We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but nice!”
Review of Hotel La Pergola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Pergola
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Southampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Noisy but nice!”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Recently travelled to Sorrent and stayed in the La Pergola Hotel, in St. Agnello, which is about a 15-20 min walk from the square in Sorrento.
The quality of service and cleanliness was second to none. The room (we booked one with a very small balcony) was very clean I must say, beds were changed every day and the service was impeccable. I really have only two complaints, one would be be the noisiness of the area, right near a cut through and by a mini bus rental site, which seemed to be in operation from about 6.30 until 11.00! Also I think the hotel management need to rethink the location of the drinks area at breakfast, stuck in an alcove by the stairs it was very cramped to get coffee and juices in the morning when the hotel was busy. But other than that it was great. I would just like to thank the staff who were unfailingly helpful all week and especially Rafaella (the catering manager?) who despite being short staffed managed to keep cheerful and friendly. The food was good and reasonably varied, but I felt that the chef had been asked to make it a little bland for tourists palates.....Shame! A couple of tips, when walking outside the hotel you need eyes in the back of your head, the standard of driving there is appalling, and some of the pavements are very narrow.On another note if you do wish to go to Pompei, Herculaneum or Naples I would recommend the railways, very cheap, I think its was about 2 Euros each way or something and the station for Pompei is right outside, to see Pompei properly you need at least 6 hours, you may find the tour groups don't allow that much time. Herculaneum can be explored in about 3 hours or 2 if you hurry! Although i would recommend the maximum time at each site to soak up the atmosphere and antiquity. I gather there are other ancient sites in the area that may be worth a visit, although we didn't have time to see them. All I can sya about Sorrento is that is a tourist trap, but the narrow streets are charming, to get away from the worst of the cruise ship crowds try the Grand Harbour at the other end of town, there are some good restaurants there, I can recommend Delphino's, and I hear Emilio's is very good. So all in all the La Pergola Hotel and that part of the world are well worth a visit
but above all, allow yourself plenty of time to fully appreciate the 2000 year old once working city that was Pompei.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sprint98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    107
    55
    26
    31
See reviews for
64
166
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

This was our third visit to La Pergola and it just gets better and better each time. The chef is amazing and there's so much variety with the food. The staff are so friendly and helpful, they can't do enough to help. They have 2 special evenings each week, the one on a Thursday is out in the garden and it's a help-yourself buffet, once again the food is fantastic. We have stayed in several hotels in Sorrento over the years and this hotel is the best I have ever stayed in by far, and that includes the Parco Del Sole and the Cappodimonte.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank choctruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

This hotel was very disappointing. It's location in Sant Agnello is along an extremely busy road which is a 20 minute walk outside of Sorrento. Our room was tiny on the ground floor and was very hot and airless. It had no balcony, and the bathroom was extremely small. When we compared notes with other guests we found some that had asked to be moved from similar rooms only to be told that it would cost an extra £100. The rooms had no safes and air conditioning cost extra too. Other guests seem to have acquired better rooms with balconies for no extra cost - it was pot luck.

The food was bland and very disappointing, and the dining room was sited in the basement with no windows or views. The last evening we dined in the garden bar outside, which was far more pleasant and we couldn't undertand why this wasn't done
every evening. The bar prices were expensive and were just as expensive as smarter restaurants and bars in Sorrento and they even charged 3 euros for a litre of water to have with meals! We decided not to eat there on a couple of nights, so that we could try more traditional Italian cooking. We found out on our last day that other guests were offered packed lunches when they missed evening meals, which we were not offered.

The swimming pool was very small with very little room for sunbathing. There was a very pleasant solarium on the roof but if you wanted to cool off in the pool then it meant getting the lift down to the ground floor in your bathing costume and then dragging yourself back upstairs in your dripping costume to the sunbeds again!

Although the staff are very pleasant and friendly, the hotel does insist that any drinks or snacks are paid for at the end of the week. We did ask if we could pay as we went along, therefore making it easier to budget and keep track of purchases, but we were not allowed to. Even though we kept all of our receipts we did find that there was a discrepancy at the end of the week between what the hotel said we owed them, and the total our receipts came to. This would have been avoided if we could have paid as we went along.

A week in Sorrento with all the sightseeing involved can be quite tiring in the heat, and the poor standard of accomodation in this hotel made it very difficult to have a good nights sleep. We came home from this holiday quite exhausted.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianeehlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sant'Agnello hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

My partner and I took our first holiday together to this hotel, the rooms were immaculate with a lovely balcony looking out to the coast and Mt Vesuvius. We spent a lot of time in the Garden bar and on the fabulous roof terrace (please make the effort to go and see this, the views are amazing) The staff were very helpful, friendly and always available. The food was delicious and the restaurant was much better than I expected with a good choice and local produce on the menu. The walk into Sorrento itself took around 15 min but was sueful after eating too much cake and pasta. Would definately visit this hotel again, much better than a lot of hotels in Britain. Highly Recomended

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank engagedlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

My wife & I have visited this wonderful city 7 times over the past 20 years, & have stayed at many hotels there, inc the Capodimonti. But this hotel ranks head & shoulders over the rest..
Reasons:- The staff are very freindly and most helpful, the food has to be seen & eaten to be believed, it truly is great ! The pool was just what we wanted. And on top of all this the hotel was very clean. We are now in the process of booking another stay with them............ Thats how good it was. But dont take my word for it, find out for yourself.
And just in case someone says its too far out from the centre of Sorrento, please bear in mind that I am nearly 75 y.o.a. and my wife is 69.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter503808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We expected a relaxing stay at La Pergola. However, our room, which was at the pool end of the hotel overlooked a car park which was in constant use from early morning (approx 5am) until approx 2am the following morning. After about midnight theautomatic gate was closed so each time a vehicle was retrieved or parked this gate had to open and a light (which shone straight into our room) was activated.
The balcony was so small that the two of us could not sit out there together even though two chairs and a table were provided.
The room was a reasonable size with adequate wardrobe facilities. However, the chair in the room was really dirty and we would never have sat on it.
Although the room was cleaned every day, the space beneath our bed was not.
The shower cubicle was exceptionally small with mould around the base. The window in the bathroom was rotten and behind the main bedroom door there was a hole in the wall.
Perhaps the biggest disappointment was the food. Most nights the food was edible but the choice was very limited. On one occasion we were asked if we were vegetarian - we said no but added that we did not eat fish. The menu that evening was some special night and had we not mentioned that we did not eat fish we would not have had anything to eat at all.
Dinner apart, breakfast was horrendous. The coffee came from a machine and was horrible. Even the "fruit juice" was dispensed from a machine. The only hot food on offer at breakfast was eggs (fried/scrambled) which was put out at 7am and kept warm.
The pool was far too small for the number of guests at the hotel. There were only chairs close to the pool with no shade. The only sunloungers were on the roof and there were no umbrellas.
Would have preferred to settle bar bills at the time rather than waiting until the last day.
On the whole the staff were friendly and helpful.
Ants became a problem in our room - when this was reported to staff we were given ant spray and told to deal with it ourselves.
We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barns100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

My partner and myself have just returned from a week at la pergola. We are both very well travelled and used to work as holiday reps. So have stayed in everything from 1-5* accom worldwide. I was dissapointed when I arrived at the hotel, the room was really tiny as was the bathroom, we paid a supplement for a room with balcony which was a rip off as we never used because it was so small it had a table and 2 chairs squeezed the room was on the first floor, looking on to a car park and above the kitchens so was not nice to sit out anyway. The pool is really small with a few chairs round it, which where always full when we got back from a day out. The sun deck on the roof is nice with good sunbeds. Breakfast was ok, small selection of cereal, ham, cheese and pastries and either fried or boiled eggs. Evening meal was very nice, and staff really friendly. Think the air con was expensive at 10 euros per day, usually free in european hotels in peak season! Quite a walk on a hot day into sorrento about 15 mins along a main road or the slightly longer coastal road. Hair dryer very powerful, bathroom often had a sewage/drain smell. We had friends staying in the centre (la favorita) would defo recommend this pure luxury compared to la pergola and not much more expensive. We hired a boat from the marina 170e (shared between 6 of us) and went over to capri for the day, much better value than the very over crowded ferries and a very enjoyable day out! All in all a good holiday. If your going to la pergola be prepared for the basic accom, very small balcony and pool and you'll be fine!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myholidayreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#19 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
3.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#80 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
10.2 mi away
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pergola

Property: Hotel La Pergola
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 13, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pergola 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Sorrento
Hotel La Pergola Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing