We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and Hospitality in The Dolomites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Antares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Antares
Certificate of Excellence
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
“Comfort and Hospitality in The Dolomites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

All the hotel staff members were gracious and accommodating. The reception area staff were very professional, courteous, friendly and attentive to our needs and requests. They went above and beyond on many occasions. For instance they helped us arrange a wine tasting event for our group with an outside vender and they provided personal assistance when my Italian based cell phone needed to be "recharged" with additional credit. I was unable to understand the instructions which were in Italian, so they were kind enough to explain the process to me and then assisted me with initiating the credit recharge.

Our room was very comfortable and well lit with more than enough space for my roommate, myself, and all of our ski gear. The bathroom was clean and spacious with a large shower, hair dryer and all modern appliances. Housekeeping did an excellent job of cleaning the entire room each day and provided plenty of toiletries.

Breakfast and dinner was provided each day as part of our package. The dinning room staff were courteous and considerate, especially for those with special requests. There was an abundance of food to select from at both meals and the dinner menu, which changed daily, offered a variety of first and second courses to suit any palate. Wine choices were plentiful and enjoyable, and the desert selections were delightful. In short we ate very well during our stay!

In addition, the hotel maintains a relationship with the ski shop next door. I had to rent skis for this trip, so this was particularly relevant for me. The shop staff provided me with top-notch skis that were appropriate for the conditions and my ski ability. And the skis were tuned to perfection! It was an absolute pleasure to deal with them.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ribrnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    141
    33
    13
    4
See reviews for
208
93
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, NJ
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

The best part of hotel Antares is the food. Their restaurant is outstanding. I was there with a group of skiiers. Our breakfasts and dinners were included and they were more than worth the money. Just the offerings at the self-serve appetizer bar would have been be sufficient for a decent dinner. But this course was followed by a pasta, meat/fish course and desert. Selection of these courses changed daily and there were more than enough choices for each. Presentation was ellegant as well. I would have liked to have some plain water included in the meal, but it had to be ordered by bottle for extra cost (as it is typical for Europe, I won't hold it against them).
I would not recommend this hotel as a base for skiing though, unless you are young, strong and ski expert trails. It does not provide shuttle to the lifts and does not have easy access to easier trails. Walk to a gondola is the shortest but trails from the top of that lift were challenging, especially in icy conditions we had.
Most of the staff are friendly, but not all of them are helpful. On one occassion I was not feeling well and my room was being cleaned so I rested on a couch in the lobby. Within a minute a receptionist came by and without asking what was wrong said "your bed is in your room madam".
Rooms are clean and nicely decorated, but lack functionality. There is ample shelf space, but not a single drawer. Bathrobes are provided but there are no hooks in the bathroom to hang them. The only trash can is in the bathroom.
Internet is only available in the lobby and it costs quite a bit. That's a major drawback for me.
The pool is nice, but (as pointed out in other reviews) the silly and outdated cap requirement is enforced. Jacuzzi is just a tub in the health center, it is available by reservation only and it costs 10 Euros. Not skiier friendly arrangement.

If I go back to Selva, I will find a hotel with a lift shuttle and eat at Antares.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

We found the Antares quite disappoining.
Position is good, central and just a short walk from the slopes but in Selva many other hotels are directly on the slopes and far more comfortable.
The hotel is a little dated, big, without the charming, intimate and nice atmosphere of mountain hotels. On Christmas holidays it was also very crowded and full of families and kids.
Staff was not very helpful and professional and food was not as we expected.
On New Year's eve they had music (piano bar) and a kids entertainer. Kids were having fun but it's abosutley not to reccomend for couples.
We belive that 4 stars have been given only for the SPA.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yes_Si_Ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

very nice staff, beautiful and very clean rooms, good food, nice restaurant.
very good food for breakfast and dinner, especially antipasta at the latter.
the only thing that i wish was better, the ski room is a bit far down a coridor, so you'll carry your skis a bit more.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

We arrived at Hotel Antares in half term week and expected it to be really busy. Our rooms were perfect for a family with young children. The receptionists couldn't ahve been more helpful and went out of their way on one occasion to provide exceptional service bringing in phone chargers from their home. (We had left our charger at home!) The food was scrumptious for adults, slightly limited for young children but my kids lived on pasta and parm cheese and the cooks were quite happy to cook that for them. The waiters were so friendly especially Federico who made our holiday chatting to the kids.
We skied with Ski 2000 who were fantastic.. Tip ask for their bus service to the slopes as it was full and we were too late. Don't try adn walk with young kids to the meeting point although it is not far it will be the best 10 euros spent getting a cab up that hill...
Don't forget your caps for the pool.. We had no problems with that their rules so comply funny seeing people get uppty about it...
Would highly recommend and would definately go back...
Thank you Hotel Antares for a fab week Ali Ian Tom and Cam

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2008

We had 2 apartments booked with the Antares, a 4 bedroom & 7 bedroom. Basicly the 4 bedroom was a double bedroom & 2 single beds in sitting room, the 7 bedroom was 2 x double bedroom (1 ensuite), 2 pull outs in sitting room & 1 single in gallery upstairs. Accommodation was spotless, the only problem was the room in the 7 bed apartment was very cramped. Location was brilliant, 100 metres from main lift station, a few steps to the "goalies" pub. The residence also has a indoor pool which was brilliant and again very clean. They was a good variety of restaurants for eating out at night and I must recommend the "campioni" (think that is spelling) at the end of the village and l'fundle in St. Christina. Ski-ing was very good but unfortunately we picked a bad week as it was mid term in Eire, UK, Italy and a few Austrian counties, so queing for the lifts was a nightmare. Overall would recommend both the Dolomites & Residence Antares.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Radi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2008

The entrance is a bit disappointing - bit tired looking. Staff are efficient but not very friendly - very matter of fact. - and don't speak very good English. Food was okay but certainly not as good as cheaper hotels we have stayed in in Italy. Rooms were good size but not particularly authentic - more like a Travel Inn. 5 minute walk to the main gondola or 10 mins to the nursery slopes. Boot room wasn't heated. Leisure facilities were disappointing. Pool was small and hotel dictates that you must wear a swimming hat! Steam and sauna rooms were in the basement - not particularly inviting. Felt like they had some spare room in the basement and they just put them in. Not somewhere you would really want to relax. Bar prices are expensive and the bar shuts at midnight - you can't even sit in the bar and finish your drinks. (However, the bar man was very good). The only reason I think the hotel gets 4 star is because it has a swimming pool, steam and sauna facilities.

Skiing in Selva was great, not particularly challenging though. The reds would be classified as blues in any other resort. Doing the Sella Ronda circuit is recommended. Anti-clockwise, there are more lifts and less skiing and it wasn't as well signposted as clockwise where there is more skiing and more enjoyable. Stopping for 2 breaks of half hour the whole circuit took 4 hours.

  • Liked — skiing
  • Disliked — unfriendly attitude
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AR&RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#2 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.8 mi away
ArtHotel Anterleghes
ArtHotel Anterleghes
#9 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Property: Hotel Antares
Address: Strada Meisules 195, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#16 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#22 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antares 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence-hotel Antares is centrally located on the main street in Selva Gardena and within walking distance (200m) from the lifts of the Dolomiti Superski and Sellaronda ski carousel.Antares offers accommodation in a 4 stars hotel or a 3 stars residence and it also has 2 little dependances with more home-like apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Antares Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing