We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of season walking week”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“End of season walking week”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have just spent a week at the Continental enjoying the quieter time to walk in this beautiful area. Our room was comfortable and pleasantly larger than many we have stayed in. As many reviewers have already said, the food was excellent and the service helpful and pleasant.
Yes, the walk back from the vilage is steep but fine if taken slowly and many walks can be arranged to finish on the Danterchepies which drops one off ate the door!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    42
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
62
87
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

A 'eureka' moment when we arrived at the charming Continental Hotel in Selva. The welcome was warm, the room much larger than expected (they had given us an upgrade without asking) and the view of the rocky peaks stunning. And we had yet to experience the food! Brilliant quality and quantity of our 5 course dinners with great attentive service. (Try the pomegranate risotto - fabulous). Absolute recommendation, with just one caveat: the hotel lies at the top of a steep hill about 10/15 minutes out of the town centre. Fine when you are are fresh during the day, but a drag after a hard day's walking in the wonderful Dolomites. Of course, this location does mean that the hotel is wonderfully peaceful ...

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the valley if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennyamraoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidingö
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A very pleasant stay in Selva. It was a week we wanted since we visited Hotel Continetal three years ago.Beautiful view from our balcony, extremely friendly service from the Linder family and the staff, especially to the girl who took care of us during the breakfast and the dinner. Fantastic food. Great that we could use bikes and even the e-bikes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012

"Excellent stay"

Staied for a week. The location, food and staff is very superb. Will definitely recommed a stay at this hotel. We will certainly come back and enjoy the hospitality to lindner family and their staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Einar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Simply can't fault the hotel. The location, accomodation, food and the staff superb. Some may complain about the fact that it is up a hill for the village centre but its not that bad and the view down the valley at the end is well worth the effort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gratianus0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at the Continental. We were made to feel very welcome from the minute we set foot in the hotel. We could not fault the restaurant with it's friendly wating staff and good, varied food. The vegetarian options were great and there was a good selection of local wines. Would definately consider a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichAndKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

As other reviewers have stated, very well placed for access to the Dolomiti ski area and nursery slopes. However, this comes at a price! It's a punishing stiff 15mins up-hill walk from the town. We were also surprised to find that it's in the shade for most of the day, due to being by the side of a hill. If, like us, you like to sit in the sun after a hard day's ski-ing, this is not possible. There is no sun terrace, and even half of the front facing room balconies are in the shade in the after-noon.
We paid extra for a suite, and had a Tower one. Very spacious, lovely large new bathroom, spotlessly clean. Large balcony, which never saw a speck of sun and was not used. Great to have a small empty fridge. You can ask the hotel to fill it like a mini-bar, but we went down to the nearest supermarket and filled it with our own drinks.
The food was ok, but not exceptional. The self-serve breakfast buffet even meant hot drinks. I have never stayed in a 4 star hotel before where fresh tea or coffee wasn't brought to your table. The only hot food offered were boiled eggs and a scrambled eggs, left sitting in a warming tray. Both were luke warm and not very appetising.
Dinner was 4 courses, always the salad buffet, changed a bit, but very samey, choice of 3 pasta dishes, a soup, and choice of 3 mains, always a vegetarian or fish dish on offer. Pork and veal featured heavily. Most dishes were pleasant, but not memorable.
The wine list was good, many local wines, reasonably priced, as were all drinks.
The staff were very helpful and pleasant.
Overall, enjoyed our stay, but have been to better 4 star hotels in european ski resorts.

Room Tip: Definitely a room at front of hotel, facing the valley and town, and on the outer side, not the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RufusZach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrislin08, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear RufusZach,

Thank you very much for spending your holidays at our hotel last week.

The ideal location being a few steps from the Sella Ronda and on the nursery slopes pays the tribute that till the mid of February we are in shadow. For those loving the sun in their room, we are able to offer that, apart from the summer months, only in March and April.

At your arrival we informed you, which was also written in your welcome booklet, that there is an alternative to the 15 minutes up-hill walk: from Selva centre up to the hotel there is, during daytime, a bus running approximately every 40 minutes. The 7days ticket at 7.00 euro allows you to use all buses within the Val Gardena valley (Selva-Ortisei back and forth plus Selva – Continental up and down).

Our breakfast buffet offers also hot drinks, introduced on suggestion of regular guests, but still our waiters do table service on those preferring that. The waiters are also pleased to take your order for sunny side up - eggs, omelettes or anything else you might like to eat during your breakfast. We regret you did not take that opportunity.

We wish you a successful ongoing year and would be pleased to welcome you again here at our house in a future occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Christian Linder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oswald
Hotel Oswald
#29 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#6 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#44 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#23 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Linder
Hotel Linder
#32 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Strada Dantercepies 40, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#14 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#18 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#27 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#28 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#33 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished in 2007, especially with new rooms and cosy junior suites with great views over Selva and the beautiful Dolomites. Ideal position for winter as well as summer holiday. Ski in + ski out on the Sellaronda in winter, in summer starting point of many wander walks in the natural park Puez - Odle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing