We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“breathtaking surroundings, amazingly warm welcome and fabulously comfortable accommodation: no better place:)”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Selva di Val Gardena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Collonges-Sous-Salève
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“breathtaking surroundings, amazingly warm welcome and fabulously comfortable accommodation: no better place:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

We have stayed at the Granvara every summer for the past five years and have NEVER been disappointed. The owners, Gabriella and Konrad, continue the family tradition and each guest is given a truly warm welcome and made to feel special - a little like a long lost friend. Standards are high and maintained year after year. The rooms are spacious, extremely quiet and impecably maintained. The cuisine- beit the amazing seafood buffet or the regional specialities- is top-class All the staff are both professional and friendly . Indeed, we have met the same staff year after year, which says a lot about the managers and the general atmosphere of the hotel. The wellness center is the cherry on the cake. What better way to relax after a tiring day biking, hiking or skiing? Yes, we love the place! So much so, we invited our sister and brother-in-law this summer and they had the holiday of a lifetime. Thank you Granvara, thank you Gabriella and Konrad - and see you soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    36
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
161
316
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull,
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

I stayed at the Grandvara in August 09 on a 4 night break from the UK with my Mom. We wanted a relaxing stay at a spa hotel and that’s what we got.

The hotel is NOT in the town its about 15min walk away, which is great as you have the most amazing views and have the lovely well kept grounds to enjoy/relax in, rather than have no where to go like the hotels in the town. The walk into town is along a forest path and very pleasant.

Our Room was good. It wasn’t too big (but knew Italian rooms weren’t usually big) but that was the sacrifice for having a balcony and a bath with shower. I was worried about not having a seating area in the room but the balcony was great, and with all the places to sit outside we didn’t really spend anytime in the room at all. The room was clean and beds comfy and fresh towels daily (plenty of them).

The Spa is what sold this place to me, I love a pool and this one is amazing. It has lots of rest areas so if the weather is not nice out you can relax in the warm and still enjoy the view from the panoramic windows. The pool has several different zones with water features for your body, e.g. bubbles and jets etc. The pool goes outside and you swim though automatic doors to the most amazing view I have ever seen from a pool. I loved the bubble area outside just sitting in the sun having a bubble pinching myself am I really here? The Spa has several saunas open from 2pm till 7pm which were great and individual and another resting area should the weather be poor. I had 2 Massages whilst there and they were included in my package, but feel the cost was worth it should I have to have paid. The great thing about the Spa is its size its vast so even if all the guest are there it wouldn’t feel crowded.

The Restaurant was lovely, we had the same table and staff every day. The food could not be faulted 5 delicious courses and allot of variation and choice . Mom and I are not big eaters but the portions were spot on and the deserts were truly excellent. We even had a Tirolean Buffet with live music which was fun. Breakfast buffet was also bounty full with lots of choice. The wine and soft drink are expensive but that was to be expected. I really must congratulate the kitchen team for a job well done

The Service at the Hotel was second to none. This is due to it being family run and they really are friendly and want you have a great stay, and it not being too big. E.g. we pulled up and the manager took out bags off the coach straight to our room and were show their personally by the receptionist after checking in. I had a gripe about the room not having a seating area as shown on the website and was offered an alternative but would have to loose the balcony. This was handled really well and didn’t feel judged. The managers/staff always greeted us and chatted about what we had been up too. They even went out of their way to help with our very early departure!

When we weren’t relaxing we explored the mountains, took the Champinoi Cable car up and walked to the “Coffin Lift” and up into the mountains, Was a great experience and not too much walking, Was amazed to find snow at the top in August. The scenery is just breathtaking and must recommend the trip. We also took the path next to the hotel ,down the valley to St Cristina, its only 30 mins away. Its a lovely village full off traditional wood carver shops and made a change from Selva.

So this is a great Hotel for its location simply breathtaking., also if you want a bit of pampering, relaxation and indulgence. I would defiantly go back and cant recommend this hotel enough for a short summer break (non skiing).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

This hotel is a gem . Set in the beautiful Dolomites , Food is excellent , Staff are friendly, and very professional.I look forward to returning at an early date.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrivsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

First time at the Granvara and we have just positive things to say.

We were looking for a quiet hotel in the middle of meadows and field, and the Granvara is all that. It is always difficult to choose a hotel as on the web every one is “quiet”. In Selva Gardena Granvara is the only one who is really in the middle of the green. Amazing place, the most quiet in town with a wonderful view to the Sella and Sassolungo (it's just in front of you). Perfect to relax.



We have booked a Classic room which is a normal size. Comming again we would ask for a Junior-Suite or Confort-room (as the view is better and the balcony faces the swimming pool)



The hotel is on our point of view a great hotel which could be compared with 5 star hotels at Lake Garda or Como. All is new and very clean.

What we were looking for was a good SPA which made us completely happy. Large size saunas, a wonderful „whisper lounge“ a great outside pool. All looks definitely very well organized. The treatments are not too expensive and the staff is very well prepared.

Breakfast is nicely done with local dishes, an open kitchen at the buffet preparing my daily „ham and eggs“. Dinner is one of the best we ever had. They advertise it as a Gourmet and I can tell you it is a perfect Gourmet cusine with local dishes too. By far the best menus we ever had on holidays in Italy, Germany and Austria. The chef is local but has international experience, it was very nice to have the chance to talk with him after dinner.



So all in one, a real good experience!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderland22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

Great place to stay. We have been going to the Granvara for 4 years now and honestly there are no negative points. The spa + wellness center is fantastic. For hikers and bikers like us, it's a must after a good workout in the mountains around. Outdoor and indoor pool with jets. Hotel was full in July 2009, but there is so much space everywhere that you are never disturbed. Acoustic insulation between rooms is absolutely total: you can't hear a thing when you are in your room. No wonder: it's a real "silence hotel"and clients are all very respectful. We usually book a Junior Suite: it's excellent value for money, spacious room with king size bed, separate bathroom, tub + shower, living room opening on a private terrace.
Great service from the minute you check in. Stunning food, great wines from the region (no need of Bordeaux or Bourgogne, sorry to say that )wonderful service in the dining room.
Gabriella and Konrad Senoner, the owners + managers, are doing a great job. We are definitely going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenevaLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANCHORAGE ALASKA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

We went to the Granvara with my sister and brother in law who decided to surprise us and what a surprise it was. The location in the South Tyrol is breathtaking and there are endless opportunities for hiking, biking, rock climbing etc. Later in the day, or if you simply want to relax, you can visit the Wellness Center with its indoor and outdoor pool, steam rooms, sauna and water beds to relax on while sipping teas. There is professional staff if you want to book for a massage, facial or body treatment.
The restaurant serves marvelous food and wine and you are tended to by the friendliest , most helpful and knowledgeable personnel I've ever come across. Every last detail is supervised by Konrad and his wife Gabriella. Nothing is too much trouble, you are made to feel so welcome. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as the complete getaway in either Summer or Winter.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duneden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

I mistakenly hired our skis from the wrong shop and the hotel owner was so angry that he refused to carry our skis in his courtesy pick up car and drove to the hotel like his friend Michael Schumaker. He made my simple mistake the worst possible start to the holiday.
Other than it not being ski in/out, and the food being overly fussy, the hotel is nice and the wellness centre and pool of a very high standard

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ernesto92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selva di Val Gardena
1.2 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#2 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Miraval NaturHotel & Residence
0.9 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Tyrol
Hotel Tyrol
#6 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel

Property: Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel
Address: Strada la Selva 66, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#3 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#4 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Spa Hotel Granvara in the Dolomites... Room to free your soul, for wellbeing and imagination. Room for the simple things in life and the highest standards of individuality. Welcome to the Granvara on this sunny Val Gardena plateau! Our inviting "home from home" comfort reflects the elegance and exclusivity of the Granvara Spa & Relais Hotel in Wolkenstein. Four-star s luxury coupled with five-star privacy: at the Granvara wellness hotel you'll enjoy individual attention well away from the world at large. A place of tranquillity and energy in a 15,000 metre square private garden and park with a unique 360º view of the South Tyrolean Dolomites, a UNESCO world natural heritage site. The Relais & Spa Hotel Granvara didn't get itsname by accident: "Granvara" comes from the Ladin and means "great wide meadow". For as far as the eye can see, the striking Dolomite mountains of Langkofel, Schlern, Seceda, Cuca, Stevia, Chedul, Cir and Sella surround you. The corresponding peace and feeling of security are guaranteed by the hotel's philosophy: the Relais du Silence philosophy. In the wellness and spa complex on Val Gardena's sun terrace, the hotel's own Dolomite spring and the use of natural sources of energy help guests to experience the gentlest rest and recuperation. Our head chef, Michael, and his team invite you on a very special gourmet journey, Italian specialities combined with traditional South Tyrolean fare. The unique position of Val Gardena's 4-star s hotel, surrounded by greenery and yet directly linked to the popular Sella Ronda, means that in winter you are guaranteed to be able to "ski in and ski out" at the Spa Hotel Granvara. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Granvara Relais Hotel
Hotel Granvara Relais
Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing