We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Hotel Sun Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sun Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We chose this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and so had very high expectations. Despite this he hotel still managed to exceed those expectations.

The Location:

The hotel's location really couldnt be any better. It is situated at the top of Selva, very close to the three main lifts and the ski school. The ski school is a 75m walk up the hill - which in my rather unfit state was a bit of a shock on the first day (but got easier as the week went on). The Dantercepies and Costabella lifts are about 50m away and the main Campinoi gondola is about 80 metres away. I got in the habit in the mornings of walking down the gentle hill to Costabella and skiing the red/blue down to the ski school - a fantastic way of getting into the groove for the day ahead.

The hotel sits slightly up the hill with really nice views of the town and the slopes and mountain.

Most of the life in the town does seem to be up the top end of the town and so there are various shops, cafes, bars and restaurants within touching distance from the hotel. That doesn't mean that the hotel is in a noisy spot - far from it, we actually found the hotel to be incredibly tranquil and there was neither noise or disruption from the world outside.

We had a comfort double room in the separate but connected building (by a lovely underground walkway - filled with wine and skiing memorabilia and a heavenly vanilla scent...). My wife, who is a huge Michael Schumacher fan noticed a photo of the great man with a member of the family and every morning, as we strolled to breakfast and evening, as we strolled to dinner, she said hello!

Unusually for Selva it is possible (almost) to ski back to the hotel. There is a blue run that comes down from the reds of Costabella and Dantercepies and the ski school which curves around the hotel and ends about 15 metres outside its front door - fantastic.

There are a lot of ski hire places all around Selva but there is a good place just outside the hotel which was very convenient and high quality.

The Hotel

Put simply, it is lovely. I have tried to think of some areas that could be improved to ensure a balanced review but that is a bit of a challenge. The reality is that the hotel is that perfect size where there's enough going on that you don't feel too visible but not so much that you feel anonymous. The balance is spot on.

It goes without saying that the hotel is spotlessly clean, the public areas are very welcoming - they serve the most amazing hot chocolate - it is high quality without being in any way pretentious.

We used the beautiful spa / pool a few times and it was wonderfully peaceful - apart from my wife, I swam alone on the times that we visited the pool. There is a sauna (be warned - it is a naked area), massage and beauty treatments and a lovely quiet room where you can lie on water beds, sipping a herbal tea looking at the slopes - bliss.

The Accomodation

As mentioned, we had a comfort double which was surprisingly large. It comprised a very nice bedroom area with flat screen tv and plenty of storage space, a partially screened sitting area with a sofa and coffee table, and an enormous bathroom with natural stone tiling and a large bath which was perfect for lying back and soaking the tired limbs at the end of the day.

There is a stocked fridge (which is big enough that you can store your own things if you want) and a safe.

The room was really light and airy and had views over the town and slopes. We could lay in bed and watch the Costabella lift and Campinoi gondola toiling away each morning. Unlike some ski hotels we have been to which can be stiflingly warm, this one was not overly hot at night.

The Restaurant

What can I say...the food was absolutely top quality. It was fresh, imaginative, extremely tasty and well presented. Normally, even on half board, we eat out a few times so that we can experience the local community but we didn't do that here.

There is a self service salad course where the ingredients really couldn't be fresher. A soup course, an intermediate course, the main course and desert. There are 3-4 options on the intermediate and main courses which cater for all tastes. Well, nearly... One one evening my wife (who doesn't eat veal, lamb or most fish) found it difficult to get excited about the menu - the staff picked up on this and after a few minutes a personalised menu had been agreed - consisting of terrific penne with pork ragu followed by some chicken. This was all done in a way that conveyed a genuine desire to please a client.

The hotel has a really good wine list which is remarkably good value. We enjoyed some of the regional wines, in particular a lovely Chardonnay by Elena Walch called "Beyond the Clouds".

The Staff:

Apart from perhaps the staff at tthe Burg Hotel (in Oberlech, Austria), I don't think I can remember such friendly, helpful and professional staff. Whilst this applies to the whole hotel, the restaurant staff deserve a special mention - they were absolutely wonderful throughout our stay. Attentive without being smothering, leaving you alone so you could have a conversation but without feeling ignored.

The Town:

We liked Selva - it's not as convenient for skiing as say Oberlech, where you put step outside, put on your skis and off you wobble, but it isn't so inconvenient to be a problem. There is a bit of walking involved but within comfortable limits. Choosing a hotel close to the main lifts would be a good idea but most of the hotels will offer you a shuttle to the lifts anyway.

The town is sort of a "Y" shape and most of the activity is mainly either side of the main road (which can at peak times get quite busy with traffic) and so much of the shopping etc is along this strip. There are quite a few wood carving shops (the area is famous for its wood carvings), cafes (Cafe Mozart is recommended) restaurants and other shops. There is a really good SPAR in the town which was well stocked with lots of interesting things to try. Wine is very inexpensive - in fact we thought the prices of most things to be incredibly reasonable (even ignoring the fact that it is a ski resort).

Restaurant prices were notably reasonable, even in the huts up the mountains.

There is a bowling alley with 4 lanes, a few nightclubs (one connected to the hotel in fact - but we heard no noise from this at all).

The Slopes:

I am a cautious intermediate skier and I found the skiing excellent. The Costabella run down to the ski school was a great wway of wwaking up in the morning - its a tiny bit steep at the top as you come off the lift, but then settles down into a nice blue run through the trees.

The whole area is ideal for intermediates and whilst there are certainly some challenges, I felt that I was able to deal with most slopes. There is a tricky red at the top of the Campinoi gondola which is quite steep and icy intially - I spent a few minutes watching before setting off. The Sasslong (world cup downhill run) is great first thing in the morning when there's fresh snow and fewer people around...it is steep in parts but a rewarding challenge.

On the whole the lifts were pretty clear except for around the 10-10.30 peak period. Costabella can get a little crowded at this time but it clears fairly quickly (5 minutes shuffling along with the pack). The Dantercepies lift at 10.30 was a bit of a scrum and took 15 minutes of polite barging to get through but other than that, no problems.

The area has world class snow making and the quality and coverage of the snow was really good.

My wife tried cross country skiing and there is a lovely circuit at Vallunga (further up from the ski school) where you can hire the skiis etc. I tried it one afternoon and, apart from the fact that it is tiring, it was so tranquil gliding through the trees.

Summary:

We really liked Selva and I would certainly come back. The hotel though, we LOVED! They have got a perfect blend of quality, professionalism, friendliness, warmth, location and range of facilities. Superb!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank a_travelling_wilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 536 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

What a brilliant hotel - we spent a week here with friends at the end of January. It is well located for access to the lifts and you can ski back to the side of the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Our room (modern suite) was lovely, spacious and clean. The only downside was the noise from the nightclub opposite. The food was exceptional and the staff very helpful. Lovely pool/spa area and sauna/steam room etc. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough - we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We are very sadly on the last day of a perfect weeks stay at Hotel Sun Valley. This is the best hotel we have stayed at in a ski resort and there have been a few over the years. The team that work here are excellent, good fun and couldn't have done more to help. Our Comfort Room was large and very quiet. We stayed half board, the food was outstanding - breakie great, and dinner very well thought out and cooked to a great standard. The Spa is excellent too. Location wise, Sun Valley is 5 mins walk to the nearest gondola and lifts and you can ski back to the door. Selva Gardena's ski area is vast and really well serviced. We love Hotel Sun Valley and Selva and will come back .... All in all, too good to be true but we are very happy to report that it is!

Room Tip: Comfort room is absolutely large enough for Parents and child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Poi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Incredible food; wonderful, friendly staff, very comfortable and large rooms in a great location. The only complaint was the noise outside of the disco Fri and Sat nites at 4AM; however, I was easily able to go back to sleep. Will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank len m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

we are a group of skiers from Spain, and stayed in January 2012. we chose it based on recomendations from different sources and its ideal location very close to the Champinoi and Dantercepies cable-cars. Sun Valley is very well managed by the Nogler family, and both them and the very friendly and efficient staff, they do endevour to give you a first class service. the rooms were adecuate in size and quality, and well sorted and comfortable. in respect to the restaurant it is excellent, in both food and service. Very flexible with timetables, menu variations. etc. You could recomend this Hotel with total peace of mind. Just an example of their sterling service: we did require to extend our stay one extra day and the hotel was fully booked. the reception team then searched all hotels nearby until they found and reserved for us the correct accomodation.one of us even lost his gloves and realized when he was back in Spain. They then searched the hotel, found them, and send them by post to Spain. we will certainly come back when we return to Val Gardena

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santiago s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This is a great hotel for the price. We had a comfort room which was more than big enough for us and our 12 year old son. The ski lifts were all within walking distance of the hotel so our car stayed in the garage. The owner, Susi Nogler, and her staff made our stay fantastic. Our half-board menu was superb and anything our son didn't like, they accomodated him by making him something special to eat. Our waiter, Dimitri, and their sommalier, Fabio, made our dining experience out of this world. The facilities were outstanding and every detail was thought of in the design of the hotel. We solidly recommend this to anyone looking for a great vacation in northern Italy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randpat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We just had an amazing holiday at the hotel Sun Valley in Selv di Val gardena - again! What I would like to point out in this review is the fact, that this hotel is really maintained! It still is so clean as the first time we visited it. THE CLENLINESS is the most important priority! The wellnes area, saunas, the pool - everything is as new! And that is what I admire. They really look after every detail. Of course the attention of the staff is still one of the thing which is bringing us back every year. The food is excellent, dinner is served so professionally, they always have something new to show. They are working really hard to stay nr.1! For instance, I have never seen a pill transformed into a napkin in front of my eyes when I wished to clean my hands after eating shrimps! This small details are surelly the greatest advantage of this hotel, that no hotel has. Every guest feels like at home-even better; is that even possible to believe? Yes, I guess it is.
We had a little accident at the ski slope and our daughter had a kne injury. The hotel staff immediately offered us help, and arrange a doctor within minutes. That is what I call 'looking after the guests'. All the hotel family always welcomes you so warm as if you were one of them. Feels really good.
Once again I would like to thank all the hotel staff for wonderful holiday and we can hardly wait for next visit! Merry Christmas and a happy New Year!

Room Tip: All the rooms in the building are perfectly clean, renovated, nicely decorated with style!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ritem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selva di Val Gardena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
573 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
521 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Tyrol
Hotel Tyrol
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
254 reviews
7.2 mi away
Miraval NaturHotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sun Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun Valley

Address: Strada Dantercepies 7, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#1 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#2 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#2 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: $305 - $727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sun Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sun Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Valley Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing