We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Sorrento, July 2012.”
Review of Relais Casa Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Casa Vienna
Ranked #17 of 21 Sant'Agnello B&B and Inns
Surrey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Short break in Sorrento, July 2012.”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We booked 4 nights at B&B Vienna through Venere. It was easy to reach from Naples airport with an hourly bus dropping us 5 mins from the B&B (10 euros each way). Vienna is the owner and her mother was there to welcome us on day 1 as she was away. The entrance is rather off puting as you go through a gloomy garage, then enter the block through a dark hallway before taking the lift to the fourth floor. You have to put a 5 cent coin in the slot to make the lift work.
The B&B is basically an apartment with three bed rooms - all ensuite - with a communal kitchen where breakfast is taken. It is fairly well kept, if simple. The three rooms overlook other blocks of flats and a useful but noisy railway line passes near the back of the building. Vienna sets out the breakfast each night and it is a self service job in the morning. Breakfast tends to be toast, jam, tea,coffee cake and cereals. Supplies of things like tea bags are a bit hit and miss, and when they ran out were not replaced.Trains run between Sorrento town and Naples (4 euros each way). It is a metro system with many stops including Pompeii and Herculaneum. It is well know as a haunt for pick pockets, although fortunately we had no experience of this. The trains are very shabby but run every 30 minutes, keep to time and are cheap.
There is a rocky beach accessed by lift about 15 minutes stroll away. There is a small scruffy free beach or you can pay for sunshades and loungers on the pay beach.
There are about four reasonably priced restaurants within a few minutes walk of the B&B, alternatively you can catch the train or bus into Sorrento town where there is a good choice of more expensive eating establishments.
We only had four nights at Vienna and made trips to the famous Pompeii ruins, which is a huge site - 11 euros admission. We travelled by fast ferry to Capri - a very busy place in high season 33 euros return, and took the train into Naples which was real culture shock. A dirty crazy city, but somewhere you should visit.
Overall. B&B was clean and comfortable but not luxurious. Vienna; a very pleasant lady who lets you get on with your own thing but will offer advice if needed.
We visited in July which is high season. The whole region is very crowded; almost claustrophobic. It is very hilly so be prepared for a lot of walking. We did not think it was our sort of place for a summer holiday, no pool and hardly any beach. The area is busy and not what I would call relaxing. For a minibreak to somewhere steeped in history, with spectacular views it proved enjoyable, and reasonably affordable. The location of B&B close to the station made it easy to get around.

Room Tip: The end room is the largest and I understand it has a bath as well as a shower. A/C available at ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    7
    9
    14
See reviews for
10
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights but wish we had stayed somewhere in downtown Sorrento for several reasons. Although it was clean and reasonably priced there are many, better options for a stay in the area. It was our first visit to the region and we found that the location was not convenient, the B&B although clean is very old and outdated, you need nickels for the lift which is a nuisance, breakfast was very minimal (the same cake was on the table the whole time) and the church bells close by go crazy early in the mornings. Vienna is very nice but the trip she offered to arrange for us to Capri was slightly exaggerated and we could have arranged it ourselves down at the port at a considerable savings. Live and learn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnstravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sant'Agnello hotels

Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Lovely balcony, yummy breakfast cakes, and Vienna is very friendly and helpful. It takes a little extra time to get to Sorrento center, but we saved money staying here and had a great time on our rented scooter! This is a great place to stay to go see Vesuvius as well as the Amalfi Coast. We had easy access to the train system.

Room Tip: Our room was very large. I did not see the other rooms, but there are only a few. There are only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ERveterinarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

vienna is fantastic person, always helpfull in all, show map, recoomend restaurent, whome view the place, the excurtion to capri she suggest is great!
b\The bed and breakfast is excellent very clear, beautiful room, spacious, fine linen and the view is gorgeous. is possible look vesvius, glemon garden,...sunset..fantastic. we always made breakfast in the balcony and take the in the afternoon. vienna very special is possible use the fridge and in the afternoon make yourself the or coffe free!!! i have travel a lot but never something is free. the breakfast is buffet and very rich the cake hande made mamma s vienna are very good choise with lemon....buonissime.
bed and brekf stay near all the beach, the restaurent, wine bar, down ther s bus stop to go everywhere sorrento, amalfi, positano down the port to go capri, near the station for go to pompei...is great bed and breakfast i suggest you...and sant agnello is better to sorrento you ll live very italian live in sorrento always you look english, amercian...no find italian people... ciao vienna at soon..i hope next year....ciao and thanks for all

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The house was lovely and we had the room that shows in the picture of the B&B. The balcony views are amazing. you can see the amalfi coast if you seat on the balcony and mount Vesuvius in the far distance.
the house is far away from the center of sorento; walking at least 30 minutes by scooter 10 min if the crazy traffic permits.
i would recommend to rent a scooter and go around town. Also use the scooter to go to positano. it would be a waste if you dont go there.
Vienna is a nice person, very outspoken and talkative but she seemed a nice person over all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warfarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This b&b is on the 4th floor of a building and accessed either by paying to use the lift or climbing the flights of stairs. Vienna welcomes you with a hard sales pitch on tourist trips and local restaurants. The breakfast is self service - Vienna is not present The building is next to the train line and a couple of very very very noisy church bells that ring irregularly all the way through the night. The hot water cylinder leaks in the bathroom and to top it all we were locked into the B&B for 16 hours. It started at 8pm when we tried to leave the building for dinner and couldnt because the bolt in the building front door had stuck into the floor. When we called Vienna she said we had broken the door, however she did arrive and try to get into the building with no success. She then got someone to help her and they tried to free us until 10pm when they stopped and left us locked in over night. Finally at 12 noon the next day they managed to get thru the front door. When we asked if we could have a late check out on our final day to make up for the lost holiday time. Vienna said we could check out at the normal time and leave our luggage at the B&B. Not the best customer service - I wonder how Vienna would have reacted if she'd been in our shoes!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank heaton45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Vienna was very welcoming at the B&B. She was extremely friendly and eager to hear about ourselves and tell us her story. Our room was very nice with a beautiful balcony with views over the bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius beyond. The breakfast was well worth it, with delicious cakes and very good coffee. I would definitely recommend this for a stay in the area. We had easy access into Sorrento either walking or by bus and were able to explore the area including Naples and the Almafi Coast. We could not have asked for a more gracious hostess during our time in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_J_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.0 mi away
Hotel Club Sorrento
Hotel Club Sorrento
#14 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,063 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Casa Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Casa Vienna

Property: Relais Casa Vienna
Address: Via Cappuccini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Relais Casa Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Casa Vienna Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing