We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great

Great. Well i‘m interested in general in earth history and this is a very good place for young and... read more

Reviewed September 26, 2018
m8eleven
,
Lisbon, Portugal
via mobile
For me it is a MUST! to visit this museum with my guests. It is phantastic!

If you are on the way between Stuttgart and München you have to leave the motoway for two hours and... read more

Reviewed August 19, 2017
hans-hilmar
,
Kirchheim unter Teck, Germany
Read all 43 reviews
  
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveler rating
9
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 10 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Great. Well i‘m interested in general in earth history and this is a very good place for young and old to learn, understand and enjoy this well organized Museum. Not big big, but when you are nearby you should pass there and enjoy the past of our planet.

Thank m8eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

If you are on the way between Stuttgart and München you have to leave the motoway for two hours and visit this great museum. All my friends from any places of europe had seen the exebitions. It is nice for old and young as well.

1  Thank hans-hilmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2016

I have been to many Natural Museums (USA side) but this one has one of the best specimens I have seen and I must say some rather large ones at that. Very friendly staff, small café, small gift shop inside and a small dinosaur park outside. Also a dig site right across the street. But there is a better site just minutes away in another review I will post or get created. Check out their website for details. Well worth a visit for your fossil hunter.

Thank WanderingParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016

Incredible place with excellent displays which really illustrate how fossils are formed and some really interesting fossils (and life-size dinos!). Great for kids and adults. It's worth getting the English audio guide for €2 as the printed text descriptions are in German, and the guide contains loads of useful info (albeit a bit cheesy at times). We spent 2.5 hours here for a thorough visit.

1  Thank WendyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2016

well worth a visit to see all the fossils recovered from the local slate mines. Spent a couple of ver interesting hours there before leaving for the mines which were shut!

Thank 768tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2015

The museum focuses narrowly on fossilized sea life and knocks it out of the park. It contains dozens of rather large skeletons and fossils of all sorts of ancient sea creatures from ichthyosaurus to seaweed. Some of the large fossils even have embryos inside. The display with marine figures hanging from the ceiling with a sea blue backdrop also has excellent artistic value.

Thank DanSSwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2015

Our German relatives found out I was a geologist and took us to this small museum. It was such a gem. The layout is very well done. The exquisite wall of huge crinoid fossils was absolutely jaw droppingly amazing!

1  Thank greenstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This small museum is one of the hidden gems of the region. It is a must see with anyone with any interest in fossils and geology. The quality of the displayed fossils (thanks to the extremely delicate and skilled preparation by generations of the Hauff family) surpasses much of what is available elsewhere in the 'grand' Natural History museums of the world.

For die-hard fossil collectors, the next stop should be the Kromer quarry in the neighboring village of Ohmden, where it is possible to hunt for the same fossils (hammer/chisel provided on request) diring the spring to autumn months.

Thank andrasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The museum has a lot of fossiles that were only found here in Holzmaden, such as the biggest piece of Sealillies (in German "Seelilien"), 8 meters x 16 meters and others. You can also look for fossiles just across the street (5 euros to enter the stone pit). Another stone pit is located 2,5 km away, for that one it is better to have a car with you. If you come with public transport, fly in to the airport Stuttgart, take the S1-metro until Kirchheim/Teck and then bus number 174, until stop Holzmaden Platz (not before!). Unfortunately here on Tripadvisor there is no hotel mentioned for Holzmaden, I stayed at a small b&b-place called Holzmaden-Oase in Schieferweg 22, just a 15 minute walk from the museum. Only one room, but the nicest service ever! The Lady invited me for dinner with the family and I got from the birthday cake of her son. If you are into prehistoric times, then this is a wonderful place.

1  Thank Finotzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This small privately owned museum just off the A8 between Stuttgart and Munich shows the finest fossils from the Holzmaden Quarry. This location has given us some of the best ever specimen of marine fish and reptiles from the Jurassic. Museums all over the world own one or two pieces, but here you can see a whole ecosystem beautifully preserved, like diving into a petrified ocean. And I wouldn't have liked to meet some of those ichthyosaurs!

Thank Ecaillette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews