We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem - clearly favoured by locals”
Review of Il Cantuccio

Il Cantuccio
Ranked #7 of 376 Restaurants in Savona
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 16, 2019 via mobile

Wonderful food is served here. Small, busy restaurant with good service by a lovely waitress. We arrived at midday for lunch and by 1pm the restaurant was nearly full. Grateful that we found it via TripAdvisor as we would have missed it otherwise!

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank EJChiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 252 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Small room with 30 places where the right attention is paid to the quality of food and customer care. The reception is really pleasant as well as the guide to the choice of dishes and wines. Last night we had dinner really well, both fish and meat dishes. Delicious house desserts. If you arrive on a cruise in Savona we strongly recommend a lunch. Good to the owners

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank billa_billa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016

No need to ask for a menu since this restaurant offers everyday dishes made from local ingredients and conveniently handwritten on an erasable sign.

You can choose between two different kinds of pasta: tagliatelle or ravioli, and there are others to accompany different dishes like “Branzino Al Forno,” bass prepared on the grill or in the oven, and there is also a filet of grouper with zucchini.

We asked for a local wine and had fondant chocolate mousse for dessert.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank gabykouchacji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2016

Well, not really undiscovered because the Savonese and other Italians have written all the previous reviews.

Liguria majors on fish along the coast and Il Cantuccio (the Corner) near the Marina and old Fort in Savona is proof, if proof be needed, that Italians are masters of the beautiful art of turning base materials into mouthfuls of wonderful blissful gorgeousness and part of the reason why people fall in love with Italy!

This is the Mediterranean diet at its very best and most wicked and at prices that would be far higher in posh restaurants.

Three times a plate was put in front of me and three times the plate went back ready to be put back on the shelf ready for the next customer: Awesome! So good that a woman on the next table eating the same pud that i had just ordered became quite protective of hers and threatened start on mine when she had finished in a way that only Italians in a local restaurant can do which makes eating there part of being so memorable and enjoyable.

This is not the first time I have been to Il Cantuccio: the first time was New Year's Eve, a couple of year's ago when guided by my Italian family and friends I savoured the rarely seen Cappon Magro which is nothing like the thing on Wikipedia: It was a hot dish not a salad for a start and was presented as a sort of layered cake of different fish (not a flipping fishcake and definitely not a chicken!) made with different seafoods requiring different cooking times and great care not to mix the colours in the layers. I'm quite reserved in my food likes and dislikes so i remember being a little concerned when it appeared; a bit like the time i had Octopus and Potato for the first time but like the Octopus and Potato I should not have worried as it was amazing and the time and effort put in by Andrea the Chef was all too clear. Laura, married to the Chef and who looks after all things front of house is charming and said that her husband would be very pleased we had chosen it which was a lovely touch.
This time we had a main dish, the name of which escapes me but was like an envelope of puff pastry filled with a riot of mixed fish and prawns with one trying to escape the envelope: my wife had that one. Andrea accomplished the near impossible task of keeping the pastry underneath the fish nearly dry so it didn't turn into a glutinous mess of soggy pastry which was very clever and made it truly delicious.

I think they can manage about 36 people at a push but in any event it is best to book particularly on high days, holidays and festivals for what would be a real pleasure.

The wine selection is entirely in keeping with the restaurant's style and suitably matched for the menu. my host knew what he was about and selected accordingly and i think we had a local Piedmont (peed'mon) red which was terrific and went very well with the meal.

I don't pretend to know to much about wine and if you are unsure i think this is exactly the sort of restaurant where you may be assured of having the right wine chosen for you by the home team without fear of being steered wrong which would be as big an effrontery to them as giving you bad advice on their food.

Mastery of both food and wine is in the Italian DNA, but beware; such a seemingly simple question as to which wine may result in a major debate involving the entire restaurant. What a hoot!

The only possible hiccup is that when choosing a restaurant abroad most of us are led by looks and numbers when there's little else to go on: how often have we all been let down following that method?

There is nothing pretentious about Il Cantuccio and on first appearance it looks like a side street cafe but that quickly melts away when you get down to the serious business in hand. My wife being Italian means i have no struggle with menus etc

Shortly after leaving the restaurant, I mused about writing a book entitled "Italy in 200 restaurants" but i thought it better not to as i wouldn't have got 10Kms from Savona!

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gabbmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Cantuccio also viewed

 
Savona, Italian Riviera
 
Savona, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Il Cantuccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing