We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and very relaxing”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and very relaxing”
Reviewed August 30, 2009

This was the first 'package' holiday we have booked in 10 years and the first hotel for even longer so we were a bit apprehensive and unsure as to what to expect. We had chosen the Florida as we wanted to keep the cost down (family of 4 travelling in August!) and this hotel appeared to be good value.

With this in mind, we weren't expecting luxury and if you go thinking you're going to find a smaller version of the Hilton, then you will be dissappointed. This hotel isn't, and doesn't claim to be 5*. It is a straightforward small and friendly family run hotel and does this very well.

The staff are extremely friendly, especially the dining room staff ( Pepe and Vicenzo) and always welcome you and do their best to help as was the barman - the owner himself could perhaps smile a bit more!

The food was very good and there wasn't a meal we didn't enjoy (and that includes our children of 15 and 10). You have a choice of 3 starters and 3 mains each day (except Tuesday, Thursday and Friday - see below), which you choose the night before together with a self service choice of salads and desserts which change daily. I have a very good appetite and didn't go hungry. We were half board but drinks with our meals needed to be paid for (except for breakfast, where juice and coffee/tea are provided FOC). Breakfast is buffet style and includes toast, rolls, cold meats, cereals, hard boiled eggs and cake.

On Tuesday nights, it's 'Gala night' which means that you eat in the pool area outside rather than the restaurant and that you don't get to choose your meal - everyone has the same. The waiting staff make the evening enjoyable, but it does take the whole evening and there is live music, which went on a bit late (near midnight) and could probably be heard in Naples.

Thursday night is the 'Pizza party' which takes place in the garden. You get starters and dessert and, in between, as much pizza as you can eat. The pizza is cooked fresh in the stone oven in the garden and is excellent!

Although Friday night's dinner is served in the restuarant as usual, there is no choice offered - I assume this was because Friday is changeover day so they want to keep it simple for the cook!

Our room was small (especially for four) but was used only as a base and place to sleep. It was clean and comfortable. We had an upstairs room with a balcony which was really useful as we were able to leave the french doors open all day and night to try and keep the room cool. This is one thing the hotel could do with - air conditioning - you are able to borrow a fan which helps, but in the height of summer, it was still very hot. There is also only one plug socket, which was positioned 2/3 way up the wall. With the fan and several electrical appliances to use/charge this could have been a problem, but the hotel lent us a extention lead - make sure you have sufficient plug adaptors.

The pool and the area surrounding it was very good - it looked a lot cleaner and more inviting that either of the pools in the adjacent hotels and there were plenty of sun beds, some in the shade as well. The pool never got too busy and is 1.5m deep at one end, dropping sharply in the middle to 3.0m to the other end. The pool area is served by the bar where you can buy drinks and at lunchtimes, a selection of meals. We ate there on several occasions and really enjoyed the food - the pizza and spagetti carbonara in particular were good value and delicious.

Venturing away from the hotel is easy enough by foot to Sorrento or Sant Agenello. There is also a bus stop 2 minutes from the hotel heading towards Sorrento and the train station in Sant Agnello is 10/15 minutes walk and ideal for trips to Pompeii,etc. The train is incredibly cheap, but does make the London Underground look clean and tidy!

Overall, I found it hard to complain about anything to do with the Hotel Florida - just remember it's small and simple, not the MGM Grand!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maamcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    139
    56
    23
    22
See reviews for
96
198
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

This is a small family run hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was basic but cleaned every day. There is a small balcony. There was a TV in the room but it was very high up on the wall. The hotel keeps a small library of books people have left behind. There is WiFi or for 2 euros per half hour, you can use the internet. There are reasonably priced bar snacks on sale by the pool.
It's about a 20 minute walk to the central square in Sorrento, and a 5 minute walk to Sant Agnello. The walk to Sorrento is along a main road. There is a back route which isn't so busy, but it takes slightly longer.
Things you ought to know about this hotel:
1. All dining tables seat 4. If you are a couple or a single, you are obliged to share a table for all your meals - with the same people for as long as they are at the hotel.
2. You have to choose your evening meal the day before for the following day.
3. The pool is open only between the hours of 9am and 6pm. Apparently, this applies in all hotels in the area.
4. The pool is not large. It is about 15m by 8m.
5. There is a rope strung widthways half way along the length of the pool, so you can't swim lengths.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everton1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

My wife and i spent a week at the Hotel Florida, where the menu was basic and on our fifth night we had ants to keep us company in bed, also being planted with strangers at the same table for the week was not so good being on honeymoon. Another couple also had ants and were told by the owner that they were clean.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weefut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Very clean and friendly with a lovely relaxed family atmosphere. The waiting staff especially went out of their way to make you welcome. The hotel is in easy walking distance of Sorrento. The lemon and orange groves within the hotel garden's made a beautiful retreat from the midday sun. The food was great some day's and not quite so good other days but all in all excellent value for money we would definitely stay there again should we go back to that region of Italy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lzardg_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood Staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

From the minute you arrived felt very welcome by the family and staff. The rooms are basic but most important are spotlessly clean. The maid came every day. Floors mopped, beds made and towels changed every few days but if you wanted them done more frequently - no problem. Situated amongst the lemon trees makes it very serene and tranquil setting. This family run hotel goes out of the way to make your stay enjoyable. The fact that it's a 20 minute walk into Sorrento Town is welcome after you've eaten your evening meal. Snacks at lunchtime are very good value for money $5.00 for a pizza that is plenty between 2. I would say the hotel is beter suited to couples than families because there is nothing for children to do there - only the pool! We will probably visit this hotel again in a few years time if we revisit this area. Don't use the local taxis $20 into the town which is a 5 minute drive.

Regards to mama and the family (also Pepe and Vincenzo the waiters). Thanks for looking after us so well. Deb n Rob from Burntwood, Staffordshire).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsholidaytour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We arrived at hotel florida at about 10:30pm and were told to leave our cases in the reception and go down to the dining room. There was a big plateful of salad for each of us, we were greeted with smiles and thought it was lovely that they had stayed up for us. The room was nice and airy with a big balcony looking onto the pool which was lovely. The hotel is in a great location but it did take about 20 minutes to walk into the city of sorrento. The food was lovely, each night we had three choices of starters and main courses for the following night, lots of choice and vegetarian options. The starter was big enough for a main meal, so you will certainly feel full by the end of both courses and then you can choose from ice cream, cake or other puddings that are at the front table. For breakfast there were a variety of rolls, jams etc. Toast, ham, boiled eggs and cereal were also available. The staff were very polite and helpful and even got to know your orders. The swimming pool was a great plus point however be careful with young children as it is very deep at one end. The rooms were cleaned every day and new bed sheets were put on every morning, Overall this hotel was great and just had a lovely feel to it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobbie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Florida for a week, travelling with Thomas Cook. Its a nice small hotel, clean and inexpensive. We were half board and allthough not all the food was to our taste, it was quite traditional which my wife liked. You ordered your meal for trhe following day each evening with a choice of 3 starters (inc soup or pasta) and 3 main courses. The soups and the pasta were very nice.A glass of wine with your meal was 2 euros a pint of beer 5 euros. The breakfast left a lot to be desired and the coffee from the machine could omly be described as dire. Our room was cleaned and beds made each day. We had a nice room with a view over the hills but some rooms were quite dark with no view to speak of. Its a family run hotel and both the family themselves and the staff were quite helpful. The hotel is set in orange and lemon groves (where they have the Thursday night pizza party which was very nice) so its very picturesque.
Just a ten minute walk takes you into St Agnello with lots of small shops and a pharmacy should you need it. If you want to walk into Sorrento its about a 30 minute walk in the opposite direction. Come out of the hotel turn right and right again at the end of the lane, then at the end of the road turn right for St Agnello or left and down to the seafront where you can sit at La Terrazza have an excellent coffee and enjoy great views over the Bay of Naples.
Bus travel is cheap and the buses are very frequent but they do get packed. You buy your ticket beforehand from the local newsagents which is one of the first shopsyou hit going into St Agnello. They are 2 euros each or 6 euros for a full day ticket. You cant pay on the bus so you must get your tickets first and you must clip them in the machine on the bus as youget onor you could be fined.
We did the trip to Pompei on our own , got return tickets from St Agnello to Pompei for under 4 euros each, then 11 euros each to get into Pompei. You cant go wrong as the train stops outside the entrance then just follow the crowd.
The Thomas Cook rep was very good and we did the Amalfi Coast drive with them as to do it on the local bus was cheap but you dont see that much and you could end up standing all the way. Capri you can do yourselves getting the ferry from Sorrento, just make sure you find out which point your ferry leaves from.
There was entertainment (a duo) on one night at the hotel but it wasnt very good. Its set in a quiet location and after a full days sightseeing most people turned in quite early.
As you walk into St Agnello the shop before the newsagents is Bacchanalia which sells draught wine at about 1.70 euro a litre and very nice it was. Quite a saving over normal prices plus you can try before ytou buy.
As stated in other reviews there is only one electric socket in each room and that is in the bathroom. The curtains are very thin so if you dont want to be woken by the bright light a sleep mask is a good idea.
All in all the hotel makes a good base for sightseeing but a bit more effort in the kitchen would make a difference.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retail99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#19 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
3.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Property: Hotel Florida
Address: vico Primo Rota, 3, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Florida, with familiar conduction from three generation, is a charming resort surrounded by a traditional lemon and orange garden, located in a pleasant and calm residential area of Sorrento.The Hotel Florida is the ideal place to spend a quite holiday, the green citrus groves and the panoramas of the Sorrento Coast, the gastronomic specialities or the fantastic walks and excursion will make your stay in the Earth of the Sirens' land unforgettable.Sorrento historical center is 20 minutes walking distance. Within 300 metres away there is a typical Sorrentine beach "La Marinella" and a splendid terrace overlooking the sea. Here a charming scene is opened thanks to which it is possible to admire the bay of Sorrento, the entire Gulf of Naples and the Vesuvius. The shopping area of Sorrento or S.Agnello it is only ten minutes on foot.The Hotel Florida has its private swimming pool with wide solarium (free sunbeds), snack and cocktail bar, wide garden area. Private parking.Rooms are classically decorated, and offer free Wi-Fi. Each comes with a satellite TV, a work desk and an en suite bathroom. All the rooms have a balcony, with views of the garden or of the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Florida Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing