We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here.
The hotel is smart and stylish but it has a lovely laid back feel. The staff were really friendly.
We stayed in a classic garden view room which was lovely. The balcony overlooks the pool area and gets the sun for most of the day (unlike the seaview rooms which really only get the sunset) The room was on the small size but big enough and very prettily decorated.
The outdoor/pool area was gorgeous, loads of different areas to sit and relax.
Drinks prices in the hotel were reasonable. We ate 1 light lunch by the pool and it was lovely.
Breakfast was beautiful - that view is hard to beat!! The breakfast buffet was typical continental fare but the cakes & pastries were varied each morning.
Its an easy 15-20 minute walk from the centre of Sorrento. We used the shuttle bus frequently as we tended to walk around a lot once we got into Sorrento. The shuttle bus is great and runs frequently.

Room Tip: Garden rooms get more sun than sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKK_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

618 - 624 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Mediterraneo, celebrating a special occasion. We had a beautiful corner room on the 4th floor with an amazing view of the sea and sunsets, as well as the gardens and pool. The breakfast buffet was good, with many choices. The front desk staff was always helpful answering all of our questions and making excellent recommendations for dinner. The bartender, Daniele, was very sweet and accommodating with our requests for photos and special drinks. Happy hour at sunset every evening was breathtaking! The free shuttle bus to Sorrento was very convenient and we used it several times. As others have stated, the shower was tiny, but when you can gaze out at the Mediterranean, it doesn't seem so bad!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrspoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and my parents on a trip to celebrate their 40th wedding anniversary. We were only there for one night, but Hotel Mediterraneo made a huge difference in our trip. My parents' passports had been stolen on the Metro in Rome earlier that day, so we were not in the best frame of mind when we arrived at 8pm. We were greeted by an exceptional front desk staff, who recommended the best restaurant of our entire Italian vacation (see my review of Donna Sofia). The rooms were clean and comfortable, with really comfortable bedding and unbelievable views of the Mediterranean. The balconies were awesome. The hotel has a modern, cool lobby/bar area. They even have a pool, complete with bar and lounge area. Breakfast was the best of our trip, on the top floor with 240 degree views. Food was good, service excellent. Aniello was the staff at the front desk who made the dinner reservation for us, and the next day, he made an even bigger impression. We were in the lobby, trying to change plane reservations and arrange to get to the consulate for new passports, and he helped us make several calls and offered to help translate for us if needed. We truly enjoyed our short time at this wonderful hotel and will stay there again if we are fortunate enough to find ourselves in Sorrento again!

Room Tip: Sea views, higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a lovely honeymoon stay for 4 nights in room 400 which is in the corner with a lovely view of the bay, Mount Vesuvius and twinkling lights of Pompeii in the distance. We did not have a balcony or a pillar in the room. The room was a bit spartan compared to some of the other 4 star hotels we've stayed at, but it was clean, comfortable and quiet, except when the kitchen staff were busy right above us.

The restaurant has a fabulous view to Vesuvius, Sorrento and Capri, lovely white linen covered tables and chairs, a very pleasant wait staff and a nice fixed price daily menu in the evening that is reasonably priced for the area (29 Euro). The menu is quite interesting, for example roast beef with blackberry sauce. I had mussels with paccheri pasta which thankfully did not include the shells.

The breakfast is good with scrambled eggs, some meats, lots of nice freshly made pastries and fresh fruit. The pickings for the meats are a bit thin toward the end of the breakfast at 10 am and it can be a bit difficult to get the attention of the staff to get cappuccinos.

The front desk staff is great with a golden keys concierge who lit up the the place with his smile and energy. They sell the 1-day public transit pass at the front desk which is handy for the bus to Amalfi or for getting to Pompeii, Herculaneum, and Vesuvius. They do not sell the 3-day Arte card which is good for public transit and museum / archeological site visits.

There is a shuttle bus from the hotel to the parking lot in town a few blocks from the train station. The shuttle bus runs at convenient times but sometimes there is an hour or two between them, so it is a 10 minute walk to town along a way that has sidewalks. The old town center is another 5+ minutes beyond that.

The concierge booked us a nice taxi for our early morning trip back to town and made sure we had breakfast bags for our journey to the airport 1.5 hours away. Each breakfast bag could have fed two people with rolls, cheese, salami, filled croissant, toast biscuit, nutella, apple, juice box and half liter of water. We felt very well cared for.

Room Tip: Room 400 is in the corner away from traffic noise, has a beautiful sea and Vesuvius view, no balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraFromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our rooms had sea views. The view was the best part of the room which was otherwise a bit dingy, but clean. Shower was very small - i'm not sure an adult man could fit into it! The common areas of the hotel were lovely; there is a clean, modern lobby and bar area and the pool area top-notch. Finally, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I accidentally left some medicine in the room and they had it delivered to our hotel in Positano. It's a little outside of town, but there is a shuttle that runs frequently. Again, everyone was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We booked this hotel because we wanted to visit the Amalfi coast, Pompeii and Capri but wanted to be on the flat. Although we had a car, we used the hotel shuttle bus into Sorrento on a number of occasions as this is so easy and reliable. It's also an easy walk from the hotel to the train station for a train right into Pompeii. Positano is just 30 mins drive. The service at the Mediterraneo could not have been better or the staff friendlier - we stayed for 1 week and would have loved to stay longer! Free parking, spotlessly clean, beautiful bedroom with a small balcony with 2 chairs overlooking the bay and the sunset, lovely restaurant with fantastic views and good food/wine . . . .it would have been heaven, but it was a bit noisy in our room with traffic and dogs barking early in the morning, hence only a 4 out of 5 rating, but if you're an early riser, it wouldn't bother you. Next time, we will forgo the sea view and book a garden view room, as this will be quieter. Happy hour with live music on 2 nights was great, lovely pool and poolside furniture and services - thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quieter. Although situated on a narrow street, it is one way and is busy between 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed almost a week just after Easter. Really glad we chose this hotel. Would go again. Very pleasant and professional staff, especially concierge and dining room. Slightly out of Sorrento centre but that has some advantages. Reliable shuttle bus or 15/20 min walk on the flat into Sorrento. Experienced two bedrooms as there was a problem in the first - staff were most helpful and apologetic in dealing with this. Some bedrooms on small side, views over bay wonderful - a little traffic noise at front - not too bad. Some guests found walls between bedrooms a bit thin if they had noisy neighbours or people who like their tv on loud or long. We stayed half board so had set dinner menu with 4/5 choices for each course. Local simple food deliciously cooked. Good wine list. Didn't experience full garden or beach services as not quite in season. Spacious garden with poolside services.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciajhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.0 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,163 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento

Address: Via Crawford Marion 85, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: $158 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento sits on a cliff overlooking the sea of Sorrento bay about one kilometer from the city center. It is an easy walk but you can also take our free shuttle. The breathtaking sea view and friendly, personable staff make it the perfect place to spend your vacation on the Sorrentine Peninsula in a 4-star hotel. The Mediterraneo has a pool surrounded by palm and orange trees, a private beach, parking and a free wi-fi connection. Get ready for an unforgettable experience that is surprisingly affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing