We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

No way! In this place the owner Is rude, the food is terrible, the bed is not comfortable, hygiene is an optional ... The spa is a young lady that can do massage and traitment.. Just one for everything... The water in the swimming pool (in winter) is cold.I can t understand how this hotel still has clients! The location is not bad but you can find nice hotel in the same position

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arturella80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 367 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

We began our honeymoon at Hotel Portillo and had a lovely 4 nights there. Everyone running the hotel was very friendly and helpful and we felt very welcome.

The common rooms are nice and relaxed with a warm fire in the evening. Our room was clean and very spacious and we loved our balcony with views of nearby foothills and sunsets in the evening.

We did not eat dinner at the hotel - as there were lots of options nearby that enticed us including the restaurant across the road which served up excellent pizzas and was open until 11pm. Only one drawback we found was that breakfast options seemed to be reduced if you turned up "late" - as in 30-45 minutes before it was set to close... Meats and bread/pastry seemed to just be scraps even if you came down with 45 minutes to spare... so this was the one gripe - nothing terribly off-putting for our time there though.

Within a short 5 minute walk, you are in the heart of Selva (Wolkenstein) where you can find a supermarket, chemist (if needed), tourist info.. and the lift up to the mountains is maybe 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel. Selva was a great base for a hiking holiday to explore Val Gardena and we really enjoyed the warmth of the hotel staff, its location, and its spacious, clean rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Right-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I spent a week in this fabalous hotel, infact it felt like an extended home. I was made feel very welcome and all information regarding treking, mountain biking and road biking was provided. The rooms, spa, breakfast and the overall hospitality was just excellent - I couldnt recommend this paradise on earth enough

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Family of 4 from Norway had the most perfect stay in this hotel 8-11 July 2012. We recived two nice and big rooms with great view.
The service was outstanding and the breakfast and dinner was most enjoyable.
Location of the hotel was ideal with respect to hiking in the mountains, we did not use the car at all.
This Hotel is highly recommendable

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Spacious and lovely rooms, excellent breakfast and dinner, fantastic staff and a a high quality spa area with plenty of options. We were personally greeted by the manager upon arrival! Great value!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed in Portillo 1 week in the beginning of February 2012. And that was amazing!

1. Location.
Just in 300 meters from Selva city center and 500 meters from Champinoi. There is a free hotel shuttle which runs to Selva center and main slopes in the morning and afternoon.
Moreover there is a wonderful and scenic ski path from Nives skilift to Portillo - so there is no need to take a shuttle for coming back to the hotel.

2. Rooms.
My single room was not very spacious, however very clean and cosy. The only minus was sound proofing, so I could hear very, but very well what was happening in the corridor. Almost all the rooms have a terrace with an amazing view to mountains.

3. SPA area.
There is fantastic SPA zone which includes big heated swimming pool, sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi, water beds.
Portillo offers a wide range of wellness services form massage to manicure. Nice quite music and candles all over - the atmosphere of 100% relaxation.
A basket with fig and prunes in the corridor towards the spa and swimming was a nice surprise.

4. Restaurant.
The restaurant is tastefully decorated and spacious. The food was just outstanding delicious and perfectly served!
The dinner with five courses in the evening.
The have gala dinner on Sundays, and once during my stay they made an appetitive with Spumante, oysters and live piano music. That was something indescribable!

5. Staff.
The hotel runs by the family Senorer who pays a lot of attention to the comfort of their guests. The staff is always friendly and helpful. I would like to thank these wonderful people, particularly Mr. Oliver Senoner, for their kind attention, time and help! They have created such a friendly and welcoming atmosphere, so every client feels like at home.

I would love to come back to this wonderful hotel and definitely recommend it to everybody who is looking for a nice, quite, high-standard ski holidays!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna_Bella84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Portillo 4 nights last week and we had an amazing time. The hotel is run by a family who are very friendly and helpful. The rooms and the service are brilliant. There is a shuttle bus that runs in the morning and afternoon from the hotel to town/ski slopes. The food was high quality and 5* dinner with 5 courses in the evening. We will definately go back and stay at this hotel - there is nothing I can fault. Thank you for a lovely stay. Natalie

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.4 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#6 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#9 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
546 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#2 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dorfer Alpine & Charming
Hotel Dorfer Alpine & Charming
#19 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
196 reviews
1 mi away
Boutique & Fashion Hotel Maciaconi
Boutique & Fashion Hotel Maciaco...
#26 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'

Address: Strada Meisules 65, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy (Formerly Hotel Chalet Portillo)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#8 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#9 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#16 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: $217 - $930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966' 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a hotel in Selva Val Gardena where to relax and spend unforgettable holidays, the Portillo Dolomites****superior is exactly what you need. You'll have the possibility to ski and make excursions and then relax in the gorgeous spa and wellness area. SINCE 1966' AND COMPLETELY RENEWED IN THE YEAR 2013! Energy and mountain, evolution and transformation, dynamism and diligence, welcome and attention are terms that describe the Portillo Dolomites 1966'. Come and encounter the charme of the Dolomites, of the alpine lifestyle and take advantage of your holidays to get in touch with nature and with the outdoor activities. A holiday in the Portillo Dolomites 1966' means pleasure, relax and fashion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Portillo Hotel
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966' Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing