We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short stay”
Review of Mare Hotel Savona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mare Hotel Savona
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Savona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is nice and the staff very helpful. The only bad things are that you have to pay for the garage ( There is a free parking aswell, but it's too small and full most of the time ). When I went the wifi didn't stop crashing during 2 days, which was quite annoying as I was planning to work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view on the see, It's beautiful to wake up with it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent_Biff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marehotel, Proprietario at Mare Hotel Savona, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Mister Vincent, thank you for your feedback. I know that in the high season it is more difficult to find a parking, but in addition to our garage and our free parking there is another one just in front of the hotel. We had some problems with the wifi during last couple of weeks due to a burst of a component in the internet system and a shortage in our supplier stockings. I’m very sorry that you had to struggle with your work, hope it didn’t affect you too much. Everything now is up and running. Anyway I’m happy you appreciate the competence of the staff and the beauty of our structure. I hope you will come back soon!
Pervinca Tiranini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 873 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here before our cruise with costa. There is a free taxi service that takes you right to the port terminal which is a great plus. The rooms are modern and have great beds very very comfy. We had a little patio and a great view of the hills. The breakfast is not the full English breakfast we are used to but the continental Italian breakfast was great! We sat on the veranda right on the beach! Savanna is beautiful and there is a bus passing right in front the hotel. I really liked our stay and it offers great value for money

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnathanEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marehotel, Proprietario at Mare Hotel Savona, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Mr Johnathan, thank you for your beautiful feedback. We are really satisfied every time we see happy guests. I hope you will come back soon to stay here more than a night, to try all the services we offer.
See you soon!
Pervinca Tiranini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here at this hotel and it was a good start for us to travel along the coast and visit little towns. The hotel does not look like much from the road but once inside it is very nice.Comfortable beds and very unusual lighting in the rooms. Good breakfast and clean rooms. We had a sea view and our room had a balcony. We did not eat supper in the hotel as we found it a bit expensive but about 800m down the road is a very nice restaurant and we had pizza there. Can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveldesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marehotel, Proprietario at Mare Hotel Savona, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Madame, thank you for your beautiful feedback. As you can see our hotel, together with the two restaurants, has a spectacular design: the “Cromo Dinner” for example, where coloured light interacts with the dishes, changing their chromatic appearance; or the “Tappeti Volanti” dining room, that gives the sensation of being suspended between heaven and earth.
We pay lots of attention to design, because also the beauty is important, and because we want to give emotions also across the sight.
You can find a beautiful design all over the structure, and we are always looking for make it better! In fact, the new reception is an example of innovation.
I hope you will come back soon! And, if you want to see something different, you can come here in the other seasons: new offers are ready for summer, autumn and winter! Our hotel has to be discovered because it offers everyday new services, only for the wellness of customers.
See you soon!
Pervinca Tiranini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night while we did some travelling along the Italian Riviera. We had a very clean comfortable room with a balcony and a sea view. Very unique lightening in the rooms and a lovely rain head shower. We did not have supper there as we felt it was a bit expensive but walked about 1km down the road to a lovely little Pizza Pasta restaurant. Very cosy and very good pizza! The time of the year was not hot enough for the pool to be filled but I can imagine it to be very noce when filled. Only one little complaint is that the coffee and tea served from the coffee bar on the beach was not hot but just warm otherwise I can not fault the hotel. Very friendly helpful staff that spoke English.

Room Tip: We had room 222 and I will ask for it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desiree D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marehotel, Proprietario at Mare Hotel Savona, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Miss Desiree, thank you for your review. We do all the best to realize customers’ desire, and we are very delighted when we see them satisfied. I hope you will come back soon to experience the services you saw: seawater swimming pools with hydro-massage, the beach equipped of lounge chairs, cabanas and umbrellas, the “frutteria” which offers delicious smoothies based on fresh fruit and other services. Moreover, soon new promotions will be ready: for example you can book a boat to do an excursion in the Ligurian sea, to go fishing or to have an happy hour at the sunset.
This is only a little part of the program! Fun, relax and wellness are granted all over the year, and every season offer different services.
See you soon!
Pervinca tiranini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I'm pretty sure, we couldn't afford this hotel in a holiday season, but we found very good offert on Booking.com in March.
Generally it's a very good hotel with nice, comfortable rooms with pretty good view. Although our window was from the street side, so it was pretty loud. The bathroom was perfectly clean, the same with the whole room.
I really liked the open swimming pool, although the weather was not the best to enjoy it properly. Whereas I really enjoyed breakfast (it's included). It was a buffet, a lot of various and tasty dishes. You won't go out hungry :)
Summing, I really recommend this hotel, if you have enough big budget ;)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jadzia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marehotel, Proprietario at Mare Hotel Savona, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Jadzia, Thank you very much for your review. I am always thrilled when I see customers delighted! We do all the best to reach customers’ satisfaction, and we always look for news and promotions to make possible their desire of unforgettable holidays.
I hope you will be back especially on summer to prove the services we can offer from April: two large seawater swimming pools (with hydro-massage), Marea beach (equipped of lounge chairs, cabanas and umbrellas), café, Happy Hours, luncheon self-service restaurant, dinners with local specialities, the Sushi Beach (made with ligurian fresh fish) and the “Frutteria”, a little gazebo which offers delicious smoothies based on fresh fruit, to refresh the hot days of ligurian summer.
See you soon!

Pervinca Tiranini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I spend the first night in Hotel Mare in a room facing the street. I had such a bad night, the street was noisy, the wind was blowing under the window. Do not chose a room with street view. The staff was friendly and moved me to a room with sea view. Much more relaxing nights followed. It is a very comfortable hotel with a great terrace. The hotel offers high speed internet, and a pool for relaxation. Breakfast offers a taste of Italian bacon and breads, but there is no variation, it gets boring after a week. On the down side, the food and drinks are a bit expensive at the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea side are the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marehotel, Proprietario at Mare Hotel Savona, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Alexandra, thank you for your review. I am sorry for the problem about wind, unfortunately Liguria is a very windy region and so it is difficult to silence totally the whistle of this atmospheric agent. But, as you can see, we are always willing to help our guests if there is a problem, and we solve it usually changing the room. Concerning breakfast, our objective is to make customers delighted of every service, and we hoped to go on the march to them offering milk, coffee, hot chocolate, tea, croissants, white or fruit yoghurt, cereals, honey, jam, orange and grapefruit juice, home-made cakes and bread, desserts, cookies, fresh fruit, charcuterie, Italian and French cheese… If you desire something new you can come here especially on summer to taste the fabulous milkshake made with fresh fruit, and the Sushi beach, based on fresh ligurian fish.
See you soon!

Pervinca Tiranini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We could not enjoy the seaside actually since the weather in November was not warm enough. We selected this hotel to spend a night before boarding a Costa cruise departing from Savona and found it excellent for that purpose.
It is worth to mention that there is a guarded parking at the hotel for use by guests on a cruise: park the car at 5 EUR/day. This is much cheaper than the 12 EUR/day Costa is asking for a parking service at the pier. The hotel also provideds a free shuttle to the pier (about 4 km). I am not sure about a shuttle from the pier at the end of the cruise...
The hotel has nice rooms especially facing the sea (more expensive). The staff is exceptionally nice and easygoing. The included breakfast is fabulous.
Worth to mention is the excellent restaurant downstairs,

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marehotel, Proprietario at Mare Hotel Savona, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Raobert,

thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate that you noticed our special price for costa cuisers. We take our guest to the harnour and pick them up at the end of the cruise.
We hope to see you soon, not just for the "pre-cruise" night but for a longer stay in Liguria, a land that is worth to live in and travel around.

Pervinca Tiranini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savona
2.1 mi away
NH Savona Darsena
NH Savona Darsena
#2 of 12 in Savona
1,183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Idea Hotel Plus Savona
Idea Hotel Plus Savona
#4 of 12 in Savona
517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Motel Miro
Motel Miro
#3 of 12 in Savona
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Acqua Novella
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#7 of 12 in Savona
77 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Claudio
Hotel Claudio
#1 of 1 in Bergeggi
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mare Hotel Savona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mare Hotel Savona

Address: Via Nizza 41, 17100 Savona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Savona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Savona
Price Range: $92 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mare Hotel Savona 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marehotel boasts an unrivalled location right at the seaside, with a spacious and fully-equipped private beach in addition to a delightful area for al fresco dining overlooking the sea.Recently renovated, the 5-floor Mare Hotel has 66 rooms that face either the Gulf of Savona (southeast side) or the inland hills.Five different types of rooms are available: Superior, President Luxe, President, Confort Luxe, Confort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Mare Hotel Savona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing