We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location,lovely meal”

Vesuvio Roof Restaurant Sorrento
Reserve with
Vesuvio Roof Restaurant Sorrento is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 62 Restaurants in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $107
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Vesuvio Roof restaurant is located on the top floor of Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento. Featuring amazing views of the bay it is open also to other properties guests. You will enjoy fresh tipycal local food by our resident chef Giuseppe Saccone (since 2009) in a wonderful setting overlooking the bay of Sorrento and Vesuvio vulcano. Restaurant is open for dinner and we warmly suggest to reserve for a seaview table and to enjoy an aperitif in the sunset at White Bar before dinner! Cousine: Mediterranean Contemporary Dress code: smart casual Vesuvio Restaurant: the place to be!
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“great location,lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had a table reserved on the open air balcony of this 5th floor restaurant lookingbat at the sunset. The menu had plenty of choice. I had baked lamb and my wife had fillet steak, both were excellent. 3 course meal with coffee, wine and drinks was Euro 135, which we felt was about right.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    31
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Maybe a little above itself but a nice expierience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

We booked this restaurant for our first special honeymoon meal. The food is good but I would not go back as there are many other restaurants in the area that are as good if not better. The restaurant is part of the Mediteraneo Hotel which stands looking out to see at Sant'Agnello. The food is as pretty much like all restaurants are in this area of this standard. We had Fish Tampura and Soup to start then my wife had Lamb and I had Tuna. Food was good. The bill which included Deserts and a half bottle of wine plus water 96 Euro. As I stated I would not go back but its a nice one off experience. The staff were a little stiff and we did think that as we were not staying in Hotel we were not treated the same as the regular faces the staff would be seeing more often. I am not sure how many non residents they get.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great views, just ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner at the Vesuvio Roof restaurant this week. The dining room is square with limited seating outside on the balcony and windows around the room. We had an inside table adjacent to the balcony and had a great view of the As has been noted in prior reviews, the views are outstanding. The food, however was mixed.

As an appetizer, I had their lentil soup which was tasty and hearty albeit slightly overpriced at 15 euros. My main course was a duck breast a l'orange. The meat was well cooked although a little chewy. The sauce was good.

My wife had the fish (snapper with artichokes). The dish was under seasoned and tasteless. I tried the dish and found it disappointing. The dish was returned half ineaten and we pointed out to the waiter that it was dry and not very good. He just shrugged but made no real acknowledgement.

Overall, the experience was slightly underwhelming for the price. I would have expected more of an acknowledgment for the uneaten dish. Wouldn't visit again.

Helpful?
Thank WhereItsWarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

The food here from the starter to the Childrens food was very good. Both my children had steak, the portion was large but it was cooked to perfection and the meat was exquisitely tender. The pasta here tasted delicious, the one with lobster tail. A tad expensive but a worthwhile treat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langbank
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home of Cannelloni”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

On our first day in Sorrento we were taken on a walk about by the Thomson representative in our hotel. One of the places we visited was the Parruchiano Restaurant where we learned that it was” The birthplace of cannelloni.” The history of the restaurant and more information plus recipes can be found in Wikipedia.


When we entered the restaurant did did not look much from the outside, but first impressions are often wrong and once inside it's huge and absolutely lovely surrounded by lemon trees and a waft of jasmine. There are flowers everywhere and even though a large restaurant that can seat over 1000, the lemon trees and the sheer size of the space means it keeps a very intimate feel.

It really is a family affair too, handed down from generation to generation. During our stay we visited the restaurant and found the food,
friendliness’ of the staff and services to ne excellent.

Would have no hesitation in recommending the Parruchiano Restaurant

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vesuvio Roof Restaurant Sorrento also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sant'Agnello, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Vesuvio Roof Restaurant Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing