We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice surroundings”
Review of Purple

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Purple
Ranked #20 of 22 Sant'Agnello B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The hotel is located very close to Sorrento. A very nice 20 minutes walk (at least during the Spring). It a very nice ex-convent and has a lot of space. A very nice garden at the back with orange and lemon trees and games and resting areas. Free parking and is right in front of the see, from where you can see the Bay of Naples.
Rooms are big and spacious. We has a little problem with our bathroom (a very strong smell coming from the pipes) they brought us a spray and although we thought that wasn't going to fix the problem, weirdly as it sounds, it did.
Breakfast is very standard and do not recommend the coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveleando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 402 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

We used Porto Salvo as a base for our visit to Sorrento in March and we were not disappointed. It probably is not the place to go if you are after a 5 star stay, but for a nice budget hotel it was absolutely perfect for us and a great base to exlore the region. Comfortable, quiet (although the church bell going off at 7 might be a bit irritating if you are not an early riser), fairly clean and the staff are very friendly. The breakfasts were standard continental fare and filling enough to start the day! There are a couple of computers downstairs which are useful for checking out local restaurants etc and the outside patio is okay to sit outside and relax.

It is about 10-15 minutes walk from the train station giving good access to Pompeii, Hurculeaneum and Naples, and it is 30 minutes walk from Sorrento although there is a bus nearby which takes a couple of minutes. It is way off the main high street of Sant'Agnello, which is probably a good thing as Sant'Agnello is noisy, dirty and busy in places. There are some very nice friendly restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk and a useful well stocked (but sometimes unfriendly!) mini-mart about 10 minutes walk away.

All in all an unforgettable trip and I would definately recommend coming to this area end of March time as you will avoid the majority of the tourists and it will be warm without being too hot!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traitor101666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at Porto Salvo. We were supposed to stay in Sorrento, but it didn't work out. We had a nice time and enjoyed the view. There were not many places open in Feb. so it was difficult to find dinner, but we managed. We walked to Sorrento several times and took day trips by train to Naples, Pompeii and Amafi. Great time!!

Room Tip: They have several rooms with views of the water. It is quiet and peaceful there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

comfortable, friendly, helpfull, we stayed 4 nights at porto salvo, unfourtunatley no where to eat
in sant angelo this time of the year, had to go into serrento, not a problem, easy to walk or bus
taxis 15 euro 20 euro late at night, public transport very easy to use you can get to all the sights
from porto salvo. there is a coach that runs from the airport to serrento stops in sant agelo you can use it again to return. the coach is 10 euro.

Room Tip: view over naples bay if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55tell55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Had a wonderful stay at Porto Salvo; clean, beautiful rooms overlooking the Gulf of Sorrento. Great buffet breakfast and welcoming staff. We hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nao D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I'm not into luxury hotels, so I have only four basic rules when choosing a place to sleep:
- cleanliness
- comfortable bed
- non-stop hot water shower
- location
All four were satisfied with Porto Salvo. On top of that the breakfast included in the price was very eatable and the staff were very friendly. You could go to Sorrento either by walking (20 minutes), by bus (the stop is just around the corner of Porto Salvo) or by train (which is pointless in my opinion, because from the hotel to the train station in St. Agnello is 10 minutes walk and in 20 minutes walk you are straight in center of Sorrento). Some of the rooms have a sea view, others not, but walking around Sorrento, Amalfi coast or Capri you'll have a plenty of sea to admire, so don't get disappointed if your room doesn't have any.
We had a triple room with private bath and the place was clean, the towels were changed on daily basis, there was hot water in the shower all the time and it was quiet in the whole floor.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiril S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at Porto Salvo for 7 nights and we were satisfied with almost all aspects of our stay. The location is very serene and there is no curfew: you can come and go as you please very easily, with the keys they provide you with for the front gate. The room was very minimalist but clean and had a nice old-fashioned feel to it. The staff were always friendly and helpful whenever we had queries (even when we rang the buzzer to check in three hours before we were due!). From Porto Salvo it takes around 20 minutes to walk into Sorrento and 10 minutes to the local Circumvesuviana train station. Nearby there are some great restaurants and a nice cliff-top bar that's good for watching the sunset. There is also a lido where you can sunbathe and swim in the sea. The breakfast was nothing fancy but fine: it included cereal and toast as well as cold-cuts and cheese. Overall, we thought this seemed like the best value budget accommodation in the area.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.5 mi away
Seven Hostel
Seven Hostel
#2 of 14 in Sant'Agnello
286 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Secret Garden Relais
The Secret Garden Relais
#13 of 27 in Piano di Sorrento
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#7 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,207 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple

Address: Via Nuovo Rione Cappuccini 11, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy (Formerly Porto Salvo)
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: $27 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Purple 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME Purple is an Hotel situated in an old abbey of the Capuchin Monks dating back to the sixteenth century located in Sant'Agnello di Sorrento, overlooking the beautiful sea of the Bay of Naples. Purple is also a American Lounge Pub and our philosophy consists in the genuineness of traditional cuisine associated with the taste of local wine, beer or just a drink. 5 GOOD REASONS TO CHOOSE US: Best Price Guaranteed! A holiday in a welcoming and relaxing place at only 1 kilometre from Sorrento town centre! You can easily reach the nearby town of Pompeii, Herculaneum, Naples, Amalfi and Capri The parking and internet access are included in the price The nearest beach is at only few minutes walk.SERVICES Purple offers its guests numerous exclusive services to make their stay even more enjoyable: international buffet breakfast with a vast selection of sweets, jams, cheeses cold cuts and other snacks, outdoor parking, transfer to and from Naples airport, dinner service upon request, tour reservations for Herculaneum and Pompeii, the Amalfi Coast and wonderful spots on the Sorrento Peninsula, boat trips to Capri and Isola dei Galli. ROOMS The B&B Purple has very large bright rooms, furnished with taste and simplicity: dark wood furniture with clean lines, light upholstery, floors covered with antique terra cotta tiles. The rooms all have heating, air conditioning and television. Different types are available to meet all needs: singles, double, triples and quads, with internal or external private bath or shared bathroom. Most of the rooms have sea view, while some look onto the peaceful garden which surrounds the residence. SERVICES INCLUDED All rooms include: Free WiFi, Hair dryer and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Otel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Purple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Salvo Hotel Sant`Agnello
Purple Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing