We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a miss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel de Rose
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Scalea
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night on our way to Sicily. Our welcome at the front desk left a lot to be desired - the staff were unfriendly and only one any English at all, and even this was very limited. The room was dark and outdated. The towels were the worst we've ever had to use in a hotel. The selection of food at breakfast was extremely limited and uninteresting. In short, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel de Rose
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 210 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2010

I have travelled to Italy on many occasions and love the 'less touristy' places. Having visited Calabria for the first time last year, I was so impressed that I decided to return again and explore further.

After searching the Internet, I came up with what seemed like another good destination and went for it. The town was Scalea, in Northern Calabria - Grand Hotel De Rose. I booked six nights, half board and requested a sea view room.

It was dark when I arrived but the room was lovely. Maybe not all 'mod cons', but pleasant with french windows and balcony However as it was dark at the time, I could see little apart from the lit-up promenade.

The following morning I woke to a lovely view of the beach and sea. The hotel grounds were lovely and breakfast was served in the garden terrace overlooking the sea. The selection was plentiful, including eggs and bacon, which was a nice change from just the continental. The staff were also pleasant. Not all spoke English, but as I speak a little Italian it was nice to put it to the test! Evening meal was served in the restaurant above which was decorated in typical Grand Hotel style. The food was delicious and for the price I paid for half board, I found it quite good value.

Scalea itself is mainly Italian speaking which suited me fine. It was lovely to get away from it all and escape from 'the English' for a while. The Calabrian people are lovely and were appreciative at my attempts to speak the language.

The beach under the hotel was lovely and so convenient. Sunbeds, deckchairs and umbrellas were included in the price of the hotel, which saved a lot of money over the course of a few days. The sea was lovely and clean, so much so, I hardly used the lovely hotel pool. Scalea town centre is quite small but the coastline stretches quite a distance. The nearby town of 'Diamante' is also worth a visit (2 stops by train).

All in all it was a lovely trip and again Calabria did not let me down. The coastline in the North of Calabria was as picturesque as the South. As in most regions of Italy, Scalea was safe and the way of life enviable.

I would recommend the Grand Hotel De Rose, if you are looking for a relaxing beach holiday,with good food, nice staff and approximately a fifteen minute walk to the town centre, along the promenade. I was made to feel welcome and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheshG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

Our family spent 3 days at this hotel. The rooms are very nice, the pool and beach area are beautiful. Dining service was very good.

No one at the front desk spoke English, which made communciation a little difficult. However, the waiters in the dining room spoke some English and provided good service.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: ci sono delle camere a piano terra con vista muro, che sconsiglierei
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lagatta66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghderose, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel de Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TizianaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghderose, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel de Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scalea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Talao
Hotel Talao
#2 of 11 in Scalea
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Matteo Palace Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Sea Breeze
Hotel Sea Breeze
#9 of 11 in Scalea
61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel GeNova
Hotel GeNova
#7 of 11 in Scalea
74 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Rose

Address: Lungomare Ruggiero Di Lauria | At Strada Marina, 87029 Scalea, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Scalea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Scalea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Scalea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Scalea
Price Range: $81 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel de Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel De Rose is a comfortable hotel on the sea, located in the Scalea bay, "Costa dei Cedri" in Calabria, offering unique and suggestive landscapes. It is the ideal solution for a total relaxing holiday. The private beach , fully equipped with sunbeds and sun umbrellas, swimming-pool over the sea in the garden offer relaxing moments. The Grand Hotel De Rose is also the ideal location for all the adventure and sea sports lovers. Several activieties such as rafting and trekking at the discovery of the secret naturalistic and archeological beauties are possible. The 64 rooms decorated with a seafaring theme, offer pleasant views of sea and the coast and the Scalea hills. The rich buffet breakfast with a variety of sweets and local products is served in the restaurant hall, while its lido in the private beach offers light lunches with delicious and fresh specialities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel de Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Scalea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing