We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a hike at the end of the day”
Review of Hotel Alpino Plan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alpino Plan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We've been there twice, with Crystal. It's a very agreeable hotel. The boot room has heaters that really dry your boots. The food is good and there's a varied breakfast selection, which includes boiled eggs - but nothing else cooked. There's a nice bar and a good selection of wines - they are a bit pricey, but, hey, you're on your holiday. Although they depend a lot on Crystal customers, there's no TV in english... There's a large comfortable sitting room, where you can sit and chat. As mentioned, you have to haul your skis up the hill from the bus stop, about 200 yards. Carrying them down in the morning isn't so bad but will wear down your heels!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SXDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 91 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

Enjoyed a great week with friends. Excellent food which was high quality and good variety. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. All staff were friendly and professional. Slightly out of town bit of a trek to the lift in the morning but skied back to door.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJW93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Booked this through Crystal with the lift pass and ski hire included. Here for New Year and having stayed in selva a few times before, we knew what to expect - a supberb base to explore the sella ronda. Whilst this hotel is at the far end of the village, don't be put off. The family Demetz are the most friendly family we have stayed with. From the minute you arrive, absolutely nothing is too much trouble.
The food is very good with a good buffet breakfast with fruit, yoghurts etc, bread, cheese and hams. Plenty of fresh coffee and tea. The four course evening meal offers a choice of three mains and the wine list is extensive and reasonably priced. The ski room is on the ground floor so no struggling up and down stairs!

The rooms, whilst traditional are spotlessly clean and warm. The bathrooms are spacious and again spotless. Clean towels every day, the duvets covers are changed 2-3 times a week.

In essence, a good hotel and one which their website doesn't do it justice. Would I stay here again? Yes, certainly!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank needabreakWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I went on a walking holiday and found this hotel (which is outside of the main town of Selva) very suitable and good value. The decor is qute dated, but the rooms and bathrooms are very clean. The staff is friendly. The food is basic but pretty good. My only complaint is that this hotel is directly on the main road out of town, making things a bit noisy at times. However, this is not a problem if you are out walking during the day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferry41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

This was our 4th trip to Selva and the first time to the Alpino Plan. It was a late booking and we did have some reservations after reading some of the reviews. However we had a really good holiday. The staff are helpful always willing to help and advise. Our bedroom was small, basic but spotlessly clean and we slept well. Breakfast is basic with bread , ham , cheese, eggs, jams available but no hot option. Evening meal was 4 course and generally good with a choice of starter and mains. The Pasta courses are very good. Getting on the piste is relatively easy with either a short walk to the bus stop or walking downhill to the path at the side of the Beethoven. The bus passes cost 7 Euro each and are occasionally checked by the inspectors. On our last day we were provided with breakfast at 5.20am.
The resort was very busy and we stayed away from the main Sella Ronda route preferring areas such as Pedraces, Alpe di Siusi and Pralongia. The bus trip to Alpe di Siusi from Monte Pana is worth the 5 Euro fee. Overall a great holiday with fantastic weather, great skiing and a good hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveandFreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Hotel was clean we found it cold so wore jumpers even in dining room. Food adequate but basic.

Have to walk down in morning to wait for a bus to take you to town for the slopes. This wouldnt have been so bad had the buses had a schedule but sometimes it would be an hour to get bus back to hotel.

Lovely mountain scenery when ski-ing but the areas are disjointed so you have to hike with skis and boots between them. Crowded coming back across the mountain from about 3.30 onwards on the lifts. Wouldnt use hotel or ski here again.

Went to Siestriere last year much better.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggsFarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

It's a bit of a trime travel to the 70's but this hotel is good value for (not a lot of) money. Although next time I would go to another village closer to the slopes. There are ski buses but they don't go as much as you would expect.

Oh yes and when you do the saturday to saturday ski week, watch out for wednesday. Then they go wild!! you will get clean bedlinnen, napkins and table cloths!! and hold your breath when the lights go out in the dining room.... don't forget to bring your camera.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kees-Ate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Alpina
Hotel Casa Alpina
#46 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Genziana
Hotel Genziana
#54 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Corona Krone
Hotel Corona Krone
#43 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pension Desiree
Pension Desiree
#83 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
21 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Wolkenstein
Hotel Wolkenstein
#82 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garni Hotel Wildbach
Garni Hotel Wildbach
#76 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpino Plan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpino Plan

Address: Strada Plan 71, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: $178 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpino Plan 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alpino Plan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpino Plan Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing