We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever Ski Trip”
Review of Hotel Sun Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sun Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

After skiing for more than thirty years I have finally found the perfect hotel for a ski trip. Stayed at the Sun Valley Hotel with a group of friends and had a fantastic week. All the staff were very friendly with smiling faces. Food was first class and tremendous variety. Rooms very large with good storage space and very comfortable. Visited the beginning of January 2014 and have all ready booked for next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sun Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 535 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

The stay at Sun Valley is exactly what you need if you want to feel welcome and appreciated as a guest. A very warm welcome and sincere staff that is always ready to be of assistance at all times. Great rooms with a great view over the town and the mountain in our case.
Unfortunately for us it was just a short stay but next time around we will certainly be back. The accommodation is a bit more expensive then other hotels but the service and friendliness is worth every Euro!

Room Tip: The junior suite has a great bath :-)
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our friends -tree families-and my family (all with kids) stayed at Sun Valley this January! That was great! Everything was perfect! We had all we needed for nice winter holidays. Food and wine list -perfect! Everybody very attentive. Swimming pool, saunas - real pleasure. We liked the rooms! All families want to return back! By the way, one family -for the 5th time:) Thank you, Sun Valley!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Elena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Sun Valley and would definitely love to go back. The Nogler Family went out of their way to make this a dream holiday. We were a family group of 12 and returned home with very special memories of this incredible place. Special thanks to Susie, Vanessa, Demitri, Fabio and Luka. Your humour and kindness in keeping us well informed, rested and relaxed, fed and hydrated was exceptional! Special thanks to the chef who prepared the most delicious fine dining. The breakfasts were also superb. Thank you!

Our room was incredibly spacious and quiet with an amazing view from the bed onto the Dolomites. The pool and relaxation area was lovely with much attention paid to detail. The location of the hotel in getting to the ski-lifts is perfect!

Room Tip: Our room was wonderful with a stunning view across the Dolomites from the bed.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We visited Selva this December (21-28) and we stayed in the best hotel of the village!!!
The hotel is located in the central of Selva, near to the ski lifts, ski schools, shops, restaurants & bars. We parked the car when we arrived and picked it up on our departure!!! Everything is in a walking distance from the hotel.
There is also a very good spa area in the hotel, with a big variety of treatments, big internal pool, relaxing room etc. this was very needing after a long day on the ski slopes.
We were dining every evening in the hotel. Dinner was real good experience!!! A five course delicious gourmet dinner was served from ecxellent stuff (Dimitri, Louka, Fabio, Carmen & Lauret). My congratulations to the chef also!!!
Mrs Suzi Nogler,her family and the stuff are absolutly great. They made our stay there very pleasant !!!
Keep on going!
Thank you

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Grav-A00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We have been traveling to the Dolomites for 12 years on our annual ski holiday. This year we decided to try Hotel Sun Valley, based on its location and great reviews. Even though it was significantly more expensive than other nice hotels we have stayed in over previous years, we thought we would give it a try. We were very impressed with the wait staff in the dining room. Superb service and excellent food. Our last morning we were preparing to pack and I went to open our room safe and my code did not work. I went to the front desk and asked for help in opening the safe. They sent up a gentleman who opened it with the master code and much to my shock and horror all of our valuables were gone. Three passports, three wallets and jewelry. I ran down to the front desk to describe what had happened. The young lady at the reception that morning was very alarmed and seemed eager to help. The hotel called the police and they arrived and were very professional. HOWEVER, the response of the manager was unbelievable. She immediately implied that we were somehow responsible for our theft. A close friend of ours was accused as a potential thief as well. Not once did the manager show any signs of empathy or sympathize with our situation. It was as if we had somehow staged the whole thing…to what end I have no idea. If her behavior had not been so odd, we would have not left with such a vile taste in our mouths. Oddly enough, another person in our group could not open his safe either. His personal code had been changed and the master code had to be employed to open the safe. He was accused of having "forgotten" his code….the one in which he always uses and had used multiple times with this safe. He was lucky and only had his passport in his safe. We only assume the thief did not think one passport was worth the risk. However, our valuables must have been worth the risk. We will likely never see our belongings again. We are so disappointed in the way in which the hotel handled this. We did not rob ourselves blind. We are at a huge loss and have been inconvenienced in ways that will continue as we have to replace credit cards, permanent passports, my husband's work visa for his overseas job. Not to mention irreplaceable personal items of jewelry. We have travelled extensively over the years and have never had a problem with a room safe. Be warned, your valuables are not safe in the room "safe".

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Cindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusannaSelvaGardena, Direttore at Hotel Sun Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Mrs. and Mr.

we are very sorry about the unfortunate situation on your last day with us at Sun Valley. The fact is that there is no sign of any evidence that someone broke into your room. The safe was locked and as stated to the Carabinieri the room was not open by anyone else but the clients themselves. The windows were all intact and the safe was by no means forced open. Your ipod and computer were in your room as you left them.
This situation was difficult for the manager to understand wich is why she asked if you had outside friends enter your room which you did. It is Italian law that only hotel guests are allowed in guests rooms. By no means was she wanting to acuse your friend but there were absolutely non signs of breakin. We apologise that the manager did not show empaty or sympathize for you but she was trying to deal with this strange situation as best and as professionally as possible. Your friend who said he had lost his cell phone then found it in his room.
Mrs. ...gave a list of lost belongings to the Carabinieri which i can not give any information on as it is in there hands. I am replying now, with minimal details as this, is still under Carabinieri investigation.
I must confirm that this whole situation is very strange to us. Our hotel has been operating since 1956 my hard working parents built the hotel and it has been operating as a family hotel for generations. We are hard working, well respected hotel owners by the locals, our employees and our hotel guests. I repeat in all these years we have never had any situation like this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Our family stayed in the Sun Valley for four nights towards the end of a three week holiday touring Italy. We stayed in some lovely places on our trip, but we all agree that this was the best hotel of all. Of course the location is good; it is almost impossible to go wrong in this area. Our rooms were also very nice. The food was consistently excellent, so we did not regret being half board and the selection of local wines was perfect. However, what really made this hotel was the quality of service. Absolutely everyone on the staff was so friendly and helpful, from parking in the garage to driving away again. The staff are a real credit to the hotel and deserve real praise for making our stay the most enjoyable of our whole holiday. Thanks Hotel Sun Valley!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaviesBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selva di Val Gardena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#6 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#9 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
516 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vitalpina Hotel Dosses
Vitalpina Hotel Dosses
#1 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
386 reviews
7.1 mi away
Alpina Dolomites
Alpina Dolomites
#1 of 24 in Alpe di Siusi
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sun Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun Valley

Address: Strada Dantercepies 7, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#3 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: $159 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sun Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sun Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Valley Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing