva. Although we stayed in the smallest room, the accommodations were great and the room was kept clean. The hotel staff was very friendly and spoke very good English. The restaurant offered choices for dinner every evening and the food was very good. The spa was outstanding but be aware that the sauna's require towels or au natural only. This kept many people from the American delegation either in their room or the bar.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtoski50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

+: clean rooms, excellent food (half board), friendly staff
-: no air conditioner, even no small windows so the room is or too warmy or too cold. Paid wifi does not work when too many users online, which means every morning and evening. No lounge zone at reception, dining area too formal, bar area not attractive.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julsvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire,Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

We have stayed at Hotel Oswald on 3 seperate skiing hollidays over the past few years,and found it to be a superb friendly and very comfortable hotel, the staff could not be any more helpful, rooms were spotless and very comfortable, food was brilliant, hotel bus great !.Daughter going back in Feb 2012

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolomitemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Linder
Hotel Linder
#34 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Armin
Hotel Armin
#26 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dorfer Alpine & Charming
Hotel Dorfer Alpine & Charming
#14 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
#9 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oswald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oswald

Property: Hotel Oswald
Address: Str. Meisules 140, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#16 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#22 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#25 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#35 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oswald 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Oswald is the perfect place for an unforgettable holiday in Val Gardena! It’s situated in the centre of Selva at 1536 m altitude, surrounded by the Dolomites, which have been listed as a UNESCO World Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Oswald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oswald Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing