We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were sad to leave this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a hotel that takes customer service seriously. My email query about leaving bags for a few days was answered promptly by Aniello and he was more than willing to help.
When we finally arrived to check in, we were welcomed by Aniello with a smile and the bags we had left were in our room. At even the hint of a problem, the staff stepped in to address the issue above and beyond expectations.
The recent renovations have created a beautiful hotel, inside and out. The white bar is a good example of what can be done with simple modern furnishings, just ask Nobody (bartender with a sense of humour - ask him at happy hour)
It was nice to relax by the pool, watch out for the special lounge chairs, they can be tricky.
Our upgraded room was large and overlooked the water and a relatively quiet square across the quiet street.
For those needing to stay in touch, the wifi was fast and pervasive everywhere.
The hotel was located just outside of Sorrento but the hotel offered a fairly regular free shuttle to down town (stops near the main train and bus station) or you could walk in about 30 minutes.
We could not have asked for more and only wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you Aniello and his excellent staff. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: NOT top floor if you want a balcony, but you should ask for high on the front overlooking the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dive_ability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 541 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here in early July. We had 2 rooms on the 4th Floor (400& 402) but I am not convinced that it was actually worth paying more for a sea view (there was no balcony) and the view over the garden was nice. The room was not very large but the bed was comfortable, the air conditioning worked and it was extremely clean. The shower was on the small side and the pressure was not great. The self-service breakfast was okay with a selection of cold meats, cheese fruit, yoghurts pastries and cakes and there were some hot options bacon scrambled egg etc. but that didn’t look very appetising. The hotel offers a shuttle service into Sorrento and it was a 10-minute walk to the station for a trip to Pompeii. The pool area was well maintained and the pizzas in the aqua bar at lunchtime were very good. It is a nice hotel and we had a pleasant few days but nothing to rave about.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMediterraneo, Direttore vendite at Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for staiyng at Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento and for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear your stay has been pleasant. at the same time we would likt to apologize if something has been under your expectations. Sometimes it happens.
I am anyway glad to announce you that one of the big issues which our guests pointed us has been solved. In 2014 you will find almost in each hotel room new and larger showers!
We do care about our guests opinions!


thank you
best regards
Pietro Monti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

a wonderful vacation with the help of an excellent staff. at the front desk,francisco and his cohort,forgot his name, who gave information that was very helpful to us during our entire stay.thank you. to one of the worlds outstanding bartenders,world famous mr nobody,otherwise known as my namesake daniel. the other outstanding bartender was arturo. hold your corkscrews,i shall return for more happy hours. the restaurant staff was outstanding along with the menu. the maitre'd was excellent along with my waiter constanzo,with a nice sense of comedy timing. when i asked what this big spoon was for(soup),without missing a step,responded,"i don't know". see you in october 2014

Room Tip: rooms in the front have excellent seaview with balcony.we went in the quiet period.i would avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dflynn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

All I can say is wow. What a beautiful place, on a cliff, overlooking the Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius. A quiet location outside of city center (about a mile), offering a free shuttle to town with a pool and a rooftop dining room with panoramic views. Not much to complain about.

The staff? They treat you like family, remember you, go out of their way for you. Specifically Aniello at the front desk - who we called the hardest working man on the Amalfi Coast. He seemed like he was always there, arranged great day trips for us and was incredibly attentive to all our needs.

The only con I can bring myself to mention was that the breakfast food could be better. The eggs were really bad. Basically a glob of them in a stainless steel tin - nobody touched them. Dinner in the same space was delicious though. And they have an outdoor balcony with gorgeous views of the bay if you make a reservation.

A special honeymooners welcome was in our room when we arrived too - so a toast to the Mediterraneo Sorrento for being so awesome. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is easy access to town using the shuttle, its romantic, well organised and the staff our very helpful. The gardens are beautifully kept, the pool is clean, the breakfasts overwhelming and the rooms are spacey enough. I only had 3 nights here and every single one was great
The price seems high but honestly it's not because the cheaper hotels charge for parking and a less sumptuous surround

Room Tip: Just book it. Its quiet yet close enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susiebirtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was the fourth hotel we stayed in during our three vacation time in Italy. Far and away it was the most luxurious, with great views of the Mediterranean Sea. We sat outside on the balcony every morning with our breakfast and had to pinch ourselves to know it was real. The breakfasts were wonderful and varied. The breakfast staff were so positive. The rooms were clean and spacious. All the staff were extremely helpful and gave lots of good advice. I would highly recommend this resort hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a "room with a view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 400jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just got back from Italy. We stayed at Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento for three days. The hotel was beautiful with gardens and a pool. The sunsets where wonderful at happy hour. The rooms where clean and updated. The front deck was so nice and helpful with dinner reservations and excursions or anything you would need. We really enjoyed Daniele (aka Nobody) the bar tender. He made us laugh and feel welcome. I would come back to stay for a longer time, three days where not enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#5 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#7 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento

Address: Via Crawford Marion 85, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: $187 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento sits on a cliff overlooking the sea of Sorrento bay about one kilometer from the city center. It is an easy walk but you can also take our free shuttle. The breathtaking sea view and friendly, personable staff make it the perfect place to spend your vacation on the Sorrentine Peninsula in a 4-star hotel. The Mediterraneo has a pool surrounded by palm and orange trees, a private beach, parking and a free wi-fi connection. Get ready for an unforgettable experience that is surprisingly affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing