We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed and Breakfast Lavinium
Ranked #9 of 21 Scalea B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Hidden in the ancient part of Scalea, a beautiful little town in southern Italy, there's the B&B Lavinium, where I had a great experience. You have to walk a lot of stairs to reach it, but once you're there it's all worth it: it's basically a nice warm house, with four rooms each one different from the others, all personalized with impeccable taste and flawless attention to details. The beds are elegant and very comfortable, luxurious and wide bathrooms are available in any room, and upstairs there's a nice kitchen and dining room-living room. You can ask for the maid's services to get breakfast or if you prefer to feel like at home you're allowed to bring your things and make your own breakfast, as you want to, any time you want to, stove, fridge and everything you need is there for you. Big fancy tvs in every room and in the living room, along with an elegant couch and fireplace. Last but not least, actually perhaps the most amazing thing, there are two big terraces, one facing south-east and one facing north-west, with a gazebo, chairs and tables where you can enjoy an incredible postcardy-like view of the whole coast, including a magnificent sunset on the sea, with the whole city above you, surrounded by only the fresh air and gentle sound of the waves. If you're planning a trip to Scalea i highly recommend you this place unless you have health issues which make it impossible or very hard for you to walk up and down 70-ish staircases, if not then you MUST book a room here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lady_Exila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 48 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

With an excellent view in the old charming part of scalea, this b&b is situated. Just in the center of scalea and 2 minutes walk from the beach. This is a cosy B&B, very intimate where the manager, Antonio, give you a hand with all matters that can arise.
A very good breakfast is served in the mornings. Clean and friendly. Cannot be better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie188095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed here in June and enjoyed the Italian setting. Little English spoken here, and people are so friendly. They know how to greet and serve. Antonio was so helpful, and spoke some English and made the wonderful Italian breakfast of capuccino and homemade cornetta(croissant) and Italian sfogliatella pastry. The view from the room was the sweeping vista of the sea with the Church steeple and the little town. It has a piazza that is busy during the late mornings and pranzo(lunch) then it starts up again around 6pm. till midnight. Be prepared for the motorscooters at 11pm at night.

The bed and breakfast was spotless with a wood floor room and bathroom that was tiled. Antonio and the housekeeper will make sure that you are comfortable.

If you wish a real Italian experience, this is it. In the plaza you will find good food and drink, and friendly Italians ready to serve and practice their English. I would definitely go back.

There are about 60 steps to the Bed and Breakfast, so if you are not used to that, it could be a challenge, but the building setting is an ancient setting so enjoy! .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseanne124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The Lavinium is located in the absolute best part of Scalea. Located on a hill amongst the most ancient buildings in the town it is surrounded by all of the historic sites and has an amazing view of the sea which happens to be just a few minutes walk away. Everything is within easy walking distance (restaurants, shops, beach). And, the train station is less than a 5 minute car ride away from the B&B. I believe it is also walkable but didn't want to find out for myself with the heavy bags I was carrying so, I opted for a taxi pick-up (only 10euros) to arrive at the Lavinium. Antonio would have happily picked me up but was having car problems at that moment and so kindly sent a driver to the station to receive me upon arrival. Antonio met me upon arriving the St. Padre Pio statue at the bottom of the stairs leading to the B&B and kindly carried my bag up the 3 flights of ancient stairs. He was also kind enough to drop me to the train station upon my departure. As a solo traveler, my single room was perfect and the size of the town was a nice respite after nearly 3 months of traveling around Europe. It was wonderful to simply relax and take in the small town in a leisurely way. And, the Lavinium provided the best breakfasts I had in all of Europe! They put on a beautiful spread of both hot and cold options and even provided professionally made espresso and cappuccino for the coffee lovers! I truly enjoyed my stay and hope to return. Thank you to Antonio and Dragana for their hospitality!

Room Tip: The single room has a wonderful view of the sea and sunsets plus has added privacy by being on the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My parents, my sisters, my brother and me went to Scalea to learn more about our heritage and to see where my father's family came from. Antonio made us feel like family, the apartments he rented to us were comfortable, spacious and very clean. We developed a great friendship with Antonio and still keep in contact! He gave us a tour himself and taught us about the history...if you are looking to experience a vacation in which you feel that you are immersed in the city and the community this is definitely one I would recommend! Scalea is absolutely gorgeous, the historic village, the incredible food, the stunning views, the beautiful beach and the rich history makes this place one of my favorite go to spots, and of course, it does not hurt to feel like you are home:)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilyvitale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Antonio was very nice and picked us up from the train station. I must thank him for carrying my wife's luggage up all the stairs. It is located in the old town with many twisting stairways. If he asks you the short hard way or the long easy way, tough it out and take the short way...much shorter.

The house was magnificent. Old, charming, and full of antique furniture. The breakfast was amazing, nice big cups of fresh cappuccinos. Croissants and breads with all the jams you can imagine...homemade! We must apologize to him for the last day. We had to leave early to catch the train, he called a taxi the day before to make arrangements. But we must have lost it in translation that he would get up early to make us breakfast! He came down all the stairs to the main road to find us munching on gas station croissants and coffees... Oh well.

The room was cute, great view of the ocean, a place to hang your clothes to dry. We rearranged the bathroom furniture...it just made sense.

Antonio took us to his office to check in and print off boarding passes for our next flight...thank you very much Antonio!

There isn't a whole lot to do in Scalea other than lie on the beach, 10 Euro a day for two sun beds and an umbrella.

You must go to the restaurant La Playa Pizzeria Ristorante. It is about a 10-15 min walk from the place, just on the main road a few blocks from the beach. Its not fancy or high class, but you get way more than you pay for. 6 Euros for a giant bowl of mussels...which would cost over 20 Euros in Canada at any restaurant. That was just the appetizer.

Also the pizzeria right at the bottom of the old town against the cliffs I would avoid. We had a good snack and drinks there the first night we arrived late. The next night we had the most horrible service and food. We got stuck into a small table in the corner, no one would come to refill water beer, ect. Even after asking twice. The food was very samll portions compared to the night before. Just a bad experience. I think the worst in 5 weeks in europe.

Do bring mosquito repellent...they are small little ones, but pack a punch!

If you want to ask any other questions, feel free.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamShafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: chiedete vista mare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinkSicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scalea hotels
0.5 mi away
Santa Caterina Village
Santa Caterina Village
#5 of 12 in Scalea
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel de Rose
Grand Hotel de Rose
#6 of 12 in Scalea
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Il Belvedere
B&B Il Belvedere
#3 of 21 in Scalea
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Scalea
Hotel Scalea
#17 of 21 in Scalea
1 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Domenico Family Hotel
0.4 mi away
La Suite del Faro
La Suite del Faro
#1 of 21 in Scalea
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Lavinium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Lavinium

Address: Vico II Marittimo 12, 87029 Scalea, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Scalea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Scalea
Price Range: $70 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellness & RelaxationWe are happy to introduce the new structure, management and services of our Lavinium Bed and Breakfast, located on the Mediterranean Sea in Scalea, Calabria.In a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere it is possible to customize all of the services related to your stay in order to allow individuals, families or groups to work, or simply relax. We offer expertise and quality management, as well as the friendliness and hospitality of our Wellness Team, guided by Dragana and Antonio.Completely renovated in 2007, equipped with the best comforts, in an intimate environment, rural but chic, almost bohemian, the Lavinium Bed and Breakfast will make your stay unique and unforgettable. From our balconies you will enjoy a breath-taking view of the Tyrrhenian Coast. You will also be able to walk through the typical paths of the historical town center, in search of romantic corners and scents of the Mediterranean, spending your evenings surrounded by spectacular colors and lights.You can choose to stay in one of our four cozy bedrooms, furnished with elegant antique furniture, all equipped with a luxury bathroom, television and Internet access. Upon entering, you will feel as if you are stepping into the celestial world of the Goddesses, Diana, Aphrodite, Athena and Calliope, that will accompany you into a calm and relaxing night’s sleep on a latex mattress and an orthopedic or neck pillow.For small families or for small groups of friends, the Gaia suite is a true jewel. Set in living rock, with Roman style bricks, embellished with suggestive arches, with two bedrooms, living room/kitchen and two bathrooms, you will be able to rediscover sensations of the old days.At breakfast you will be delighted with tasty jams, and sweeten your palate with fresh picked fruit, savor fresh baked bread, and be intoxicated by the perfumes of jasmine, lavender and bougainvillea. Is there anything better than having a rich breakfast while practicing conversation in Italian or English, in German or French, in Russian or Japanese, in our pleasant dining room? It is ideal to begin your day, illuminated by the sun and full of energy.Lavinium Bed and Breakfast is especially suitable for individuals, families or groups that would simply like to stay with us or take advantage of our wellness packages. We also accommodate companies for work retreats (workshops, seminars, conferences, …) and those who would like to discover: the land that conquers the five senses: crystal-clear sea, mountains covered by snow, thick woods, silvery rivers, mysterious lakes, and relaxing thermal baths; the land of cultural goods and heritage: natural beauties, historical and artistic richness, and religious sites; the land of food and wine tradition: cordial hospitality, amusement for all tastes and for all ages; the land of fantastic bays and enchanting rock, pebble, or sand beaches just 200 meters away from our B&B.Open almost year round at advantageous prices, we are ready to offer special agreements to your company or promotional packages to your best clients, your managers, your friends or family members.Have we caught your interest? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Lavinium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing