We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't judge a book by it's cover”
Review of Donna Rosa - CLOSED

Donna Rosa
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“don't judge a book by it's cover”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

i walked past this place several time before i went in. it doesn't look like much, a few tables under a gazebo on the pavement, but if you don't try it you are missing a gem. my only regret is that i passed it by instead of going in earlier on my holiday.

it is run by a very friendly family with the mum doing the cooking and the eldest son serving but sometime the younger brother appears! the food is great, home made and very tasty. i went there with a few people and we all had different things and everything was good. but the chips are home made, don't miss them, there aren't many places that do proper home made chips!

this place is a real find in a town of restaurants that all seem to do the same thing, and it is very reasonably priced - Italy isn't cheap!

so thanks Enzo and Christian, not forgetting your very talented mamma!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jacquifromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    25
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good staff and value.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great value - under 20 euros for lunch for two. Just over the road from the majestic palace if you fancy a change. Some lovely pasra dishes. Not posh, just good value, clean and fresh.
Staff are lovely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank miandma2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for lunchtime or evening.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a great family run restaurant in the middle of the street, don't be put off by that, great family and great food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nancywestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I went there based on trip advisor's reviews, but when I arrived I noticed it was written it has a new managment. I decided to try anyway. I ordered a gnocchi, there was plenty foog in the dish, but it was tasteless.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Camila701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best food of our holiday!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Me, my Uncle & my daughter have dined at the Donna Rosa on virtually every day of our 2 week holiday. In fact the only days we didn't dine here were the excursion days. It's been the best food of our holidays & we were always recommending to other guests at our hotel. They too visited & like us became daily visitors...the food is home made by Mama and to put simply just gorgeous! The tagliatelle, fried zucchini flowers, the gnocchi are all sublime..we want to thank Enzo, his little brother Christian & their Mama for being such good hosts & serving fantastic food & being one of the highlights of our holiday! When we're back home we'll remember the good times & food at the Donna Rosa with much affection & wish a 2 minute walk could take us back there! X

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aligeo345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donna Rosa also viewed

Sant'Agnello, Province of Naples
Sant'Agnello, Province of Naples
 
Sant'Agnello, Province of Naples
Sant'Agnello, Province of Naples
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing