We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come for the View, Stay for Happy Hour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Come for the View, Stay for Happy Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Staying in Sant'Agnello at the Hotel Mediterraneo was the perfect way to relax and end our 2 week whirlwind trip to Italy. It is off the beaten path from the trinket shops and tourist traps in Sorrento; well worth the 20 minute walk or the short shuttle ride to Sorrento. We spent more time than we thought we would just lounging on our balcony, sipping champagne in the posh bar, and relaxing to the sounds of the seagulls and sea. It was, unfortunately, quite cold during our time there so we were unable to enjoy the gorgeous swimming pool or beach facilities on our visit. There were a few things that kept me from rating the hotel excellent; outdated bathrooms, mediocre coffee at breakfast, and spotty service depending on which member of the staff you interacted with. But even with that we would highly recommend staying at the Hotel Mediterraneo, especially during the warmer summer months!

Service: Meeting Joe, bartender and waiter at the Mediterraneo, was one of our highlights of our time in Italy. Wonderful man, incredibly attentive, funny, and a total character! Of all the service staff, I trusted him for recommendations on where to go and what to eat; he was genuine and gave us the pros and cons of the choices. Some of the other members of the hotel staff were a bit aloof, and it often felt like their recommendations were based on which places the hotel would want them to recommend.

Happy Hour: Amazing! Not just great deals on drinks, but delicious little pre-dinner snacks were also provided. The lounge and bar area is hopping at happy hour with guests from around the world. Incredible diversity in conversation and people watching.

Room: We booked the Superior sea view room, giving us a balcony in room 305. We opted for the superior vs. the classic because we wanted to spend time on the balcony watching the water, the boats, and the sunset. The balcony is quite small, but we managed to get a table and two chairs out there for some seaside dining. The bathrooms are quite dated, but clean.

Location/Shuttle Service: The hotel is on a main strip in Sant'Agnello, but a main strip in a small seaside town is much less busy than anything you'll see in a bigger city or even Sorrento itself. We took the shuttle into town just once; the times were not completely convenient for what we wanted to do and the walk is only 20 minutes. With all the pasta and gelato we ate in Italy the walk into town was welcomed exercise! There is a bus stop right outside the hotel, but the one time we tried to take the bus we waited, and waited, and waited... Sant'Agnello has a cute little town square with some restaurants and wine bars and we found them more authentic than anything in Sorrento.

Breakfast: The food was decent, lots of breads, some protein. The most disappointing thing was the coffee. Italy, the mecca for an amazing cup of coffee, and the coffee here was a bit watered down. The breathtaking view from the top of the restaurant almost makes up for the bad coffee.

WiFi: We got a password upon checking in, it worked for multiple devices, was included in the rate, and seemed to work everywhere we went except for the top floor restaurant and the beach.

Noise: Other reviews mention the noise in the square below. We were there off-season so we did not experience large crowds partying or gathering below. I love sleeping with the windows open, and one night I did have to close them when the glass recycling truck started making tremendous noise at 4am. Once the french doors were closed, it was much quieter. Some noise is the price we pay for vacationing in a populated area and not the South Pacific.

Getting There: We arrived at the Naples train station and took the Circumvensia to Sant'Agnello. It's certainly an experience; watch your wallets! From there we walked about 10 or so minutes to the hotel. When we left we took the shuttle bus from downtown Sant'Agnello to the Naples airport which was cheap, efficient, and quite pleasant. I would opt for the bus if that is an option for you.

Sorrento vs. Capri vs. Positano: I'm glad we stayed in the Sorrento area for this trip; it gave us the ability to hop around and see other places. Positano was lovely, but is a bit further away from the transit centers in Naples if you don't want to spend a ton of time traveling. We are considering staying on Capri if/when we return to the area to experience the magic of the island after the hoards of daytrippers leave.

Room Tip: Superior Room is worth the upgrade from classic for the view of the sea. Would do the terrace if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vagablondechelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    285
    51
    18
    4
See reviews for
261
664
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. The staff is wonderful and the views are beautiful.The desk staff were so helpful all the time. The helped us to get great tours. The area is very safe. There is a shuttle bus that goes back and forth into the town which is only about 10 minutes away from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris50Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Excellent and friendly staff in all departments, who could not do enough for us. Superb views from restaurant which served delicious food.
We arrived late (around midnight). Our bedroom on the first floor smelled musty and the bed had a hard mattress. We asked to be moved but were told the hotel was full. Moved the next day to a very nice room on the fourth floor with a far more comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise. Rooms overlooking the bay have outstanding views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

It is pleasant, clean 4 star hotel. Good location: right on the coast and there free transit to Sorrento and back every 2 hours. Great!! And that transit is a comfortable van with italian music on the board. They also have happy hour drinks with free appetizers and music everyday downstairs in the lobby. It is not 5 star, do not forget this, and it is Italian 4 star, but it is a very good version. I am ready to come back anytime!

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view: it is breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dream_traveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a beatiful 4 star hotel offering 5 star food and service. It has an outstanding view of the
ocean if you book a "Sea View Room". Their roof top restaurant is the best! Excellent breakfast buffet normally included in your rate or you can order off the menu at an extra charge. One of the best breakfast buffets in Italy!! If the weather is nice you can dine on the balcony with an
unbelieveable view (very romantic). We also had a gourmet dinner one night in the same restaurant. Outstanding food and service! On Saturday night we signed up for their Barbarque.
This was an Italian feast with suateed to order Italian items and various grilled seafood and meats. Also a dessert buffet which was unbelieveable. My wife and I thought it was a disservice to call this a Barbarque as it was a 5 star Italian outdoor buffet at poolside! Also, for lunch we had their pizza which was one of the best we encountered in Italy.

The staff at the Mediterraneo was first class offering the very best of service. Their Front Desk staff ordered 2 tours and a private car with driver for the Almalfi Coast! All were great! Just follow thier recommendations and I am quite sure you will be very satisfied. Make sure you tell them exacly what you want to do. Entire staff spoke fluent English. Their pool and garden area are very relaxing and enjoyable. You can also take an elevator down to the beach, but the pool area is so elegant you may just want to stay at the pool! Also this hotel is just outside Sorrento so you avoid some of the cruise ship crowds and craziness, but they offer a courtesy van to Sorrento so you can enjoy some shopping and crowds if you desire. We checked out the town of Sant' Agnello (8 minute walk) and loved the shops in Sant'Agnello! Highly recommend this hotel for couples and Honeymooners!

Room Tip: Book a Sea View Room with a Balcony. It is worth the extra money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The sunglasses will be for the bar. It's by far the least dingy I have ever been in - must be going up in the world. It's certainly recommended for Happy Hour predinner drinks; excellent barman.
The accommodation is a bit varied. Our room was clean with good clothing storage, hanging, and an adequate safe which works on your key card. The bathroom (shower, toilet bidet) was well-equipped though cramped, but how often do you need to pass one another in the bathroom? Truth to tell, it's a bit of a slab from outside, but the pool is of reasonable size, the gardens well tended and the adjacent restaurant comfortable and fun for lunch. Some of the windows don't appear to be able to cope with very heavy rain. The sea view comes with traffic noise.
Food was varied and well prepared, with excellent, though not quite English, breakfast selection. Table service was efficient and Italian. Indeed all of the staff were attentive and friendly.
Yes, it's not exactly in Sorrento, and the "ten-minute walk" is a bit ambitious and not very scenic - it's at least twenty.
Of course I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Sacrifice the traffic noise for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Absolutely beautiful hotel with a wonderful staff. I would definitely recommend it. One word of advice...though the name of the hotel has Sorrento in it, it is not actually in Sorrento. It is one town over. Many of the reviews that I read indicated that it was an easy walk to town. I am a big walker and I personally found the walk to be a bit further than desirable. We made it to town on foot but decided that the shuttle home would be much preferred. We went to the shuttle spot for a ride home to no avail. Called the hotel for help and they just kept telling us that it was coming. We finally decided to hoof it back and flag a cab when we finally saw one. The cost of the "short" cab ride was ridiculous. So, I would definitely recommend staying here, just be prepared logistically.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingleTraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.0 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 85, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento sits on a cliff overlooking the sea of Sorrento bay about one kilometer from the city center. It is an easy walk but you can also take our free shuttle. The breathtaking sea view and friendly, personable staff make it the perfect place to spend your vacation on the Sorrentine Peninsula in a 4-star hotel. The Mediterraneo has a pool surrounded by palm and orange trees, a private beach, parking and a free wi-fi connection. Get ready for an unforgettable experience that is surprisingly affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing