We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than basic hotel, avoid it at any cost!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Club Sorrento
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Less than basic hotel, avoid it at any cost!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I travelled to Sorrento with a group and initially we were supposed to stay at another hotel which was overbooked, so a few weeks before the trip our agency confirmed that we will be accommodated at Club Hotel Sorrento. I checked the reviews and was not very optimistic about the place; still I did not have another option. I was trying to persuade myself it cannot be that bad, as sometimes reviews can be a bit exaggerated, but unfortunately this was not the case this time…
When we arrived my negative expectations were exceeded. Hotel is absolutely basic - it could not possibly be a 3 start hotel!!! Even not a 2 star one!!! And I have been to different places in Italy, so I do have a base for comparison, because hotels in Italy are a bit strange with the classification in general vs. rest of Europe.
Our room was relatively big and we were lucky to have one on the 1st floor, as the train Circumvesuviana passes just next to hotel and the guests on the higher floors were disturbed much more by the noise. Furniture too shabby - we had two chairs which were covered with various stains and looked disgusting. Stayed for 7 nights, but bed linen did not seem to be changed during this period at all. Towels were changed daily, but some of them were with enormous holes and their cleanliness was dubious. One night it was cold, I had to use one of the blankets, but was completely put off - they had stains all over and smelled awfully. I just had to put on some of my clothes on instead. In the bathroom there was no shower curtain and it got allover wet whenever one took a shower. Walls seemed to be made out of paper as I could hear very well the TV from the next room and also neighbours talking at night through my earplugs!!!
There is no fridge / mini bar in the room.
We had breakfast and dinner included in the price. What can I say about the food – it was awful and portions were funny. However the biggest problem were the plates, glasses and utensils – they were not clean at all; I got several times glasses with remaining lipstick stains, knives with remnants of food, etc. We just stopped having meals at the hotel.
Maybe the only good thing about the hotel is that it is located next to Corso Italia, which is the main street connecting St. Agnello (where hotel is located) and Sorrento. But you have to be aware that the distance from hotel to Piazza Tasso (the central square in Sorrento) is between 20-25 minutes fast walk. For eldery people it would definitely take more time than that. There was a bus stop just when you go into Corso Italia and 3 bus lines which can also take you to Sorrento center. It is not a problem to walk, but on some parts of the road sidewalks are almost non-existent, as streets are very narrow in the whole region.
My verdict – avoid this hotel it at any cost!!! There are much better other 3 star hotels and in my opinion it is really better to pay a bit higher price, but to have at least a normal stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crazytotravel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    156
    96
    41
    74
See reviews for
95
272
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Before reviewing this hotel, it is important to decide what you want from a holiday. Sorrento isn't a beach holiday. The beaches are black volcanic sand, small & very expensive (you can pay £15 each per day - and can pay even more when visiting Capri, Positano or Amalfi).

Sorrento is really a base for sight-seeing, and on that basis, the hotel is fab! The staff were so friendly, couldn't do enough for you. They all knew our name, and all staff welcomed us every time they saw us.

If you're half board, you get your own table for meal times, so regardless of what time you eat, there is always space for you. The food isn't buffet service, it's all freshly cooked. You generally have 2 or 3 options for each course. The starter is as big as the main meal, often a choice of soup or a pasta dish. The main meal is normally served with a side salad, and the dessert was often (but not always) fruit.

The pool was very small, and there are no loungers, only deck chairs, but more than enough for everyone as most people don't spend the day here. But it is welcomely refreshing after a day exploring. The staff will bring anything you want out to the poolside. The pool is overlooked by the railway, but it really isn't an issue. The church bell tower also overlooks the pool, but again, didn't annoy us!

The train station is only a 2 min walk away, and is ideal & cheap for exploring Pompei, Mt Vesuvius, Naples or Herculaneum.

Our room was very clean, a reasonable size, but contained only 1 wardrobe, which isn't a lot as this was a family room. There is no other storage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Service is poor, they tried to be friendly but failed most of the time. The breakfast is ok! You can eat better in Sorrento. The bed linen is not changed everyday. The rooms are average and shower tiny. They overbooked and I did not get the room I paid for.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mimisame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sant'Agnello hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have just returned from a two week break in Italy, staying at the Hotel Club. Had decided to bite the bullet and go with the cheap option despite some reviews and am made up we did. Hotel is clean, friendly and in my opinion very well located.

Sorrento is a 15 minute stroll to the right of the hotel, and train station is ten minutes in the other direction. This meant a perfect base to set off in the mornings to either Sorrento's marina to take a boat to Capri or Ischia, or a walk to the station to catch trains to Pompeii etc. Our stay meant we were out every day visiting something, and the hotel was perfect for this, if you want a pool holiday, there is a pool, but you may be annoyed by the close train track and church bell, however do not let this put you off if you want to explore the local areas as it will not keep you up at night like some suggest!

A few more tips if you do come here, to the left of the hotel is a short walk to Pizze da Asporto, where young owner will make you fresh pizza for 5 euros in front of your eyes, the best we found in our fortnight. Also, a gem of a restaurant in Sorrento is Ristorante O'Murzill, amazing fish, wine and service. Don't be drawn in by the fancy suited waiters at the huge restaurants, we found the smaller intimate ones served the best food.

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: The room is what it is, bed, shower room with basin and toilet, balcony, cupboard and saftey deposit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alfie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just back from a week in Sorrento and staying in the Club Hotel.....

After reading some of the negative comments before I booked this hotel i have to say I was a bit concerned as to what we would find. I booked a surprise holiday for the Mrs ( She thought she was going to Skeggy).

I think some people want 5 star luxury for 3 star prices.. it aint gonna happen!!!

However, We arrived quite late at night to find the staff very welcoming and a 3 course meal prepared for us all.

After a good night sleep ( the church bells are NOT loud) We went for breakfast and waited for the bread that will break our teeth.... That didnt happen either, fresh bread, plenty of (continental) options and lovely latte.

As for the staff, whatever they are getting paid, its not enough!!!!

They made our stay an absolute pleasure, with special thanks to FRANCO, the 70 y/o waiter whom I had many a tug fight with the breakfast tray to take up to the Mrs for her breakfast in bed.

Our room was very clean and tidy everytime we came back from a day out.

The only sting in the tail we had was nothing to do with the hotel but the trip to Capri, where 2 old men promised a bus trip around the Isle of Capri, which most of us decided to take as it was sooooo hot and walking around Capri island is not an option unless your in your 20's and built like Usain Bolt. 20 Euros each sounded a good deal, 80 Euros later after an enforced stop at the 'Blue Grotto' which your only told you have to pay once you have been on a boat. It was nice though but please be aware of this. ( Everyone was of the same opinion) we had been scammed.

Pompeii is trully worth a visit, ( breath taking)
Sorrento is upto the usual classic Italian city

Met some lovely people there (you know who you are)

Our Thompson holiday rep was great and very easy on the eye ( down boy)
Claire, if you read this, thanks again for breaking the mold of holiday reps.

CIAO

Neil & Deb

Room Tip: Facing the pool above ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BonnieANDClyde101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Where to begin....Rude staff ( 3 rude old men) No customer service. I see reviews from 2005 about plumbing issues. In Aug of 2012 they are still the same. Can't get pool towels. Need to use your bath towel and wait for the cleaning lady in the morning. Nasty water.
Appears they reuse the unused breakfast crossaints. After a day here we were ready to come back to the states. 3 days of our vacation we are trying ot forget.
AAA and Travel Bound need to take this place off their list !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE ! This place will ruin your vacation. Run by 3 old grumpy Italian men. Customer service at an all time low. These clowns could not run a car wash. Hot water, Plumbing issues !!! Same issues as others requesting towels for the pool. "Wait till the morning for a clean towel" Really ?
AAA take this place off your list !!!!!!!!!! What a disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Sorrento

Property: Hotel Club Sorrento
Address: Via Cappuccini 14, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Club Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Club Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Sant Agnello
Club Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Club Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing