We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, comfortable and great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Continental
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

You can't beat family-run hotels for warmth and service and the Continental at Selva proves the point. The Linder family clearly care about the quality of service they provide - and the same is true of the staff, from the cleaners through to the waiters and waitresses.

The Continental has a long history but has been sympathetically modernised. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious with a large bathroom. It lacked a bath, which would've been a real bonus after a day of skiing, but the shower was fantastically powerful and therapeutic. Cleanliness was second to none. The food was exceptional, particularly in the evenings, and there was a great selection of wines. There's a spa, including saunas and a steam room.

Location is an interesting one. On the one hand it's ideal for nursery slopes and the Dantercepies gondola lift but if you fancy spending the evenings in the town centre bars, be prepared for a punishing 10-15 minute walk uphill to get back to the hotel.

Selva itself is a lovely resort and the scenery is stunning. The ski areas aren't as joined up as they could be and it's not the best place in the world for beginners but for intermediates it's a dream.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    41
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
82
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

This review is long overdue as we have spent the last six years ski-ing holidays at the Hotel Continental and have just finalised arrangements for our seventh return visit next year.

This is an exceptional Hotel owned and run by the Linder family who take great pride in maintaining the highest standards and personally overseeing the day to day running of the hotel. Unlike one of the more negative reviewers we have always found Christian and his brother Stefan to be courteous friendly and helpful, their mother Frau Linder’s English is similar to our German, understands a good deal but like us has some difficulty holding a “joined up” conversation, perhaps due to lack of confidence we guess, this may initially appear frosty, but having got to know her over several years this is definitely not the case, she is rightly proud of her family and their hotel and is ever attentive ensuring the place runs like clockwork.

The rooms are of a very high standard, extremely comfortable and always spotlessly clean, the waitressing and cleaning staff are always excellent, some staff remain the same as from the time we first stayed so the family must be doing something right to retain such obviously happy staff for so long with such consistent results.

This is not the first hotel we have encountered where the evening meal is ordered from the menu at breakfast time, we do not see this as a problem, on some occasions this is positively beneficial as it can avoid midday lunch conflicts with what may be on offer in the evening, and provides a point of conversation in our party when quite frankly none of us are usually particularly conversational over breakfast!.

Last year I was unfortunate enough to suffer my fist significant injury in 25 years of skiing, an injury that required an ambulance trip to hospital some 40 miles away from resort where following treatment we found ourselves quite literally stuck there out on a limb. I had a fractured clavicle and multiple bruising and muscle injuries, no local knowledge of the town we were in and due to the urgency of the trip there insufficient ready cash for transport back.

Faced with the uncertainty of how we were going to return to resort (having been strapped into a brace and advised I would need immediate surgery upon return to UK), we attempted to contact our holiday rep for advice and hopefully assistance. Unfortunately that was not forthcoming, We had considerable difficulty contacting our tour rep or insurers from the hospital and when we eventually did manage to do so found they were frankly disinterested and indifferent stating they were unable (or unwilling!) to provide any assistance whatsoever to get us back to resort. In considerable pain and with the prospect of a long and arduous journey by public transport bus, assuming we could manage to locate one or a cash point, we contacted the hotel and asked if there was anything that they could do to help!

Their response was fantastic It was they who arranged for a Taxi to be sent to us from the resort, which picked us up within the hour, all this on trust as we had no money with us, the hotel and taxi firm had even prepared all the receipts needed for us to claim via our holiday insurance and these were waiting for us at reception on arrival .The hotel were even prepared to settle the taxi fare and allow us to add the cost to our bill.

The reality here was that when the chips were down, It was the hotel and members of the Linder family that came to our assistance sorted the problems for us not our tour operator, this is truly service that deserves huge praise.

As seasoned skiers we have spent many years seeking our ideal destination, in the Hotel Continental and the resort of Selva we have now found this and will certainly continue to return to the superb hospitality of the Linder family for so long as we are able, don’t let one bad report put you off!

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank nathan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 11 nights and our stay was delightful, our room was great, the meals were exquisite and the service professional. Our stay was everything we expected and excellent value for money. One could not wish for better and it would be extremely difficult to find fault.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leopardwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

We recently had a weeks skiing holiday in Selva, and stayed at the Continental. From the moment we arrived, (which was late evening, after a flight delay), we received a warm, friendly, and helpful greeting. They even provided us with a hot meal despite arriving just after the restaurant was due to close.
The room was excellent, the food was very good, all the staff were very friendly and efficient, and the position of the hotel for skiing is superb. They have a very well organised, spacious, heated boot/ski room, and it is just six or seven steps across the road to the piste. You can also ski back just as close.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Continental, and have just booked again for next January.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HubertHubertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

I travel a lot for business and spend at least 15 nights per month in hotels; therefore there are 2 things which are really important for me when selecting a hotel – the room and the staff.

Given that I could spend up to 2 weeks in the same hotel I will always look for a new or recently renovated hotel which offers spacious, comfortable, contemporary style, quiet rooms. In addition to that, good professional yet friendly staff that makes you feel at home is a must. So, having spent weeks researching hotels in the Selve Val Di Gardena region, The Hotel Continental caught my eye as it got great reviews on Trip Advisor, the price within my usual budget and the rooms appeared to tick all the boxes.

The booking process was a nightmare and the guy (Christian) we dealt with on the phone was so unhelpful. He was unenthusiastic and so unfriendly that we actually felt like we were bothering him by calling. Yes, I know this should have raised alarm bells and it did, however we had exhausted all other options with regards to hotels in that area – they were too expensive, booked out, horrid or could not accommodate our entire stay. We did our utmost NOT to have to book The Continental, but in the end, the price and room type was what swayed us. After several phone calls with the ‘hostile’ Christian, we finally managed to book and send a deposit over to them. To be honest, we hated ourselves already for giving him the satisfaction of staying there – can you believe that. Imagine being made feel like that PRIOR to arriving!!

Anyway, when we got there, we were ‘greeted’ by the man himself (Christian) who succeeded in irritating us even further. My colleague is Italian and I too speak quite good Italian and when in Italy, we speak only in Italian. On arrival we spoke to Christian in Italian and he responded in English (he’s Italian by the way). This continued the first few days of our stay. Anytime we spoke to him which wasn’t often, as we did our best to avoid him at all costs, he responded in English. We found his mother to be equally hostile, and it took great self-control on our part not to tell them exactly what we thought of their awful hospitality whilst were there. However, we were stuck between a rock and a hard place – we had no place else to go and needed to ‘contain’ ourselves. So, we avoided them as much as we possibly could for the 10 days and tried to focus on the positive aspects of the hotel which I will go into now.

Our room was exactly what we expected – large, clean, light wooden floors, neutral colours, great décor etc…. It was ever so comfortable and quiet and I really looked forward to going back there in the evenings after dinner. The food in the restaurant was only ok – nothing special. The fact that we were half board meant that we ate there every evening and as a result had some great meals on some evenings and not so great on others. The real pain in the butt was that you had to decide what you wanted for dinner each evening at breakfast each morning! This was a first for us and did not suit us at all. The 2 girls working in the restaurant were great. They were very friendly, courteous and professional. What a shame that their warmth did not rub off on Mother and Son! As it happens, Christian did become friendlier as the days went on, but unfortunately for him the damage was irreparable at that stage. As for his mother, she remained as frosty as ever right up until the last minute. She really made it so obvious that she did not like us. She was particularly hostile to my colleague. There was another guy there who I think might have been Cristian’s brother – he was a very friendly guy, polite and professional at all times.

I forgot to mention that my colleague is from Naples and I am Irish. Whilst travelling around the Selve Val Di Gardena region we mentioned to our Clients about the poor hospitality we were receiving at our hotel and it would appear that my colleague being a Napolitano could perhaps be the reason why we received the reception that we did……. Who knows…….. I will be travelling back in that direction several times again in the future, however I will NEVER, EVER stay there again. They don’t deserve the business…

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ITALIA1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrislin08, Manager - Family Member at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, November 18, 2009
We are always glad about constructive and objective critics, doing everything in our power to have happy guests at our hotel; but as being humans we are not aware from doing mistakes. This review is far from being constructive and objective and needs some clarification from our part.

For over 40 years now our family lives from selling rooms and being host to people from everywhere around the world. Our interest is to convince people to book and come to our hotel and not to treat them in a way they book somewhere else.

Our booking procedure is pretty the same as in all family-run hotels throughout Europe: offer, confirmation asking guarantee and after valid guarantee from the guest, final confirmation of the booking from our part.

Exactly the same we did with these guests from Ireland. They booked in early august for mid September and were asked to guarantee within a week for it. The week passed by and no guarantee was send, after a second week the guests mailed us again asking us for a new offer. This in a way and order as there would never have been a prior contact between us, let’s not talk about a running reservation!

I answered them saying that our first offer is still valid and that they also already made a reservation, I would be pleased to help them if they have some more questions.

The guests called a few days later saying that as travelling for business and not for leisure, they are not willing to accept our booking and cancellation policy; plus they would like to have a further discount. I said that we already made them a good offer and therefore no further discount would be possible. Regarding the cancellation policy I offered them better conditions, especially because it was the lowest season throughout the year and we, as most probably nearly all other hotels in the Selva area, had still vacant rooms.

Some days later they called again asking to keep the reservation valid without any guarantee. They argued that their company does neither have a Visa/Master card nor a bank account !! I answered that I'm really sorry but unfortunately I can’t confirm their reservation without any guarantee.

A few days later, it was early September by that time, suddenly a Visa card appeared and we managed to finalize the reservation.

All the correspondence and all the phone calls were made by the Italian Lady in Italian. When at check-in together with the Italian ID an Irish passport was presented to me, I saw it as natural and polite to welcome the Irish Lady in English. This to make her feel more comfortable and relaxed. At that point a simple “parlo italiano = I speak Italian” from her would have been enough to avoid this unhappy situation. Unfortunately it went on some days as she always talked to me in English, till finally it came out she was fluent in Italian, from than on we talked in Italian.

Whilst checking out the Ladies asked and wanted to book for February 2010 being again in the area for business. As their travel dates were not fixed by that time we agreed that as soon as they know we get again in touch!!

Coming to my mother: she has indeed a reserved character and with great success she is doing this job for over 35 years now. Reading after all this years that she does not deserve the business: that hurts.

I would like to thank all the readers for the patience if they read till this point and tripadvisor for giving us the opportunity to respond to this review.

Christian Linder and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stayed at the Continental for 7 nights as part of a 2 Centre holday with a British Package Holiday. The Hotel is located in the meadows above Selva, where in winter the nursery ski slopes are located. It is located right next to one of the Mountain Gondalas so gives you direct access to the mountains for walks or skiing. However the hotel is a stiff 10-15 minute walk uphill from the village centre, only with a hourly local bus service during the day only.

We stayed on a Half Board basis, which consisted of a varied Continental Buffet breakfast and a 5 course dinner, which usually had 3 alternative choices of starter, main and dessert. The food was of a very high standard and served by attentive restaurant staff in traditional dress.

Our room was on the rear elevation, and was furnished and decorated to a high standard, with a shared balcony. All parts of the hotel were decorated to the same high standards. The hotel has a wellness spa in the basement, but we did not use this facility during our stay.

The hotel was very popular with a cross of nationalities and wide range of ages, with several groups of couples with children. It is a family owned hotel, with attentive owners and staff, but lacked some friendliness and character, with service on a more formal basis. Fully meets it's 4 star rating.

On the down side, the bar area is very formal and lacks character - with very few people using it. The hotel also lacks any sun terrace, apart from a few sunloungers and benches in a small patch of grass surrounding the building

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

This was one of the best and friendliest hotels we've ever stayed in!! Lovely, friendly and efficient staff, courteous yet informal manners and very attentive. The Linder family are very special hosts who look after their clients and quests well!!

Our room, at the back of the hotel, had great views of the Vallunga valley (from the balcony), which offers a fine, easy walk for everyone, and the Dantercerpies gondola which allows easy access to higher level walking.... great to nip up there at the end of a day out!!! Our room was spacious, comfortable with a great bathroom with shower (no bath.... no matter!) and bidet. Clean and modern.

Hotel meals were excellent (try the local wine... great) and the packed lunch we had as part of our Inghams deal was enough to get use through the day. Drinks were reasonably priced.

The reception staff were helpful and genuinely interested in caring for their guests. Who could ask for more?

The only downside to the Continental is the 10 minute steep uphill walk from Selva centre, but after a week of it we were all a lot fitter and had actually begun to master the local bus timetable (infrequent but fairly reliable). I would recommend the Gardena pass.... at 64 Euros the unlimited access it give to all lifts and buses up and down the Gardena valley, not to mention the little summer buses that pass by the Continental, which makes life a little easier, is well worth it!!! Use the Tourist Info office... good friendly and reliable advice!!

Selva is a great place.... spectacular and special. The Hotel Continental is one of the elements that made our stay highly memorable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#42 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garni-Hotel Bel Vert
Garni-Hotel Bel Vert
#55 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#23 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#14 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Linder
Hotel Linder
#40 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oswald
Hotel Oswald
#30 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Strada Dantercepies 40, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#14 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#18 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#27 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#30 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#33 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished in 2007, especially with new rooms and cosy junior suites with great views over Selva and the beautiful Dolomites. Ideal position for winter as well as summer holiday. Ski in + ski out on the Sellaronda in winter, in summer starting point of many wander walks in the natural park Puez - Odle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing