We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but you get what you pay for”
Review of Hotel Antares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Antares
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great service but you get what you pay for”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Three couples booked rooms at this hotel for a week's ski-ing at the end of February. The choice of the hotel was based on its location which is about a five minute walk from the Ciampinoi and a further three minutes to the Costabella.
We found all the staff to be incredibly helpful especially the restaurant staff. The reception staff were also very willing to assist.
However the food and the personal level of service was not at the same level as the top hotels such as the Aaritz and the Laurin and especially the wellness offerings at the more recognised top hotels is worth the difference in price.
Having said that the hotel is not bad value but you get what you pay for.
On the plus side the wireless internet service was excellent at the hotel and worked well everywhere throughout the whole week. There was no charge for the use of the wireless network. The garage was also a plus and at €9 a day represented good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HastingsBanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    151
    35
    13
    4
See reviews for
228
110
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Good hotel nice people, acceptable food. Quite a walk to main lifts and uphill.
Central to everything with good ski store.
We booked with Inghams and the service was very poor once they have you at airport.
We were collected and had to wait at airport for over four hours. They lied to us about the reasons for this being traffic and weather when the real reason was that they used same transport for a number of flights that were leaving much earlier.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgioThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Located in the center of Selva, 100 meters from the ciampinoi lift, this hotel offers everything a skier could want, great ski storage and a nice spa/pool. What impressed me most about this hotel was the food, first class. The service was also excellent. Rooms were comfortable and clean. On site parking is readily available. For families with younger children, the ski school is 300 meters away, uphill.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Markyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed recently at the hotel with my family for a week. We were in a larger group for a ski break on a half board basis.

This hotel is not far from the slopes and mechanical means. Decent walking distance, even for kids.

Staff very nice and professional. I would like to single out a staff member Emanuela that was taking care of us (and a few others!) every evening for supper.

The hotel is in an overall good condition and the rooms are OK. Breakfast and supper were plenty and above average quality. Good wine list!

Certainly an hotel I could come back to and recommend as an option.

Although they have wireless, it only works in the common areas as a result of which these were packed with people, especially kids. If they make wireless available in the rooms then common areas could be more pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet but not very large. Ask for one with bathtub. Try to avoid upper floors as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msv19650916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Convenient location. Room was renovated so comfortable. Pool is nice. Unfortunate that wi-fi was only in the lobby and others mentioned that they were not always able to connect. Staff was mostly helpful with a few exceptions. Breakfast was satisfactory but coffee was terrible. Salad buffet at dinner was excellent with the rest of the meal inconsistent. This stay was part of a tour so difficult to evaluate the true value.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel seems nice and is relatively ok priced. However, once you are there, there are just so many things that are wrong that it really takes away from the experience. The food (included in the price) is generally weak, with a few ok plates. Breakfast is simply gross, with cold eggs, no fruit, cold, chewy bacon and other similar delights. The Jacuzzie is a 1-person affair and costs EUR10 for 20 minutes. I was so sore from the slopes that decided to do it anyway... went up to my room and changed only to find out that the Spa only opens at 3PM. Why? No idea. OK, maybe I should book a massage instead. Oops, massages are available until 1:30PM and then only from 20:30 - 22:00. Why? No idea. OK, well maybe just go up to the room and do some emails? No such luck, Wifi is only available in the lobby and doesn't work half the time. I am not exaggerating when I say that I had a higher quality internet connection in a backpacker motel I stayed in in Cambodia 12 years ago than I did here, in this "4 star hotel" in Western Europe.

I recommend looking for other options - this hotel doesn't deliver on the details and is in no way a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfiend_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for a weeks skiing holiday, Wonderful Hotel with amazing food and wine, great location in Selva. We would highly recommend this hotel. Very happy, helpful staff. Thanks for a great week..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonbladh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
513 reviews
0.8 mi away
ArtHotel Anterleghes
ArtHotel Anterleghes
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel Tyrol
Hotel Tyrol
#6 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oswald
Hotel Oswald
#29 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
#9 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Property: Hotel Antares
Address: Strada Meisules 195, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#16 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#22 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antares 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence-hotel Antares is centrally located on the main street in Selva Gardena and within walking distance (200m) from the lifts of the Dolomiti Superski and Sellaronda ski carousel.Antares offers accommodation in a 4 stars hotel or a 3 stars residence and it also has 2 little dependances with more home-like apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Antares Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing